OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX PSU

Simulated Load Testing

Simulated Load Testing

To provide our readers with the most accurate results, Overclock3D uses a professional grade SunMoon SM-268+ ATE load tester capable of placing a sustained load of 1690w across a total of six rails (including +5vsb and -12v) on the PSU. Unlike our previous resistor-based load tester, the SM-268+ gives us the ability to adjust amperage loads in increments as small as 0.01A while also measuring voltages and wattage readings on-screen.

During today's tests, we will be placing the Fatal1ty under 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% load levels at both room temperature and inside a hot box regulated to a temperature of around 50°C. Additional cross load tests will also be performed under these conditions to simulate how the PSU would perform with a heavily uneven distribution of load.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w SM-268+ Results @ Room Temp
  +3.3v +5.0v +12v1 +12v2 +5vSB -12v AC Watts /
 DC Watts
 Efficiency Intake /
 Exhaust
 Δ Temp
Test 1
(Low)
 3.75A 3.75A 12.00A - 0.75A 0.20A 228w /
 183w
 80.26% 21.7°C /
 28.4°C
 6.7°C
 3.36v 5.06v 12.10v - 4.97v -12.03v
Test 2
(Med)
 7.50A 7.50A 24.00A - 1.5A 0.40A 428w /
 363w
 84.81% 22.4°C /
 31.6°C
 7.2°C
 3.34v 5.03v 12.02v - 4.93v -12.06v
Test 3
(High)
 11.25A 11.25A 36.00A - 2.25A 0.60A 633w /
 540w
 85.30% 22.5°C /
 33.2°C
 10.7°C
 3.31v 5.00v 11.94v - 4.88v -12.08v
Test 4
(Full)
 15.00A 15.00A 48.00A - 3.00A 0.80A 850w /
 720w
 84.70% 22.4°C /
 37.8°C
 15.4°C
3.27v4.98v11.88v - 4.84v -12.10v
Test 5
(x-load)
20.00A20.00A1.00A -0.75A0.20A 256w /
186w
72.65%22.8°C /
32.9°C
 10.1°C
 3.33v 5.02v12.14v - 4.92v-12.07v
Test 6
(x-load)
 3.00A 5.00A 56.00A - 0.75A 0.20A 841w /
 716w
 85.13% 23.4°C /
 36.4°C
 13.0°C
 3.31v 5.01v 11.90v - 4.92v -12.11v

You'll have to excuse me for jumping right to the end of the results, but as we can see from Test 5, the OCZ Fatal1ty DOES NOT like being heavily cross loaded on the +3.3v and +5v rails. Even though the voltage results remain quite reasonable, the efficiency levels drop to a rather nasty 72.65%. Of course, unless you're running some archaic PC like a 386SX it's highly unlikely you'll ever see results like this in real life.

The rest of the results are above average, but nothing really stands out as "woweee" great. Voltage outputs start quite high in Test 1 and drop by around 2-3% by the time we reach Test 4. With the exception of Test 5, efficiency sits at around 85% and only drops as low as 80% when very little load is exerted. Throughout the testing the unit remained extremely cool and didn't get noticeably noisy at any time.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w SM-268+ Results @ 50°c
  +3.3v +5.0v +12v1 +12v2 +5vSB -12v AC Watts /
 DC Watts
 Efficiency Intake /
 Exhaust
 Δ Temp
Test 1
(Low)
 3.75A 3.75A 12.00A - 0.75A 0.20A 231w /
 183w
 79.22% 51.3°C /
 48.4°C
 -2.9°C
 3.36v 5.06v 12.10v - 4.97v -12.04v
Test 2
(Med)
 7.50A 7.50A 24.00A - 1.5A 0.40A 429w /
 364w
 84.84% 51.4°C /
 49.5°C
 -1.9°C
 3.34v 5.03v 12.02v - 4.92v -12.07v
Test 3
(High)
 11.25A 11.25A 36.00A - 2.25A 0.60A 642w /
 542w
 84.42% 50.9°C /
 52.5°C
 1.6°C
 3.31v 5.00v 11.94v - 4.88v -12.07v
Test 4
(Full)
 15.00A 15.00A 48.00A - 3.00A 0.80A 850w /
 720w
 84.70% 52.0°C /
 58.5°C
 6.5°C
3.27v4.97v11.88v - 4.83v -12.12v
Test 5
(x-load)
20.00A20.00A1.00A -0.75A0.20A 259w /
185w
71.42%51.5°C /
48.5°C
 -3.0°C
 3.33v 5.02v12.14v - 4.92v-12.06v
Test 6
(x-load)
 3.00A 5.00A 56.00A - 0.75A 0.20A 841w /
 716w
 85.13% 51.1°C /
 53.7°C
 2.6°C
 3.31v 5.00v 11.90v - 4.92v -12.11v

Popping the Fatal1ty inside what has been affectionately labeled as the "Pie Oven" by members of the OC3D Forums, we get the chance to see how the unit performs at a baking hot 50°C. Interestingly, very little changes across the board, with the voltage outputs remaining almost identical to the room temperature results and the only visible differences being noticed in the efficiency levels that drop by around 1%. 

Testament to the cool running of the unit as seen in the room temperature tests, the Fatal1ty adds very little additional heat to the intake temperatures....in fact, in most cases the exhaust temps are actually LOWER than intake!

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Scope Results @ 50c
  +3.3v +5.0v +12v1 +12v2
Test 1
(Low)
T1_3.3VT1_5VT1_12V-
Test 2
(Med)
t2_3.3vt2_5vt2_12v - -
Test 3
(High)
t3_3.3vt3_5vt3_12v - -
Test 4
(Full)
t4_3vt4_5vt4_12v - -
Test 5
(x-load)
t5_3.3vt5_5vt5_12v - -
Test 6
(x-load)
t6_3.3vt6_5vt6_12v - -

Finishing up with some shots from the scope during the 50°C tests, I think it's fair to say that the Fatal1ty did pretty well. Ripple and noise on the +12v rails stays at 40mV or less in all tests including crossload ones, and the +3.3v and +5.0v rails manage to stay under 15mV in everything but Test 5 where the +3.3v hits 17mV.

Now let's move on to the conclusion where I attempt to condense the previous 4 pages into a few paragraphs.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-02-2009, 08:18:42

JN
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?"

(man i'm so in trouble for this title)

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...160812888s.jpg

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX PSU

25-02-2009, 08:25:58

Ham
Very nice jim. The new equipment sure has paid off to make a stellar review.

25-02-2009, 08:30:06

Diablo
Nice review, bit of a shame about the PCIe connectors thing tho ...also, the last line of the conclusion (cons) shoudl should be should (try typing that drunk)

EDIT: Also nice to see the hotbox being used and to see those readings remain solid

25-02-2009, 08:30:34

monkey7
Haven't had your sexy time this week yet Jim?

More seriously, I think I wouldn't be buying this psu. Its effiency is rather good, but for example the cooler master silent power series is slightly more efficient (iirc) and also slightly cheaper. And I don't like having someone else's name in my rig >:'(

25-02-2009, 08:31:28

JN
Cheers guys

nice typo spot - fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Haven't had your sexy time this week yet Jim?
Sexy time? I've no idea what that is after almost 8 years in a relationship.

25-02-2009, 10:14:12

Rastalovich
Fantastic review.

I don't think this psu is the only one that skimps on connector types. It's obvious to see that the makers are believing u need 1jiggaW of a psu to attempt any dual card setup.

Or perhaps trying to convince the public.

I see a good selection of psus with similar specs and prices with silly shortfalls.

25-02-2009, 10:17:15

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Fantastic review.

I don't think this psu is the only one that skimps on connector types. It's obvious to see that the makers are believing u need 1jiggaW of a psu to attempt any dual card setup.

Or perhaps trying to convince the public.

I see a good selection of psus with similar specs and prices with silly shortfalls.
Yeah totally agreed. To an extent I can accept it on a ~600w PSU that might have 2-3 +12v rails, messing up any chance of SLI/Crossfire...but for a 700w unit with a single +12v rail, two PCi-E connectors is just taking the p155 a bit.

25-02-2009, 10:40:00

lasher
Nice review Jim.. good to see the new kit at work.

Some of the images of the internals i noticed they have been a bit haphazard with the glue gun. seems like its plastered all over the place.

Also the link to the forums at the end of the article seems to be broken??

Kind regards

Lasher

25-02-2009, 11:26:43

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'

Some of the images of the internals i noticed they have been a bit haphazard with the glue gun. seems like its plastered all over the place.
If you mean the white stuff, I think that belongs to Fatal1ty.....

Seriously tho, it does look a bit haphazardly placed but it is there simply to help space out some of the components and prevent them from touching others nearby. Larger PSU's don't generally have it, but these compact little ones where everything is squeezed together often have lots of white stuff splurged everywhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'

Also the link to the forums at the end of the article seems to be broken??
Cheers - fixed. For some reason it unlinked itself (maybe my old mental age)

25-02-2009, 11:37:56

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'

Sexy time? I've no idea what that is after almost 8 years in a relationship.
*wonders where the kids came from*..

Nice review matey, I really don't like the way companies use the fatality branding on stuff to make it appeal, but the PSU seems pretty good so I can forgive.

25-02-2009, 11:47:37

DavidT
Awesome review Seems that SunMoon was well worth it.

I can't help but feel that this Fatal1ty stuff is being strung out way too long now though. The red LED's are sexy and all, but what could he honestly have helped with during the development of this PSU, besides pointing out where his logo should go? It's all marketing fluff tbh. It is decently priced though.

Another small typo btw:

Obviously there's a certain irony here in that the only part of a PC system with the potentially cause serious injury or death

Should be either "with the potential to" or "which can potentially".

25-02-2009, 14:18:27

HypoglossalXII
Why does it carry the SLI-Certified tag when it doesn't have sufficient cables?

-HypoG

25-02-2009, 14:27:27

nepas
It has 2 X 6+2-pin (8-pin) PCI-E cables so it is SLI capable,but not with high end cards

25-02-2009, 18:20:49

Bungral
You mean like you Jimbo?? Blowing yourself up the other night

Do my eyes deceive me...Is that three adjustable pots sitting around looking sexy on that daughterboard there? Yes, yes it is. I'm not 100% sure if these are for fine tuning rail voltages, or just for making adjustment to the fan speed - as the board does actually double-up as the fan controller, but if you're into poking around inside PSU's with a screwdriver only milimetres away from the mains EMI filter, why not let me know!

26-02-2009, 05:16:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
You mean like you Jimbo?? Blowing yourself up the other night
*AHEM* Shhhhhhh....

Being a PSU reviewer I always take the necessary precautions to ensure my safety

26-02-2009, 14:35:24

Bungral
Oh yeah of course!

I'm just waiting for the review that says "I don't know what happened.. I was testing away and suddenly it just blew up for no apparent reason, must be a manufacturing problem" with a picture of you with a full sooty face and charred clothes poking a fork in the plug socket to try and lever the plug out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
*AHEM* Shhhhhhh....

Being a PSU reviewer I always take the necessary precautions to ensure my safety
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.