OCZ GameXStream 700w ATX PSU

Introduction & Packaging

Introduction

Formed in August 2000, OCZ has always been known as a company at the forefront of high performance memory technology for the overclocking and gaming communities.

Several years after their inception, OCZ entered the power supply market with a unit labelled the PowerStream. This unit was a massive success, being one of the most highly sought-after power supplies amongst enthusiasts due to its stable voltages, good looks and adjustable rails. These features coupled with OCZ's excellent warranty and genuine interest in the communities that it was targeting ensured that the PowerStream remained a hit for several years to follow.

However, OCZ have never been a company to stand still, and for this reason the latest addition to the OCZ power supply line-up was launched. Coming in 600w and 700w varieties, the GameXStream has been designed to meet the power requirements of the modern high-end computer system, and today we'll be testing it out to see if it lives up to OCZ's legacy.


Packaging

When you hear the name GameXStream, you just know that this unit isn't going to come in a brown cardboard box. After all, everything aimed at the gaming market tends to come in the most visually attractive packaging possible. The GameXStream is no different...

OCZ GameXStream 700w Front OCZ GameXStream 700w Top

The graphical design of the packaging is certainly aimed to turn heads. Using a dark blue/black background complete with power/lighting effects bolting into an image of the GameXStream unit, this is probably one of the first units people will pick up when browsing for a new power supply in a computer store.

The information on the front and top of the packaging tell pretty much the same story: 700w, 36month warranty, Dual GPU ready, Active PFC and many other features to boot.

OCZ GameXStream 700w Side OCZ GameXStream 700w Back

The trend continues around the side and on the back of the packaging, once again showing a picture of the unit alongside some of its vital statistics.

It's also good to see that OCZ have placed their support e-mail address on the back of the packaging should you have any problems with the unit. Of course, what good is a support e-mail address if nobody responds, so I decided to put it to the test. Within 42 minutes of sending an e-mail complaining about a faulty GameXStream, I received a reply from a real person giving me information on what else is should try before RMA'ing the unit. Impressive.

OCZ GameXStream 700w Open OCZ GameXStream 700w Unit

The GameXStream is packaged in a clear bubble-wrap bag to protect it from knocks and scratches. Hopefully this should be enough to protect the unit from moderately rough handling by couriers during its journey to you.

Included in the box are the following items:
• 4x Black ATX screws.
• 1x Power cord.
• 1x GameXStream colour manual
• 1x Velcro cable tie
• 1x GameXStream PSU

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-09-2006, 04:45:33

JN
"OCZ have always been well known for their DDR memory and high-end PowerStream PSU's. Today I'll be taking a look at their latest addition, the GameXStream 700w SLI certified unit."

Linkage

14-09-2006, 05:50:30

PV5150
Great review as always Jim. Agreed, on the very ordinary appearance especially from the likes of OCZ. Again the solid build and very stable voltages are sure to please most people and cause them to forget about the bland look. Well done anyway mate

14-09-2006, 06:02:40

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Great review as always Jim. Agreed, on the very ordinary appearance especially from the likes of OCZ. Again the solid build and very stable voltages are sure to please most people and cause them to forget about the bland look. Well done anyway mate
Cheers fella

14-09-2006, 06:03:39

FarFarAway
Looks like a tip-top PSU Jim

14-09-2006, 08:07:52

Archmage
Great review and even more so cos I've just got the 600W version of this, so I'm hoping it's as good.

14-09-2006, 09:36:41

mrapoc
wow i might get this for my new build (lower wattage version) i like the blue fan

deffo quiet enough, 95% is great

was it the best psu uve played with?

14-09-2006, 09:51:31

FarFarAway
Tagan 1100w or PCP&C 1kw

Me: I'd get a PCP%C - sexy as hell

14-09-2006, 09:57:11

JN
Its definately up there with the top ones. If you are looking for a quiet PSU under load then none of the other units tested so far can touch this one.

14-09-2006, 12:17:36

mrapoc
i like the blue effect coming from its 120mm fan

im guessing the 600w acts the same?

14-09-2006, 12:25:58

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapoc
i like the blue effect coming from its 120mm fan

im guessing the 600w acts the same?
Yep

14-09-2006, 13:38:36

mrapoc
great, im going for one of those babies now

14-09-2006, 13:49:43

twisted5
Nice review. I know there is a 600w version but are there anymore? I am trying to find one 550w or less that will support high end SLI/CF and a few extra things for my lan rig. I may just go with the 600w version of this though.

14-09-2006, 14:43:48

mrapoc
600w or 700w mate

14-09-2006, 15:15:33

mrapoc
seems perfect to me high enough wattage to last, good enough quality to last, 3 years warranty to last and that sweeeeeeet blue light + 120 mm fan

14-09-2006, 18:13:41

kimandsally
Very nice review I just bought one yesterday and noticed there wasn't a review on here so I was going to have a try at showing what mine does after my holiday, but after seeing your superb review I cannot come close to that I'm sure.

I'm very pleased with mine much more stable than the Enermax Liberty 620 that it replaced although I think I had a duff one considering it blew up (literally) I know some people say blew up but this took out the mains of the house and did it again when I reset the RCD I wasn't too impressed but at least it didn't kill any of the PC components.

Anyway the OCZ is super stable not moving more than 0.2v from idle to full load on my Conroe with ATI X1900 set up. And very impressed with how quiet it is, my only moan is the leads are very long but considering that some cases are much bigger these days it caters nicely for them as well.

Keep up the good work I really like your method of reviewing.

14-09-2006, 21:00:20

NickS
My dad has a 600w GameXStream, its freakin awesome. Great review XMS

15-09-2006, 01:15:54

JN
Glad you like it peeps

15-09-2006, 02:28:36

mrapoc
u saved me from getting a boring psu i love it now

need to get it!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.