NZXT HALE90 850w Review

Looking Inside & Cables

NZXT HALE 850w

Insides & Cables

No good PSU review is complete without the reviewer risking his life by pulling apart the unit and then attempting to put it back together again. Well, OK that's a bit of an over exaggeration, but in order to make the task of testing PSU's more exciting, thinking of them like ticking time bombs certainly helps keep the blood pumping. DON'T TOUCH THE YELLOW AND BLACK WIRES...NOOOOO *BOOM*.

NZXT HALE 850w Inside  NZXT HALE 850w Fannage

Ahem, anyway...Lifting off the lid gives us a birds-eye view of the internals where we can see that NZXT has paid special attention to the layout of the unit. All components are spaciously positioned, all cables are tightly bunched and there's no big blobs of glue or excessively sized heatsinks to hinder airflow.

Speaking of which, the 140mm white fan used inside the Hale has been craftily re-labeled with an NZXT sticker preventing me from digging up any specifications for the fan online. All I can tell you is that it runs on 12v and consumes 0.4A - great!

NZXT HALE 850w Primary Caps  NZXT HALE 850w Secondary Caps

The capacitors on both the primary and secondary side of the Hale are, as promised, Japanese. More specifically they are manufactured by very highly regarded Nippon Chemicon and are rated at 105ºC. Wipe up the slobber PSU geeks.

NZXT HALE 850w Transformer  NZXT HALE 850w DC

The main transformer sits slap bang in the middle of the unit and is solely responsible for stepping down the mains power to a more manageable 12v. From there the NZXT Hale employs DC-DC converters that step down the voltage into +3.3v and +5v for the other rails. However, while most manufacturers tend to have two separate VRM 'daughterboards' for dealing with these voltage step-downs, NZXT have managed to integrate both of VRM's on to one daughterboard (above-right).

NZXT HALE 850w Input  NZXT HALE 850w Model No

Mains input filtering is handled by a small PCB attached to the back of the inlet. Closer inspection reveals that it contains one X and two Y capacitors along with a ferrite coil. More than enough to prevent interference from the unit escaping back out to your mains circuit and visa versa. Additionally while poking around this area I also noticed a model number LLC-M-090612 printed on the PCB. A quick Google shows that this number is also present on the Super Flower Golden Green Pro PSU. Whoops did I just Let the cat out of the bag?

NZXT HALE 850w Modular  NZXT HALE 850w Modular Inside

The modular connector system is quite unique in that every single connector is the same 8-Pin 'PCI-E Style' design. This essentially means that you can plug any cable into any connector without having to match colours or pin counts. Whether or not this is a good idea or not I'm not sure, as this does potentially mean you could have a massive amount of current being drawn from several high power components all plugged in over one side of the modular backplane, and nothing over the other.

NZXT HALE 850w Cables  NZXT HALE 850w Cables

NZXT HALE 850w Cables  NZXT HALE 850w Cables

NZXT 850w Connectors
 ATX ConnectorWired
1x 20+4 Pin
 EPS-12v / P4-12v Connector(s)Wired
1x 4+4 Pin / 1x 8-Pin
 Molex ConnectorsModular9x
 Floppy Disk ConnectorsModular2x
 SATA ConnectorsWired / Modular2x / 8x
 PCI-E ConnectorsModular3x 6+2 Pin / 3x 6-Pin


After Corsair nicked the idea of flat ribbon-style modular cables from Ultra (who probably stole the idea from someone else), every other manufacturer has since jumped on the bandwagon and started doing the same thing. Therefore it's no surprise that the NZXT also has these style modular cables too. But don't get me wrong - this is a good thing, as they are without doubt the easiest cables to 'stealth' inside a PC case and even look good on full show.

Anyway, let's waste no more time in getting this PSU on the bench for some serious testing..

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-10-2010, 06:19:12

tinytomlogan
White cases seem to be popping up everywhere, NZXT now have a white PSU to match! Come inside to see if its all looks and no brains.

Continue Reading

UPDATE 03/10/10: Further to a post by a member of our forum we have become aware of a mis-calculation in our load levels for this PSU. As a result, please disregard any negative comments about the ripple results of this PSU in this thread.

01-10-2010, 07:30:09

Mr. Strawberry
i could do with this PSU

01-10-2010, 08:46:48

Alicarve
I want one to match my case

01-10-2010, 09:09:42

SnW
I guess paint isn't a option ?

seriously if i want my PSU white, i'll paint it ..

And replacing the fan is just as easy as opening a trash can!

just be carefull when opening a PSU just don't do it after a few days of F@H (gaming) and then boom open

01-10-2010, 13:01:43

SiN
It's a good PSU besides the ripple, which is a disappointment, for the price they should have buckled it down some more.

01-10-2010, 13:06:23

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

I guess paint isn't a option ?

seriously if i want my PSU white, i'll paint it ..

And replacing the fan is just as easy as opening a trash can!

just be carefull when opening a PSU just don't do it after a few days of F@H (gaming) and then boom open
It's a sexy powdercoat, not just a paint job...nice touch IMO.

01-10-2010, 13:35:36

AMDFTW
what no OC3D certification?

01-10-2010, 13:37:37

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

It's a sexy powdercoat, not just a paint job...nice touch IMO.
Then I would powdercoat it.. just as simple as a paint job, K in my case that is

01-10-2010, 14:50:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

what no OC3D certification?
No mate the 3.3v rail did not pass our standards. You only get our stamp if the psu is above and beyond epic!

01-10-2010, 15:14:42

F-alienware
Hmmm.. Seems amazingly over priced to me...

01-10-2010, 15:17:39

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

No mate the 3.3v rail did not pass our standards. You only get our stamp if the psu is above and beyond epic!
ahh fair enough then mate

01-10-2010, 15:22:18

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Hmmm.. Seems amazingly over priced to me...
isnt in america though

seen the 1000w version go for $209 (131ish) :/

at new egg

01-10-2010, 15:26:56

F-alienware
That's still totally ridiculous.

TBH and I hate to say it but inside it looks pretty cheap. Outside it looks nice but man, reading the review I find it worrying that a 150+ PSU can just about keep within the ATX spec.

I had no respect for NZXT whatsoever until they released the Phantom. I don't know what it's built like but it's very nice looking. Unlike the fan controller of theirs I bought in 2007 that -

A. Was really cheap and tacky.

B. Was too big to fit in the 5.25 bay it was designed for and literally had to be rammed in.

C. The screen on which was absolutely parp and it wasn't cheap to buy.

I hoped that lately they had come good, but after reading this review I have my doubts. It's very easy now to get an average PSU around the same wattage for 100, and this is decidedly average. It must cost less than 50 to get a powdercoat done on a PSU (I mean FFS it's tiny) therefore I can't see any real reason at all to pay 150 for this thing.

A black one would look nicer in your case any way, and take that from some one who has studied colour coding and has a lot of experience with black and white

01-10-2010, 17:08:33

Todd
So when's the full review of the Phantom coming along? I hope it isn't a disappointment as well because I really had my hopes up for NZXT.

01-10-2010, 17:16:17

Mr. Strawberry
i have a phantom and i love it if that helps

check my project log "crysis extreme" for some pics

01-10-2010, 19:01:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

So when's the full review of the Phantom coming along? I hope it isn't a disappointment as well because I really had my hopes up for NZXT.
its here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnLnzIxk104

01-10-2010, 19:18:45

Alicarve
I have the phantom too and it is a good case I would advise it

01-10-2010, 20:59:44

AMDFTW
random question

when is the review of the 1095t coming out

02-10-2010, 05:31:54

F-alienware
Man, it never occurred to me before just how much that thing looks like a Storm Trooper helmet

I like it even more now

02-10-2010, 07:04:35

Todd
Sorry, Tom, I watched that video already. I was talking about the full- full review and conclusion as a month has passed. You still love it?

02-10-2010, 07:21:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

Sorry, Tom, I watched that video already. I was talking about the full- full review and conclusion as a month has passed. You still love it?
That was the full review. The conclusion was in the latest subscriber video you obviously havnt watched

02-10-2010, 10:55:28

silenthill
What a load of rubbish, if you give it to me for free I wouldnt put it in my pc

02-10-2010, 11:25:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

What a load of rubbish, if you give it to me for free I wouldnt put it in my pc
Its actually pretty good fella, Im currently using an 850w in my rig

02-10-2010, 12:50:32

Mr. Strawberry
if my one starts struggling this is a must

02-10-2010, 14:12:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Its actually pretty good fella, Im currently using an 850w in my rig
I only do Corsair Guvnor when it comes PSU so everything ells is like pound land

02-10-2010, 14:51:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

I only do Corsair Guvnor when it comes PSU so everything ells is like pound land
Yep I used to be exactly the same fella...........

03-10-2010, 06:55:46

jonnyGURU
You know you overloaded the +3.3V and +5V rails by test 3, right? No reason to complain that the ripple is too high when you tested those rails a good 80W more than what the label says it should do.

That said, I'm surprised the PSU didn't blow up with almost 200W load on the +3.3V & +5V combined.

03-10-2010, 13:25:20

AMDFTW
its a stress test,and its under specific loads to test the reliability,spikes and things can be simulated.

i assume this anyway

03-10-2010, 15:42:07

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post

You know you overloaded the +3.3V and +5V rails by test 3, right? No reason to complain that the ripple is too high when you tested those rails a good 80W more than what the label says it should do.

That said, I'm surprised the PSU didn't blow up with almost 200W load on the +3.3V & +5V combined.
Jonny you're absolutely correct! I don't know how I overlooked that as I've never made such a cockup before

I've just this second finished re-resting the PSU and have published the amended set of results. As everyone will be able to see, these are MUCH more favourable for the unit in every respect. Efficiency is increased, voltages are slightly more stable and most importantly the ripple is much lower.

Please everyone take a chance to re-read the review as I wouldn't like NZXT to suffer for my mistake.

03-10-2010, 15:51:58

Mr. Strawberry
this is most certinly going to be first choice of PSU if my current one ever starts to struggle

05-10-2010, 06:02:25

AMDFTW
in the explination of the correct ripple change in the conclusion page it says re-rested and not re-tested
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.