Enermax Platimax 1000w Super Overclock Edition PSU Review

Conclusion

Enermax Platimax 1000w Super Overclock Edition PSU

 

Conclusion

With the Platimax 1000w review coming fresh off the back of my previous MaxRevo 1350w review, it's hard not to make some comparisons between the two. Firstly in terms of looks, the Platimax is certainly an improvement. Gone is the garish gold fan surround in favour of a gunmetal black finish, and likewise the gold lettering down the sides of the unit have be replaced with white. Unfortunately though, the Platimax still uses the damn ugly gold/red striped sleeving which clashes with just about everything. Seriously Enermax, would it have really blown the budget to replace this with some black sleeving interwoven with some subtle silver stripes to mark the release of your first 80Plus Platinum PSU?

Moving on to the more important things, efficiency is obviously where Enermax have concentrated their efforts on the Platimax in order to bring it up to 80PLUS Platinum standards. The good news of course is that the unit met these standards during our testing, if only by the skin on it's teeth. What I find quite curious though is that  the 80Plus Gold rated MaxRevo actually offers slightly better efficiency at lower load levels! For example, if we compare the two graphs here and here we can see that the MaxRevo offers 3% better efficiency at 25% load and 1% at 50% load. This may well be a moot point though as anyone investing in a 1000w+ PSU is unlikely (I would hope) to run it at such low load levels.

Often when pushing the boundaries of one area in a PSU's design, another area will suffer. I've seen this situation in the past when manufacturers have tried desperately to improve voltage stability, but as a result cross-load results or maximum power output suffer. Thankfully though the Platimax doesn't appear to have this trait, and performs excellently in both the voltage stability and ripple testing. I would possibly even go as far as to say the Platimax has some of the most stable voltages of any PSU tested recently here at OC3D. Ripple suppression is also quite good, but once again slightly overshadowed by the MaxRevo..although not to the point where it should affect a purchasing decision.

So in summary, the Platimax is a highly efficient, stable PSU with decent ripple suppression and good looks. I can't lie and say that it is perfect, but it certainly offers a high enough mix of goodness to earn our OC3D Gold award.

   

Thanks to Enermax for the Platimax on test today, you can discuss your thoughts in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-02-2012, 04:25:54

tinytomlogan


Enermax ....1000w ....Single Rail. OOOH, suits you sir!

Continue Reading

22-02-2012, 04:45:13

kilobravo
Nice psu,like the look,but as stated,those cables are d... f...ly.

22-02-2012, 04:48:43

dugdiamond
^^^ this

22-02-2012, 05:02:11

yassarikhan786
Really looks the kahunas, but as above the cables :/

22-02-2012, 05:36:12

Excalabur50
Gotta agree 100% great power supply just the cables look like they came off a Huntkey or some other cheap and nasty PSU one of the reasons I don't recommend them to friends and such a shame really, cause they are such a good unit.

22-02-2012, 06:53:47

murphy7801
Cable shables I dont have a case window so dont give a crap. Im just sad they didnt put one of there lovely silver fans like they had the gold ones in the other's.

22-02-2012, 08:11:56

Zanc
That looks phenomenal to my eyes!

22-02-2012, 14:52:14

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilobravo View Post

Nice psu,like the look,but as stated,those cables are d... f...ly.
I'd really like to visit the Enermax factory, because I'm willing to bet that they've got some sort of 10 mile squared underground storage facility just for the rediculous ammount of cable sleeving that they purchased in bulk back in the late 90's.

22-02-2012, 15:09:22

kilobravo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post

I'd really like to visit the Enermax factory, because I'm willing to bet that they've got some sort of 10 mile squared underground storage facility just for the rediculous ammount of cable sleeving that they purchased in bulk back in the late 90's.
Yeah,must be some rediculous decisions about cable-sleeving.Their psu`s are top notch,high quality and good performance,but fail hard in cables department.

22-02-2012, 21:18:51

MaXiMiZe
Shame about the cables

23-02-2012, 12:40:46

GuyIncognito
I have two Enermax PSU's and will continue buying them.

...but my problem with the cables isn't that they're ugly (I can abide the brown Noctua fans after all). When installing, my problem was that they were maybe too rigid and difficult to bend.

24-02-2012, 07:45:45

ExtremeBB
If I could only get one in Holland

29-02-2012, 10:46:22

DarthDudo420
Considering the cost of these incredible units if if Enermax or a 3rd party company produced fully braided cables for theses (hint hint BitFenix!) I would buy one of these and the Braided cables to go with it in a Heartbeat and Im sure there are ALLOT of Enermax owners taht would too!

30-03-2012, 05:17:21

topinstruments
hi i joined the forums one day and i thought id say hi.

--------------------------

digital refractometer

01-04-2012, 22:11:37

MaXiMiZe
Woah, except for the cables

03-04-2012, 16:06:31

You_What?
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyIncognito View Post

I have two Enermax PSU's and will continue buying them.

...but my problem with the cables isn't that they're ugly (I can abide the brown Noctua fans after all). When installing, my problem was that they were maybe too rigid and difficult to bend.
Actually, I do agree with you, my Enermax Liberty PCI-E cables were stiff IIRC, good PSU's, its still going strong, has outlived the PC!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.