NZXT HALE90 850w Review

Simulated Load Results (Tables)

NZXT HALE 850w

Simulated Load Results (Tables)

If you've seen the simplified graphs over on the previous page you will undoubtedly already have a good idea of how the NZXT 850w performs. However, certain results from the test can be too difficult to incorporate into the existing graphs, and for this reason all of the result data is also provided in the table format below. 

All testing is conducting using OC3D's trusty SunMoon SM-268+ DC load tester. This equipment is capable of placing a user specified load on all of the PSU's rails (+3.3v, +5v, +12v, -12v, +5vSB) up to a maximum load of 1680w.  As the maximum load for this device on the +12v rail is restricted to 75A we can also call on additional help from our Analogic Series 2000 DC load tester, so that anything up to an additional 166A can be added if necessary. All testing is conducted at 50°C (±5%) with the results being recorded using a Fluke Multimeter and Thermostat.

UPDATE 03/10/10: Further to a post by a member of our forum we have become aware of a mis-calculation in our load levels for this PSU. As a result, the table below has been adjusted since the initial launch of this review on the 01/10/10. All results are now CORRECT.

NZXT HALE 850w @ 50°C
   +3.3v  +5.0v  +12v  +5vSB  -12v  AC Watts /
 DC Watts
 Efficiency  Intake /
 Exhaust
Δ Temp
Test1
(25%)
3.50A 3.50A 14.75A 0.75A  0.12A 244w /
223w
91.39% 50.4°C /
51.3°C
0.9°C
3.35v 5.13v 12.22v 5.10v  -11.85v
Test2
(50%)
7.00A 7.00A 29.50A 1.50A  0.25A

459w /
428w

93.24%  51.5°C /
55.5°C
4.0°C
3.33v 5.10v 12.18v 5.07v  -11.80v
Test3
(75%)
10.50A 10.50A 44.25A 2.25A  0.37A 685w /
640w
 93.43% 50.0C /
58.6°C
8.6°C
3.30v 5.06v 12.14v 5.04v -11.73v
Test4
(100%)
14.00A 14.00A 59.00A 3.00A 0.50A 931w /
849w
91.19%  51.5°C /
61.5°C
10.0°C
3.26v 5.02v 12.08v 5.00v -11.65v
TestX1
(x-load)
14.00A 14.00A 1.00A 0.00A 0.00A 153w /
129w
84.31% 50.2°C /
50.2°C
0.0°C
3.31v 5.07v 12.24v 5.11v -11.93v
TestX2
(x-load)
 1.00A  1.00A  70.00A  0.00A  0.00A 913w /
852w
93.31% 51.6°C /
58.2°C
6.6°C
3.32v 5.11v 12.06v 5.07v -11.98v
TMax1
(Max)
 25.00A 25.00A 72.00A 3.00A 0.50A 1231w /
1088w
88.38% 51.3°C /
72.1°C
 20.8°C
3.21v 4.93v 12.00v 4.95v -12.32v


OK. Before we even talk about anything else, I think you should take a look at the DC Watts being pulled in test TMax1. Yes, you did read that right. That's a whopping 1088W pulled from a PSU rated at only 850w! I have to admit that my face was more crinkled than a packet of McCoy's crisps at that stage, but thankfully the NZXT knew its limits and shut down elegantly as I attempted to push it any further.

The rest of the results are pretty much as they should be. No crazy voltages during the crossload tests, no fire breathing dragons during the Max Load test and fairly average results everywhere else. So let's move on and see what the ripple results from the scope have in store...

NZXT Hale 850w Scope Results @ 50c
   +3.3v  +5.0v  +12v
Test1
(25%)
NZXT HALE90 850w Review13 NZXT HALE90 850w Review15 NZXT HALE90 850w Review112
Test2
(50%)
NZXT HALE90 850w Review23 NZXT HALE90 850w Review25 NZXT HALE90 850w Review212
Test3
(75%)
NZXT HALE90 850w Review33 NZXT HALE90 850w Review35 NZXT HALE90 850w Review312
Test4
(100%)
NZXT HALE90 850w Review43 NZXT HALE90 850w Review45 NZXT HALE90 850w Review412
TestX1
(x-load)
NZXT HALE90 850w Review53 NZXT HALE90 850w Review55 NZXT HALE90 850w Review512
TestX2
(x-load)
NZXT HALE 850w NZXT HALE 850w NZXT HALE 850w
TMax1
(MAX)
NZXT HALE 850w NZXT HALE 850w NZXT HALE 850w


Ripple refers to the small fluctuations in voltage that occur in all PSU's on a millisecond scale. Large quantities of ripple on a PSU can damage or kill components in your PC over time and therefore testing a PSU's performance in this area is just as important as any other part. ATX specification states that ripple should be no higher than 50mV on the +3.3v/+5v rails and 120mV on the +12v rails, so what we're looking for in the screenshots above is for all rails to stay well within these limits during Test 1-4 at the very least.

Does the NZXT Hale manage it? JUST. While the +12v rail hits an extremely impressive maximum result of 38mVpp at 100% load in test 4, the +3.3v and +5v rails lead a lot to be desired, barely managing to stay within ATX specifications. For a PSU trying to make its mark on the enthusiast sector there's definitely still work here to be done.

Whoops, this is where I hold my hands up and admit my mistake. In the results published on the 01/10, the ripple for the +3.3v and +5v rails was just within ATX specifications. However, thanks to a member of our forums pointing out a mistake in the load levels, the PSU was re-tested and now the ripple results for these two rails is MUCH better. 28mVpp on the +3.3v rail, 24mVpp on the +5v rail and 38mVpp on the +12v rail at full load - simply awesome!

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-10-2010, 06:19:12

tinytomlogan
White cases seem to be popping up everywhere, NZXT now have a white PSU to match! Come inside to see if its all looks and no brains.

Continue Reading

UPDATE 03/10/10: Further to a post by a member of our forum we have become aware of a mis-calculation in our load levels for this PSU. As a result, please disregard any negative comments about the ripple results of this PSU in this thread.

01-10-2010, 07:30:09

Mr. Strawberry
i could do with this PSU

01-10-2010, 08:46:48

Alicarve
I want one to match my case

01-10-2010, 09:09:42

SnW
I guess paint isn't a option ?

seriously if i want my PSU white, i'll paint it ..

And replacing the fan is just as easy as opening a trash can!

just be carefull when opening a PSU just don't do it after a few days of F@H (gaming) and then boom open

01-10-2010, 13:01:43

SiN
It's a good PSU besides the ripple, which is a disappointment, for the price they should have buckled it down some more.

01-10-2010, 13:06:23

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

I guess paint isn't a option ?

seriously if i want my PSU white, i'll paint it ..

And replacing the fan is just as easy as opening a trash can!

just be carefull when opening a PSU just don't do it after a few days of F@H (gaming) and then boom open
It's a sexy powdercoat, not just a paint job...nice touch IMO.

01-10-2010, 13:35:36

AMDFTW
what no OC3D certification?

01-10-2010, 13:37:37

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

It's a sexy powdercoat, not just a paint job...nice touch IMO.
Then I would powdercoat it.. just as simple as a paint job, K in my case that is

01-10-2010, 14:50:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

what no OC3D certification?
No mate the 3.3v rail did not pass our standards. You only get our stamp if the psu is above and beyond epic!

01-10-2010, 15:14:42

F-alienware
Hmmm.. Seems amazingly over priced to me...

01-10-2010, 15:17:39

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

No mate the 3.3v rail did not pass our standards. You only get our stamp if the psu is above and beyond epic!
ahh fair enough then mate

01-10-2010, 15:22:18

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Hmmm.. Seems amazingly over priced to me...
isnt in america though

seen the 1000w version go for $209 (131ish) :/

at new egg

01-10-2010, 15:26:56

F-alienware
That's still totally ridiculous.

TBH and I hate to say it but inside it looks pretty cheap. Outside it looks nice but man, reading the review I find it worrying that a 150+ PSU can just about keep within the ATX spec.

I had no respect for NZXT whatsoever until they released the Phantom. I don't know what it's built like but it's very nice looking. Unlike the fan controller of theirs I bought in 2007 that -

A. Was really cheap and tacky.

B. Was too big to fit in the 5.25 bay it was designed for and literally had to be rammed in.

C. The screen on which was absolutely parp and it wasn't cheap to buy.

I hoped that lately they had come good, but after reading this review I have my doubts. It's very easy now to get an average PSU around the same wattage for 100, and this is decidedly average. It must cost less than 50 to get a powdercoat done on a PSU (I mean FFS it's tiny) therefore I can't see any real reason at all to pay 150 for this thing.

A black one would look nicer in your case any way, and take that from some one who has studied colour coding and has a lot of experience with black and white

01-10-2010, 17:08:33

Todd
So when's the full review of the Phantom coming along? I hope it isn't a disappointment as well because I really had my hopes up for NZXT.

01-10-2010, 17:16:17

Mr. Strawberry
i have a phantom and i love it if that helps

check my project log "crysis extreme" for some pics

01-10-2010, 19:01:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

So when's the full review of the Phantom coming along? I hope it isn't a disappointment as well because I really had my hopes up for NZXT.
its here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnLnzIxk104

01-10-2010, 19:18:45

Alicarve
I have the phantom too and it is a good case I would advise it

01-10-2010, 20:59:44

AMDFTW
random question

when is the review of the 1095t coming out

02-10-2010, 05:31:54

F-alienware
Man, it never occurred to me before just how much that thing looks like a Storm Trooper helmet

I like it even more now

02-10-2010, 07:04:35

Todd
Sorry, Tom, I watched that video already. I was talking about the full- full review and conclusion as a month has passed. You still love it?

02-10-2010, 07:21:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

Sorry, Tom, I watched that video already. I was talking about the full- full review and conclusion as a month has passed. You still love it?
That was the full review. The conclusion was in the latest subscriber video you obviously havnt watched

02-10-2010, 10:55:28

silenthill
What a load of rubbish, if you give it to me for free I wouldnt put it in my pc

02-10-2010, 11:25:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

What a load of rubbish, if you give it to me for free I wouldnt put it in my pc
Its actually pretty good fella, Im currently using an 850w in my rig

02-10-2010, 12:50:32

Mr. Strawberry
if my one starts struggling this is a must

02-10-2010, 14:12:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Its actually pretty good fella, Im currently using an 850w in my rig
I only do Corsair Guvnor when it comes PSU so everything ells is like pound land

02-10-2010, 14:51:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

I only do Corsair Guvnor when it comes PSU so everything ells is like pound land
Yep I used to be exactly the same fella...........

03-10-2010, 06:55:46

jonnyGURU
You know you overloaded the +3.3V and +5V rails by test 3, right? No reason to complain that the ripple is too high when you tested those rails a good 80W more than what the label says it should do.

That said, I'm surprised the PSU didn't blow up with almost 200W load on the +3.3V & +5V combined.

03-10-2010, 13:25:20

AMDFTW
its a stress test,and its under specific loads to test the reliability,spikes and things can be simulated.

i assume this anyway

03-10-2010, 15:42:07

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post

You know you overloaded the +3.3V and +5V rails by test 3, right? No reason to complain that the ripple is too high when you tested those rails a good 80W more than what the label says it should do.

That said, I'm surprised the PSU didn't blow up with almost 200W load on the +3.3V & +5V combined.
Jonny you're absolutely correct! I don't know how I overlooked that as I've never made such a cockup before

I've just this second finished re-resting the PSU and have published the amended set of results. As everyone will be able to see, these are MUCH more favourable for the unit in every respect. Efficiency is increased, voltages are slightly more stable and most importantly the ripple is much lower.

Please everyone take a chance to re-read the review as I wouldn't like NZXT to suffer for my mistake.

03-10-2010, 15:51:58

Mr. Strawberry
this is most certinly going to be first choice of PSU if my current one ever starts to struggle

05-10-2010, 06:02:25

AMDFTW
in the explination of the correct ripple change in the conclusion page it says re-rested and not re-tested
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.