FSP Epsilon 700w ATX PSU

Connectors

Connectors

With 700w on tap, you certainly don't want to be short changed when it comes to the number of devices that you can hook up. Most power supplies nowdays offer 2x PCI-E, 6x Molex and 2x SATA as a minimum, but will the Epsilon have more to offer?

FSP Epsilon Cables FSP Epsilon Cables

It's good to see that FSP have decided to sleeve all cables right to the very last connector. Many manufacturers only sleeve some of the cables, or sleeve up to the first connector on every cable. The sleeving job is professional with cable ties holding the sleeving in place, and heat shrink keeping everything neat and tidy.

All connectors are finished in black, with the molex connectors adopting the 'easy grip' design, which should make removal of the connectors from devices easier.

FSP Epsilon ATX FSP Epsilon EPS12v

The ATX connector on the Epsilon is native 24-pin. However, as you can see above, a small block of 4 connectors can be broken off to switch the connector to 20-pin, and thus make it compatible with older motherboards.

This is also true for the 8-Pin EPS12v connector which can be split in half, providing the user with a 4-Pin P4-12v connector.

ATX SATA Floppy

Molex EPS12v PCIE

With 6 SATA connectors, 6 Molex connectors and 2 Floppy connectors the Epsilon 700w should have enough plugs to power almost any kind of high-end water cooled, RAID system.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-07-2006, 06:35:39

JN
Looking to save some dosh on your electricity bills, but at the same time have enough grunt to power your crossfire rig? Look no further than this review.

04-07-2006, 06:54:00

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS
Looking to save some dosh on your electricity bills, but at the same time have enough grunt to power your crossfire rig? Look no further than [B]this review[/B'].
Looks a decent, solid, if not a little strange acting PSU

04-07-2006, 06:59:33

JN
Yeah it threw a bit of a 'hissy fit' on our load tester, but managed to do pretty well when plugged into the test rig.

04-07-2006, 08:42:35

|3ourne
holy **** ! you both are rocking reviews after reviews. How about sending something for your American brother here ?? Ive been bored out of my mind forever !

04-07-2006, 10:49:38

PV5150
sweet review as usual Jim

04-07-2006, 11:37:41

Ham
Good job mate.

Whats EPS stand for?

04-07-2006, 11:43:31

FragTek
Glad it started working for you correctly mate! FSP usually makes a great unit. My blue storm was the heaviest and most solid psu I'd ever had for the price I paid for it.

04-07-2006, 15:06:17

NickS
Lookin good XMS . Looks very bare inside, yea but it performs well . Those Protechnic fan's rape! I have one in the top of my Lian Li. Came out of a Compaq PSU .

Nick

05-07-2006, 07:08:25

Counter Terrorist Zombie
the hiper uses the same connectors. Just out of curiosity, will you have various charts/graph diagrams comparing all the psus you've reviewed?

05-07-2006, 07:26:34

JN
HI CTZ,

Yes, once we've got a few more manufacturers on board, i will create a comparison chart so we can truly see what PSU takes the crown

05-07-2006, 13:16:52

NickS
You gotta get a Tagan 1100w to review. Now that'd prolly take the crown *drool* Quad SLi connectors are so sweet, especially the way Topower sleeves them. Topower makes most of the OCZ PSU's, Tagan PSU's, and I think the Mushkin PSU's too... gotta check tho.

Nick

05-07-2006, 17:59:41

WC Annihilus
Ya, Mushkin's is Topower made to Mushkin's specs.

A funny little note is that OCZ's newer Gamestream PSU's are the FSP Epsilons

09-03-2010, 03:41:10

MTBF
FORTRON / FSP Power Supply Units are unreliable hardware devices.

Failed just after 784 days of normal use (about 3500 hours only)!.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.