OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX PSU

Cables & Looking Inside

Cables & Looking Inside

Starting with the cables, the most obvious feature of the Fatal1ty is the red sleeving designed to fit in with the overall theme of the unit. While OCZ's efforts are certainly appreciated, it would have been better if they'd chosen some sleeving that doesn't share the level of transparency of fishnet stockings, allowing all the gory bits beneath to be fully on show.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Cables OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Cable Mesh

Much like stockings, the sleeving also falls short of going the entire length of the cables, instead stopping once it reaches the first connector. Although this has probably been done to give a better bend radius for when you're trying to stretch out the cables between your hard disks and DVD drive, it doesn't do much for aesthetics.
 
OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Cable Bundle OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Plugs

Both the ATX 24-Pin and EPS 8-Pin connectors are capable of downgrading themselves to older 20-Pin and 4-Pin standards by means of a removable 4-Pin connector; likewise, the PCI-E connectors can also be changed between 6-Pin and 8-Pin standards to suit the graphics card.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX OCZ Fatal1ty 700w PCI-E

The insides of the Fatal1ty are fairly cramped, with most components sitting underneath the two black aluminium heatsinks that span the length of the unit. The layout is quite different to most of the other OCZ PSU's we've seen in the past such as the GameXStream and ModXStream and therefore it's quite possible that OCZ has picked a new OEM this time around.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Internals OCZ Fatal1ty 700w PSU Inside
 
Do my eyes deceive me...Is that three adjustable pots sitting around looking sexy on that daughterboard there? Yes, yes it is. I'm not 100% sure if these are for fine tuning rail voltages, or just for making adjustment to the fan speed - as the board does actually double-up as the fan controller, but if you're into poking around inside PSU's with a screwdriver only milimetres away from the mains EMI filter, why not let me know!

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w PSU Inside OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Pots

Rather than putting all their eggs in one basket and going for a single huge capacitor, OCZ have spread the workload over three smaller caps from the Nippon-Chemicon KMR range. These caps are rated at 105c / 430v / 180uF, which to an extent indicates that they are pretty high quality.

A single large transformer deals with all the main rails with the exception of the 5VSB rail that needs its own smaller transformer for providing stand-by voltages. Interestingly, it does look like the PCB is kitted out ready for a higher output model - as sitting next to the main transformer is the solder points for another transformer of a similar size. 1kw Fatal1ty anyone?
 
OCZ Fatal1ty Capacitors OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Transformers

Ello, ello, ello what do we have here? It would appear that the PCB is marked up as an OCZ Technology EliteXstream. Looking back to our review of that very unit last year we can indeed see that, with the exception of a missing transformer and a change in the capacitors, we are indeed looking at a lower wattage version of the EliteXStream blinged out with some red lighting. Could it be that Mr. Wendel only picked the colour of the lights he wanted inside this PSU?

OCZ Fatal1ty..i mean EliteXStream! OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Heatsink
 
Last but not least (as the PSU would probably go POP without it) we arrive at the 120mm fan. This particular model is manufactured by Power Logic and carries a model number of PLA12025S12H-4. A quick search on Google and Power Logic's website didn't turn up any specs for this model, but a very similar model (PLA12025B12H-4) is rated at 32dbA / 107CFM.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w PSU Fan OCZ Fatal1ty 700w PSU Fan
 
Now let's put this thing back together and move on to the testing where I'm hoping I wont end up as the next fatality ;)
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-02-2009, 08:18:42

JN
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?"

(man i'm so in trouble for this title)

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...160812888s.jpg

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX PSU

25-02-2009, 08:25:58

Ham
Very nice jim. The new equipment sure has paid off to make a stellar review.

25-02-2009, 08:30:06

Diablo
Nice review, bit of a shame about the PCIe connectors thing tho ...also, the last line of the conclusion (cons) shoudl should be should (try typing that drunk)

EDIT: Also nice to see the hotbox being used and to see those readings remain solid

25-02-2009, 08:30:34

monkey7
Haven't had your sexy time this week yet Jim?

More seriously, I think I wouldn't be buying this psu. Its effiency is rather good, but for example the cooler master silent power series is slightly more efficient (iirc) and also slightly cheaper. And I don't like having someone else's name in my rig >:'(

25-02-2009, 08:31:28

JN
Cheers guys

nice typo spot - fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Haven't had your sexy time this week yet Jim?
Sexy time? I've no idea what that is after almost 8 years in a relationship.

25-02-2009, 10:14:12

Rastalovich
Fantastic review.

I don't think this psu is the only one that skimps on connector types. It's obvious to see that the makers are believing u need 1jiggaW of a psu to attempt any dual card setup.

Or perhaps trying to convince the public.

I see a good selection of psus with similar specs and prices with silly shortfalls.

25-02-2009, 10:17:15

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Fantastic review.

I don't think this psu is the only one that skimps on connector types. It's obvious to see that the makers are believing u need 1jiggaW of a psu to attempt any dual card setup.

Or perhaps trying to convince the public.

I see a good selection of psus with similar specs and prices with silly shortfalls.
Yeah totally agreed. To an extent I can accept it on a ~600w PSU that might have 2-3 +12v rails, messing up any chance of SLI/Crossfire...but for a 700w unit with a single +12v rail, two PCi-E connectors is just taking the p155 a bit.

25-02-2009, 10:40:00

lasher
Nice review Jim.. good to see the new kit at work.

Some of the images of the internals i noticed they have been a bit haphazard with the glue gun. seems like its plastered all over the place.

Also the link to the forums at the end of the article seems to be broken??

Kind regards

Lasher

25-02-2009, 11:26:43

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'

Some of the images of the internals i noticed they have been a bit haphazard with the glue gun. seems like its plastered all over the place.
If you mean the white stuff, I think that belongs to Fatal1ty.....

Seriously tho, it does look a bit haphazardly placed but it is there simply to help space out some of the components and prevent them from touching others nearby. Larger PSU's don't generally have it, but these compact little ones where everything is squeezed together often have lots of white stuff splurged everywhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'

Also the link to the forums at the end of the article seems to be broken??
Cheers - fixed. For some reason it unlinked itself (maybe my old mental age)

25-02-2009, 11:37:56

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'

Sexy time? I've no idea what that is after almost 8 years in a relationship.
*wonders where the kids came from*..

Nice review matey, I really don't like the way companies use the fatality branding on stuff to make it appeal, but the PSU seems pretty good so I can forgive.

25-02-2009, 11:47:37

DavidT
Awesome review Seems that SunMoon was well worth it.

I can't help but feel that this Fatal1ty stuff is being strung out way too long now though. The red LED's are sexy and all, but what could he honestly have helped with during the development of this PSU, besides pointing out where his logo should go? It's all marketing fluff tbh. It is decently priced though.

Another small typo btw:

Obviously there's a certain irony here in that the only part of a PC system with the potentially cause serious injury or death

Should be either "with the potential to" or "which can potentially".

25-02-2009, 14:18:27

HypoglossalXII
Why does it carry the SLI-Certified tag when it doesn't have sufficient cables?

-HypoG

25-02-2009, 14:27:27

nepas
It has 2 X 6+2-pin (8-pin) PCI-E cables so it is SLI capable,but not with high end cards

25-02-2009, 18:20:49

Bungral
You mean like you Jimbo?? Blowing yourself up the other night

Do my eyes deceive me...Is that three adjustable pots sitting around looking sexy on that daughterboard there? Yes, yes it is. I'm not 100% sure if these are for fine tuning rail voltages, or just for making adjustment to the fan speed - as the board does actually double-up as the fan controller, but if you're into poking around inside PSU's with a screwdriver only milimetres away from the mains EMI filter, why not let me know!

26-02-2009, 05:16:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
You mean like you Jimbo?? Blowing yourself up the other night
*AHEM* Shhhhhhh....

Being a PSU reviewer I always take the necessary precautions to ensure my safety

26-02-2009, 14:35:24

Bungral
Oh yeah of course!

I'm just waiting for the review that says "I don't know what happened.. I was testing away and suddenly it just blew up for no apparent reason, must be a manufacturing problem" with a picture of you with a full sooty face and charred clothes poking a fork in the plug socket to try and lever the plug out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
*AHEM* Shhhhhhh....

Being a PSU reviewer I always take the necessary precautions to ensure my safety
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.