FSP Booster X3 300w 12v PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

FSP have recognised the problem many people have been experiencing with SLI / Crossfire power issues and tackled it head-on. The Booster X3 is an excellent idea, and allows you to continue using you existing power supply without lagging behind (no pun) in the graphics card world.

With voltage fluctuation of only 0.4% when placed under 80% load, the Booster X3 provides more stable rails than a lot of high-end power supplies which is testament to FSP considering the size of the unit.

Let down by only its noise levels under load, and its slightly high price tag of £64 over at Microdirect, the Booster X3 is still a cheaper and easier alternative than to upgrading your existing power supply.

Komplett

It may also be worth noting that there is no technical reason why the Booster X3 couldn't be used to power a Peltier, and would actually work out as a cheaper alternative than a dedicated Peltier PSU.


Pro's
+ Stable power (only 0.4% fluctuation)
+ Good efficiency
+ Innovative solution for GPU power problem
+ Allows you to keep your existing PSU for longer
+ Could be used to power other devices such as a Peltier.

Con's
- Noisy under full load
- PCI-E cables cannot be plugged in seperately.
- Slightly expensive


Recommended

Thanks to FSP Group for making this review possible.

Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-07-2006, 05:20:47

JN
Looking to go SLI / Crossfire, but don't fancy upgrading your faithful 400w PSU?

Or maybe you're looking for a way to power that peltier, but don't fancy forking out 80+ for a Peltier PSU?

Check out the review of the Booster X3 HERE

12-07-2006, 05:23:51

FarFarAway
Looks like a great option for those who wanna upgrade to SLI/Crossfire and have an inadequate PSU

Also maybe someone with an OEM machine who wants to add a meaty GPU/other accessories

12-07-2006, 08:36:44

PV5150
How sweet is that; what an awesome idea. I love the front fascia, it looks almost holographic. Great review as usual Jim

12-07-2006, 11:31:58

FragTek
Wow another great invention by Fortron. That's an absolutely great idea, a great alternative to a brand new PSU.

Where did you find about this one Jim?

12-07-2006, 12:41:44

JN
They just asked us if we'd like to take a look at one

- And might i add: before any other review site on the net

12-07-2006, 12:58:35

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
They just asked us if we'd like to take a look at one

- And might i add: before any other review site on the net
w00t! FSP frickin' r0x0rz b0x0rz. I luvx uz guyz!

12-07-2006, 13:22:54

Raven
didnt look bad but they should have done something to improve cooling and reduce noise from fans.

silence is important these days.

12-07-2006, 13:47:50

JN
Yes it is a bit of a shame that its quite noisy under load. There are quieter 60mm fans on the market that FSP could have used, but obviously this isnt always possible from a business pov.

12-07-2006, 13:52:14

Raven
one thing they could have is to make a removeable door beneath where a bigger fan could be mounted for those who choses too.

for example an 80mm fan.

12-07-2006, 14:33:52

Ham
Pretty clever imo.

I like the pci power slot thing. good idea.

18-07-2006, 17:53:39

NickS
Yeah I like that idea too
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.