FSP Epsilon 700w ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

The Epsilon 700w is a great looking power supply which breaks away from the plain black power supplies which saturate the market. Despite the unit producing some very strange results on our PSU tester, it managed to easily power our test pc and keep all rails well within ATX specifications.

The good performance coupled with the excellent efficiency of this unit makes it a great choice for those of us who want to power a high end pc whilst also keeping their electricity bills low.

Selling for £105 over at SpecialTech, the Epsilon is priced very competitively against other 700/750w power supplies on the market and is definitely worth checking out for Crossfire and SLI users.

Pro's
+ Metallic paint finish
+ Good rails when tested on PC
+ Very high efficiency
+ Adjustable pots
+ Plenty of connectors
+ Rail layout suitable for Crossfire/SLI

Con's
- Exhibited strange behaviour when placed on our PSU tester
- Could be quieter under heavy load
- Poor internal cooling solution


Recommended

Thanks to FSP Group for providing this unit for review.

Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-07-2006, 06:35:39

JN
Looking to save some dosh on your electricity bills, but at the same time have enough grunt to power your crossfire rig? Look no further than this review.

04-07-2006, 06:54:00

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS
Looking to save some dosh on your electricity bills, but at the same time have enough grunt to power your crossfire rig? Look no further than [B]this review[/B'].
Looks a decent, solid, if not a little strange acting PSU

04-07-2006, 06:59:33

JN
Yeah it threw a bit of a 'hissy fit' on our load tester, but managed to do pretty well when plugged into the test rig.

04-07-2006, 08:42:35

|3ourne
holy **** ! you both are rocking reviews after reviews. How about sending something for your American brother here ?? Ive been bored out of my mind forever !

04-07-2006, 10:49:38

PV5150
sweet review as usual Jim

04-07-2006, 11:37:41

Ham
Good job mate.

Whats EPS stand for?

04-07-2006, 11:43:31

FragTek
Glad it started working for you correctly mate! FSP usually makes a great unit. My blue storm was the heaviest and most solid psu I'd ever had for the price I paid for it.

04-07-2006, 15:06:17

NickS
Lookin good XMS . Looks very bare inside, yea but it performs well . Those Protechnic fan's rape! I have one in the top of my Lian Li. Came out of a Compaq PSU .

Nick

05-07-2006, 07:08:25

Counter Terrorist Zombie
the hiper uses the same connectors. Just out of curiosity, will you have various charts/graph diagrams comparing all the psus you've reviewed?

05-07-2006, 07:26:34

JN
HI CTZ,

Yes, once we've got a few more manufacturers on board, i will create a comparison chart so we can truly see what PSU takes the crown

05-07-2006, 13:16:52

NickS
You gotta get a Tagan 1100w to review. Now that'd prolly take the crown *drool* Quad SLi connectors are so sweet, especially the way Topower sleeves them. Topower makes most of the OCZ PSU's, Tagan PSU's, and I think the Mushkin PSU's too... gotta check tho.

Nick

05-07-2006, 17:59:41

WC Annihilus
Ya, Mushkin's is Topower made to Mushkin's specs.

A funny little note is that OCZ's newer Gamestream PSU's are the FSP Epsilons

09-03-2010, 03:41:10

MTBF
FORTRON / FSP Power Supply Units are unreliable hardware devices.

Failed just after 784 days of normal use (about 3500 hours only)!.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.