OCZ GameXStream 700w ATX PSU

Appearance

Appearance

As a bit of a generalisation, products aimed at the gaming community tend to be filled with flashing lights and covered in UV reactive components. I was expecting a similar approach from OCZ considering that (judging by the name) this unit is aimed squarely at gamers.

However, on unpacking the unit I was presented with a power supply very much on the subtle side...

OCZ GameXStream 700w Front OCZ GameXStream 700w Top

The OCZ GameXStream is finished in a matt black paint, a rather disappointing step away from the gunmetal finish found on the older PowerStream and ModStream units. I really was expecting something a bit snazzier considering the GameXStream is touted as being OCZ's new flagship power supply. On the upside though, I guess owners of the GameXStream won't have to be so careful not to cover the unit in fingerprints, a problem which plagued OCZ's other units.

OCZ have chosen to cool the unit with a single 120mm, blue LED fan which is covered by a black painted grill. This is becoming a popular method of cooling, as it is much quieter and often more effective than utilising several 80mm fans.

The back of the unit sports a honeycomb mesh, allowing the hot air moved by the 120mm fan to exit out of your case with minimum restrictions. The GameXStream, like many other modern PSU's is able to auto-detect the input voltage, and therefore does not require a voltage selection switch often seen on older power supplies.

OCZ GameXStream 700w Side OCZ GameXStream 700w Back

The front and sides of the unit are rather uninteresting with small grills placed near areas of the unit most likely to produce heat. The OCZ sticker shows the units peak outputs along with the usual warnings about not opening the PSU cover.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-09-2006, 04:45:33

JN
"OCZ have always been well known for their DDR memory and high-end PowerStream PSU's. Today I'll be taking a look at their latest addition, the GameXStream 700w SLI certified unit."

Linkage

14-09-2006, 05:50:30

PV5150
Great review as always Jim. Agreed, on the very ordinary appearance especially from the likes of OCZ. Again the solid build and very stable voltages are sure to please most people and cause them to forget about the bland look. Well done anyway mate

14-09-2006, 06:02:40

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Great review as always Jim. Agreed, on the very ordinary appearance especially from the likes of OCZ. Again the solid build and very stable voltages are sure to please most people and cause them to forget about the bland look. Well done anyway mate
Cheers fella

14-09-2006, 06:03:39

FarFarAway
Looks like a tip-top PSU Jim

14-09-2006, 08:07:52

Archmage
Great review and even more so cos I've just got the 600W version of this, so I'm hoping it's as good.

14-09-2006, 09:36:41

mrapoc
wow i might get this for my new build (lower wattage version) i like the blue fan

deffo quiet enough, 95% is great

was it the best psu uve played with?

14-09-2006, 09:51:31

FarFarAway
Tagan 1100w or PCP&C 1kw

Me: I'd get a PCP%C - sexy as hell

14-09-2006, 09:57:11

JN
Its definately up there with the top ones. If you are looking for a quiet PSU under load then none of the other units tested so far can touch this one.

14-09-2006, 12:17:36

mrapoc
i like the blue effect coming from its 120mm fan

im guessing the 600w acts the same?

14-09-2006, 12:25:58

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapoc
i like the blue effect coming from its 120mm fan

im guessing the 600w acts the same?
Yep

14-09-2006, 13:38:36

mrapoc
great, im going for one of those babies now

14-09-2006, 13:49:43

twisted5
Nice review. I know there is a 600w version but are there anymore? I am trying to find one 550w or less that will support high end SLI/CF and a few extra things for my lan rig. I may just go with the 600w version of this though.

14-09-2006, 14:43:48

mrapoc
600w or 700w mate

14-09-2006, 15:15:33

mrapoc
seems perfect to me high enough wattage to last, good enough quality to last, 3 years warranty to last and that sweeeeeeet blue light + 120 mm fan

14-09-2006, 18:13:41

kimandsally
Very nice review I just bought one yesterday and noticed there wasn't a review on here so I was going to have a try at showing what mine does after my holiday, but after seeing your superb review I cannot come close to that I'm sure.

I'm very pleased with mine much more stable than the Enermax Liberty 620 that it replaced although I think I had a duff one considering it blew up (literally) I know some people say blew up but this took out the mains of the house and did it again when I reset the RCD I wasn't too impressed but at least it didn't kill any of the PC components.

Anyway the OCZ is super stable not moving more than 0.2v from idle to full load on my Conroe with ATI X1900 set up. And very impressed with how quiet it is, my only moan is the leads are very long but considering that some cases are much bigger these days it caters nicely for them as well.

Keep up the good work I really like your method of reviewing.

14-09-2006, 21:00:20

NickS
My dad has a 600w GameXStream, its freakin awesome. Great review XMS

15-09-2006, 01:15:54

JN
Glad you like it peeps

15-09-2006, 02:28:36

mrapoc
u saved me from getting a boring psu i love it now

need to get it!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.