OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX PSU

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance

As we've come to expect from OCZ products, the Fatal1ty 700w is presented in a cardboard box printed edge-to-edge with information. The front of the box outlines some of the general specifications such as Active PFC, Ultra Efficiency and Superior Cooling, while the back and sides break down the specifications into much greater detail. Several images of the PSU in action are also printed on all sides of the box.

OCZ Fatal1ty Box Front OCZ Fatal1ty Box Side

OCZ Fatal1ty Box Back OCZ Fatal1ty Box Side

Opening up the box, we are presented with the Fatal1ty unit sandwiched between two cardboard-backed styrofoam inserts that keep the PSU centred in the box while also protecting it on the top and bottom (but not sides) from courier damage. The unit has also been placed inside a plastic bag to help avoid any scuffs or scratches.

Included in the box are only the bare essentials to get you up and running: case screws, mains lead, manual and a couple of cable ties. The manual itself is quite basic and doesn't get much more technical than how to install the PSU, but it does seem to cover a wide range of languages.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Box Open OCZ Fatal1ty Box Contents

Although not quite as spectacular as the gunmetal finish found on some of OCZ's other PSU's, the Fatal1ty just about manages to separate itself from the slew of plain black box PSU's on the market with a slightly metallic black/grey finish. Granted, you'll probably not notice the difference once the Fatal1ty is installed inside your PC case, but it gives me something to write a couple of paragraphs about never less.

At the rear of the unit is the familiar mesh grill seen on almost all modern PSU's that use 120mm+ fans for cooling, along with the usual kettle lead-style mains connector, a small power switch and an LED status light that glows red when the PSU is off (or there is a problem) and green when it is on...just in case you had no other way of telling.

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Top OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Front

The underside of the Fatal1ty houses the aforementioned 120mm fan, which as we've already seen from the product images on the packaging, glows red. At the side of the unit, OCZ have attempted to spruce things up a bit by laser cutting the Fatal1ty logo into the casing and securing an LED-lit sheet of red plexiglas behind. I have to admit this does look rather tasty in a darkened room.

OCZ Fatal1ty PSU Bottom OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Side

OCZ Fatal1ty Logo OCZ Fatal1ty 700w Logo
 
Before you even say anything...No I didn't test the PSU with the fan facing downwards onto the table like this. I just knew someone would moan if the logo was upside down. 

Now let's check out the internals...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-02-2009, 08:18:42

JN
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?"

(man i'm so in trouble for this title)

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...160812888s.jpg

OCZ Fatal1ty 700w ATX PSU

25-02-2009, 08:25:58

Ham
Very nice jim. The new equipment sure has paid off to make a stellar review.

25-02-2009, 08:30:06

Diablo
Nice review, bit of a shame about the PCIe connectors thing tho ...also, the last line of the conclusion (cons) shoudl should be should (try typing that drunk)

EDIT: Also nice to see the hotbox being used and to see those readings remain solid

25-02-2009, 08:30:34

monkey7
Haven't had your sexy time this week yet Jim?

More seriously, I think I wouldn't be buying this psu. Its effiency is rather good, but for example the cooler master silent power series is slightly more efficient (iirc) and also slightly cheaper. And I don't like having someone else's name in my rig >:'(

25-02-2009, 08:31:28

JN
Cheers guys

nice typo spot - fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Haven't had your sexy time this week yet Jim?
Sexy time? I've no idea what that is after almost 8 years in a relationship.

25-02-2009, 10:14:12

Rastalovich
Fantastic review.

I don't think this psu is the only one that skimps on connector types. It's obvious to see that the makers are believing u need 1jiggaW of a psu to attempt any dual card setup.

Or perhaps trying to convince the public.

I see a good selection of psus with similar specs and prices with silly shortfalls.

25-02-2009, 10:17:15

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Fantastic review.

I don't think this psu is the only one that skimps on connector types. It's obvious to see that the makers are believing u need 1jiggaW of a psu to attempt any dual card setup.

Or perhaps trying to convince the public.

I see a good selection of psus with similar specs and prices with silly shortfalls.
Yeah totally agreed. To an extent I can accept it on a ~600w PSU that might have 2-3 +12v rails, messing up any chance of SLI/Crossfire...but for a 700w unit with a single +12v rail, two PCi-E connectors is just taking the p155 a bit.

25-02-2009, 10:40:00

lasher
Nice review Jim.. good to see the new kit at work.

Some of the images of the internals i noticed they have been a bit haphazard with the glue gun. seems like its plastered all over the place.

Also the link to the forums at the end of the article seems to be broken??

Kind regards

Lasher

25-02-2009, 11:26:43

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'

Some of the images of the internals i noticed they have been a bit haphazard with the glue gun. seems like its plastered all over the place.
If you mean the white stuff, I think that belongs to Fatal1ty.....

Seriously tho, it does look a bit haphazardly placed but it is there simply to help space out some of the components and prevent them from touching others nearby. Larger PSU's don't generally have it, but these compact little ones where everything is squeezed together often have lots of white stuff splurged everywhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'

Also the link to the forums at the end of the article seems to be broken??
Cheers - fixed. For some reason it unlinked itself (maybe my old mental age)

25-02-2009, 11:37:56

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'

Sexy time? I've no idea what that is after almost 8 years in a relationship.
*wonders where the kids came from*..

Nice review matey, I really don't like the way companies use the fatality branding on stuff to make it appeal, but the PSU seems pretty good so I can forgive.

25-02-2009, 11:47:37

DavidT
Awesome review Seems that SunMoon was well worth it.

I can't help but feel that this Fatal1ty stuff is being strung out way too long now though. The red LED's are sexy and all, but what could he honestly have helped with during the development of this PSU, besides pointing out where his logo should go? It's all marketing fluff tbh. It is decently priced though.

Another small typo btw:

Obviously there's a certain irony here in that the only part of a PC system with the potentially cause serious injury or death

Should be either "with the potential to" or "which can potentially".

25-02-2009, 14:18:27

HypoglossalXII
Why does it carry the SLI-Certified tag when it doesn't have sufficient cables?

-HypoG

25-02-2009, 14:27:27

nepas
It has 2 X 6+2-pin (8-pin) PCI-E cables so it is SLI capable,but not with high end cards

25-02-2009, 18:20:49

Bungral
You mean like you Jimbo?? Blowing yourself up the other night

Do my eyes deceive me...Is that three adjustable pots sitting around looking sexy on that daughterboard there? Yes, yes it is. I'm not 100% sure if these are for fine tuning rail voltages, or just for making adjustment to the fan speed - as the board does actually double-up as the fan controller, but if you're into poking around inside PSU's with a screwdriver only milimetres away from the mains EMI filter, why not let me know!

26-02-2009, 05:16:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
You mean like you Jimbo?? Blowing yourself up the other night
*AHEM* Shhhhhhh....

Being a PSU reviewer I always take the necessary precautions to ensure my safety

26-02-2009, 14:35:24

Bungral
Oh yeah of course!

I'm just waiting for the review that says "I don't know what happened.. I was testing away and suddenly it just blew up for no apparent reason, must be a manufacturing problem" with a picture of you with a full sooty face and charred clothes poking a fork in the plug socket to try and lever the plug out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
*AHEM* Shhhhhhh....

Being a PSU reviewer I always take the necessary precautions to ensure my safety
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.