Enermax Liberty ECO 500w ATX PSU

Simulated Load Testing

Simulated Load Testing

To provide our readers with the most accurate results, Overclock3D uses a professional grade SunMoon SM-268+ ATE load tester capable of placing a sustained load of 1690w across a total of six rails (including +5vsb and -12v) on the PSU. Unlike our previous resistor-based load tester, the SM-268+ gives us the ability to adjust amperage loads in increments as small as 0.01A while also measuring voltages and wattage readings on-screen.

During today's tests, we will be placing the Liberty ECO 500w under 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% load levels at both room temperature and inside a hot box regulated to a temperature of around 50°C. Additional cross load tests will also be performed under these conditions to simulate how the PSU would perform with a heavily uneven distribution of load.

Enermax Liberty ECO 500w SM-268+ Results @ Room Temp
  +3.3v +5.0v +12v1 +12v2 +5vSB -12v AC Watts /
 DC Watts
 Efficiency Intake /
 Exhaust
Δ Temp
Test 1
(Low)
3.75A 2.50A4.16A4.16A 0.75A 0.15A 155w /
 132w
 85.16% 23.3°C /
 26.6°C
 3.3°C
3.38v5.02v12.24v12.22v5.07v -11.83v
Test 2
(Med)
 7.50A 5.00A 8.33A8.33A 1.50A 0.30A 308w /
 263w
 85.38% 24.3°C /
 32.5°C
 8.2°C
3.36v4.98v12.20v12.15v5.03v -11.81v
Test 3
(High)
11.25A7.50A12.49A12.49A 2.25A 0.45A 466w /
 392w
 84.12% 24.6°C /
 36.7°C
 12.1°C
3.34v4.94v12.16v12.13v4.98v -11.79v
Test 4
(Full)
 15.00A 10.00A 16.66A16.66A 3.00A 0.60A 630w /
 518w
 82.22% 25.0°C /
 39.5°C
 14.5°C
3.32v4.90v12.12v12.09v4.92v -11.81v
Test 5
(x-load)
19.70A13.00A0.50A0.50A0.75A0.15A 190w /
145w
76.31%25.0°C /
34.5°C
 9.5°C
3.31v4.78v12.81v12.81v5.04v-11.94v
Test 6
(x-load)
 3.00A 5.00A 19.00A19.00A 0.75A 0.15A 583w /
489w
83.87% 25.7°C /
 39.4°C
 13.7°C
3.37v 5.01v11.90v11.92v5.03v -12.10v

Looking first at the voltage output in standard Tests 1-4 all of the rails manage to stay extremely solid with no more than 0.13v fluctuation being exhibited on any of the rails. This is especially impressive considering in Test 4 the unit was running slightly out of spec at 518w. Efficiency was also above average with ~84-85% being seen in the Low,Medium and High tests and the unit only dropping to 82.22% efficiency when fully loaded.

Moving on to the first set of cross load results in Test 5, things do seem to take a slightly southwards turn with the +5.0v rail dropping to 4.78v and the +12v rails hitting a rather nasty 12.81v. Additionally the efficiency also plummets to a pretty dire 76.31% showing that the Liberty ECO really isn't geared up to deal with such heavily unbalanced loads.

However, Test 6 gives the Liberty a chance to redeem its self with all voltages going back to fairly normal levels and efficiency levelling back out at 83.87%. This is especially good as most modern cross loading situations are likely to be heavily weighted on the +12v rails (due to high powered GPU's) much like the Test 6 configuration.

Enermax Liberty ECO 500w SM-268+ Results @ 50°C
  +3.3v +5.0v +12v1 +12v2 +5vSB -12v AC Watts /
 DC Watts
 Efficiency Intake /
 Exhaust
Δ Temp
Test 1
(Low)
3.75A 2.50A4.16A4.16A 0.75A 0.15A 155w /
 132w
 85.16% 49.5°C /
 54.3°C
 4.8°C
3.37v5.03v12.22v12.20v5.07v -11.83v
Test 2
(Med)
 7.50A 5.00A 8.33A8.33A 1.50A 0.30A 308w /
 263w
 85.38% 50.5°C /
 58.5°C
 8.0°C
3.35v4.99v12.18v12.14v5.02v -11.83v
Test 3
(High)
11.25A7.50A12.49A12.49A 2.25A 0.45A 467w /
 391w
 83.72% 50.4°C /
 61.8°C
 11.4°C
3.33v4.94v12.14v12.10v4.97v -11.82v
Test 4
(Full)
 15.00A 10.00A 16.66A16.66A 3.00A 0.60A 634w /
 517w
 81.54% 50.9°C /
 66.4°C
 15.5°C
3.31v4.90v12.08v12.01v4.91v -11.82v
Test 5
(x-load)
19.70A13.00A0.50A0.50A0.75A0.15A 191w /
145w
75.91%50.7°C /
62.8°C
 12.1°C
3.30v4.78v12.81v12.81v5.04v-11.99v
Test 6
(x-load)
 3.00A 5.00A 19.00A19.00A 0.75A 0.15A 584w /
483w
82.70% 51.0°C /
67.7°C
 16.7°C
3.37v 5.02v11.82v11.78v5.02v -12.14v

Performing exactly the same battery of tests again; only this time at 50°C took its toll slightly on the Liberty ECO with the most noticeable differences being in tests 4 and 6 with voltage drops of between 0.08 - 0.14v on some of the rails. Interestingly, efficiency levels hardly changed despite the increased heat, and temperature differences from Intake to Exhaust also remained quite similar.

Enermax Liberty ECO 500w Scope Results @ 50c
  +3.3v +5.0v +12v1 +12v2
Test 1
(Low)
T1_3.3VT1_5VT1_12Vt1_12v2
Test 2
(Med)
t2_3.3vt2_5vt2_12vT2_12V2
Test 3
(High)
t3_3.3vt3_5vt3_12vt3_12v2
Test 4
(Full)
t4_3vt4_5vt4_12vt4_12v2
Test 5
(x-load)
t5_3.3vt5_5vt5_12vt5_12v2
Test 6
(x-load)
t6_3.3vt6_5vt6_12vt6_12v2

Finishing up with the scope readings taken during the 50°C tests, it's easy to see that the Liberty ECO did extremely well. Ripple on the +3.3v and 5v rails stayed below 12mV in tests 1-4 and only got a little out of control, hitting 30mV in Test 5 when one of the wonky cross loads caught it off-guard. Equally...no in fact MORE impressive was the +12v rails, which stayed at under 20mV ripple throughout the entire test making the Liberty ECO one of the best PSU's I've tested so far in this regard.

Now let's move on to the conclusion where I attempt to sum up the previous few pages into a series of score graphs and pretty award logos :)
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-03-2009, 18:42:28

JN
"Enermax have brought back an old favourite, only this time with increased efficiency and performance. Join us as we check out the Liberty EC 500w."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...204619204s.jpg

Enermax Liberty EC 500w ATX PSU

18-03-2009, 18:49:23

w3bbo
Nice review mate. 12v rail looks especially good.

18-03-2009, 18:50:04

zak4994
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.

18-03-2009, 18:53:35

monkey7
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around €60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/

19-03-2009, 03:04:23

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.
If you are referring the low-ish appearance score mate then thats due mostly to the lack of a modular cable, the cable sleeving and the use of gold (its a bit dated now...no seriously).

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.
That was my first impression, but on the side of the box it actually lists the number of modular cables included and for the 500w model there is only 4. The 650w (or 600w cant remember now) version is the only one to have the full 5 cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around 60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.
Yeah I agree. If they can nail the price then I would be tempted to give it Ed. Choice award. I think its just been released though, so may be a few weeks before we see some 'real' prices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/
Ye noise from everything else makes it too hard to judge most of the time. I was thinking about measuring fan speed as a substitute, just so you could get an idea of how close it gets to running at full speed and at what load. Not sure if that would be of any use?

As for the Javascript redirect, ye I've been meaning to put that in. It was an overhang from the very first revision of the OC3D website that worked in every browser back to Netscape 4

19-03-2009, 03:14:31

monkey7
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.

19-03-2009, 04:28:32

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.
Yeah. The only other thing that I could possibly do is find a USB sound meter (if such a thing exists) and run it inside the hot box (room temp tests are also conducted inside the box - just without the heater on).

The sound levels would obviously be elevated due to ambient noise, but if I could sound proof the hot box (to an extent) then I could at least produce some semi-accurate dbA readings for relative comparison?

19-03-2009, 05:47:25

Bungral
Excuse me??

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

19-03-2009, 06:02:59

HypoglossalXII
I've been so spoilt by the larger numbers such as 700W, 1000W, and 1200W that I seem to look down or often just ignore 500W psu these days. Damn these capitalistic marketing schemes!

Enermax has always been pretty decent with their PSU's, but would it kill them to offer their PSU's via their expensive casings?

-HypoG

19-03-2009, 06:21:16

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Excuse me??
Hey, I'm not Jim Not everything has a filthy meaning

A sound meter would give at least an indication of the noise. Of course it takes a while before this indication has any meaning because the results have to be compared with other psu's tested with the same equipment.

Could be an idea to make a PHP page with a graph of the results. POST message with a psu ID (review no.) would highlight that particular PSU.

19-03-2009, 06:37:57

Rastalovich
These reviews are picking up attention : http://pchardwareblips.dailyradar.com/story/enermax_liberty_ec_500w_atx_psu/

I'll go out on a limb and guess a 70 or so price tag. Being as the wattage up from this in the states is something like $138, ish.

I'm glad to see all the lovely connections on the unit, it's performance is great, the price is probably gonna be a little over what I'd prefer - but hey it's got some quality behind it and it should be a solid investment.

19-03-2009, 07:10:08

monkey7
Very well, we need that attention, should make OC3D more of name

I've got to say google gets us the best publicity though. I got here by googling for reviews of specific components and oc3d regularly turned up on page 1.

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.