FSP Epsilon 700w ATX PSU

Appearance

Appearance

The first thing that strikes you about the Epsilon 700w is its finish. Painted in metallic blue, the Epsilon sparkles under bright lights and makes me think what a great companion it would be for Coolermaster's Wavemaster Blue case which has a very similar finish. The overall paint job is very good, but does not carry quite the same depth and shine of a cars bodywork.

Probably one of the smallest power supplies I've ever reviewed at 140x150x86mm, (LxWxD) I was surprised that FSP managed to fit such a powerful unit into such a small package. However, despite it's small size the Epsilon did feel quite heavy, buy maybe not as heavy as some of the other small-sized atx units that I've reviewed in the past.

Epsilon 700w Epsilon 700w

The back of the unit sports a honeycomb mesh for allowing air forced into the unit by the 120mm fan to exit out of your case. You may also notice that there is no 110/240v switch present on the back of the unit. This is because the Epsilon, like many other modern PSU's is able to auto-detect the input voltage.

FSP have chosen to cool the unit with a single 120mm fan, which is covered by a silver fan grill. Many manufacturers choose this method of cooling, as it is much quieter and often more effective than using a smaller 80mm fan.

Epsilon 700w Epsilon 700w

The front and sides of the unit are pretty plain, with a couple of small grills to aid in the cooling of some of the components inside.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-07-2006, 06:35:39

JN
Looking to save some dosh on your electricity bills, but at the same time have enough grunt to power your crossfire rig? Look no further than this review.

04-07-2006, 06:54:00

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS
Looking to save some dosh on your electricity bills, but at the same time have enough grunt to power your crossfire rig? Look no further than [B]this review[/B'].
Looks a decent, solid, if not a little strange acting PSU

04-07-2006, 06:59:33

JN
Yeah it threw a bit of a 'hissy fit' on our load tester, but managed to do pretty well when plugged into the test rig.

04-07-2006, 08:42:35

|3ourne
holy **** ! you both are rocking reviews after reviews. How about sending something for your American brother here ?? Ive been bored out of my mind forever !

04-07-2006, 10:49:38

PV5150
sweet review as usual Jim

04-07-2006, 11:37:41

Ham
Good job mate.

Whats EPS stand for?

04-07-2006, 11:43:31

FragTek
Glad it started working for you correctly mate! FSP usually makes a great unit. My blue storm was the heaviest and most solid psu I'd ever had for the price I paid for it.

04-07-2006, 15:06:17

NickS
Lookin good XMS . Looks very bare inside, yea but it performs well . Those Protechnic fan's rape! I have one in the top of my Lian Li. Came out of a Compaq PSU .

Nick

05-07-2006, 07:08:25

Counter Terrorist Zombie
the hiper uses the same connectors. Just out of curiosity, will you have various charts/graph diagrams comparing all the psus you've reviewed?

05-07-2006, 07:26:34

JN
HI CTZ,

Yes, once we've got a few more manufacturers on board, i will create a comparison chart so we can truly see what PSU takes the crown

05-07-2006, 13:16:52

NickS
You gotta get a Tagan 1100w to review. Now that'd prolly take the crown *drool* Quad SLi connectors are so sweet, especially the way Topower sleeves them. Topower makes most of the OCZ PSU's, Tagan PSU's, and I think the Mushkin PSU's too... gotta check tho.

Nick

05-07-2006, 17:59:41

WC Annihilus
Ya, Mushkin's is Topower made to Mushkin's specs.

A funny little note is that OCZ's newer Gamestream PSU's are the FSP Epsilons

09-03-2010, 03:41:10

MTBF
FORTRON / FSP Power Supply Units are unreliable hardware devices.

Failed just after 784 days of normal use (about 3500 hours only)!.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.