Enermax Liberty ECO 500w ATX PSU

Cables & Internal Components

Cables & Internals

Despite the Liberty ECO being a 'modular' PSU, both the ATX and EPS-12v connectors are hard wired into the unit. This is actually quite a common practice among most modular PSU manufacturers as both of these cables will be required at the very minimum to power a PC system. Hard wiring these connectors into the PSU also reduces the chance of poor connections or increased resistance due to an ill fitted modular plug.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Hard Wired Enermax Liberty EC 500w Modular Plugs

Following on from the gold fan grill tradition, Enermax have also re-used the gold laced cable sleeving seen on most of their previous units. Whether this appeals to you or not is certainly a matter of taste, but I guess you can't blame Enermax for wanting to break away from the boring black stuff. One thing we can blame them for however is just how much bare wire is on show at the end of each connector. Granted that some of this is unavoidable as certain connectors such as the ATX spread out significantly towards the end, but other modular connectors such as the 'joined' PCI-e cables would be much better sleeved individually and right to the tip.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w ATX Enermax Liberty EC 500w PCI-E

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Cables Enermax Liberty 500w EC Bag

A total of 4 modular cables are included with the 500w version which is actually quite poor considering the unit has connectors for up to 5 modular cables. In fact, this has to be the first time ever I've seen a modular PSU that doesn't come with enough cables to utilise all of the available connectors on the PSU. To compound matters further, one of the cables has a rather daft arrangement of SATA and Molex connectors on a single cable which might not suit all system layouts. A full list of connectors can be seen below:

Enermax Liberty ECO 500W Connectors
 ATX Connector Native 1x 24 Pin
 EPS-12v / P4-12v Connector(s) Native 1x 4+4 Pin
 Molex Connectors Modular 5x
 Floppy Disk Connectors Modular 1x
 SATA Connectors Modular 5x
 PCI-E Connectors Modular 2x 6+2 Pin
 
Moving on to the internals, the Liberty ECO is extremely tidy and spacious with plenty of room between each of the components and all cables entering the unit bunched tightly with zip ties. Two yellow transformers take centre stage in the middle of the unit, with the smaller of the two being responsible for the 5VSB (Stand by) rail and the larger one for everything else. Cooling comes in the form of two fairly small black aluminium heatsinks that run in parallel down ¾ the length of the unit.

Enermax Liberty Eco 500w Inside Enermax Liberty EC 500w Inside
 
An EMI filtering circuit has been installed just behind the AC inlet on a rather tidy PCB. This should help to keep any internally generated noise from the MOSFET's and other components contained within the device, while also preventing any external AC line noise from entering the PSU.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Filtering
 
The primary capacitor is manufactured in Japan by Panasonic Corporation and carries a specification of 330uF / 400V / 85°C.  This may not be quite as high spec'd as the 105°C capacitors used in mid-range units by companies such as Corsair, but  it's still far from poor quality, and should perform perfectly fine inside a 500w unit.

At the output end of the unit (image below-right) several capacitors manufactured by jP (CE-TUR series) can also be seen in several sizes and specifications.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Caps Enermax Liberty EC 500w Caps
 
Cooling comes in the form of a 120mm fan labeled up as an Enermax EB122512H. This fan is rated at 0.30A (12v) and is automatically controlled by the on-board fuzzy-logic controller which monitors both load and temperature levels to determine the best fan speed. Further specifications for the fan are extremely thin on the ground with no official dbA or CFM statistics being listed anywhere on the Internet.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Fan Enermax Liberty EC 500w Fan

Now that we've dissected our subject, let's attempt to put it back together again ready for testing over on the next page.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-03-2009, 18:42:28

JN
"Enermax have brought back an old favourite, only this time with increased efficiency and performance. Join us as we check out the Liberty EC 500w."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...204619204s.jpg

Enermax Liberty EC 500w ATX PSU

18-03-2009, 18:49:23

w3bbo
Nice review mate. 12v rail looks especially good.

18-03-2009, 18:50:04

zak4994
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.

18-03-2009, 18:53:35

monkey7
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around €60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/

19-03-2009, 03:04:23

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.
If you are referring the low-ish appearance score mate then thats due mostly to the lack of a modular cable, the cable sleeving and the use of gold (its a bit dated now...no seriously).

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.
That was my first impression, but on the side of the box it actually lists the number of modular cables included and for the 500w model there is only 4. The 650w (or 600w cant remember now) version is the only one to have the full 5 cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around 60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.
Yeah I agree. If they can nail the price then I would be tempted to give it Ed. Choice award. I think its just been released though, so may be a few weeks before we see some 'real' prices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/
Ye noise from everything else makes it too hard to judge most of the time. I was thinking about measuring fan speed as a substitute, just so you could get an idea of how close it gets to running at full speed and at what load. Not sure if that would be of any use?

As for the Javascript redirect, ye I've been meaning to put that in. It was an overhang from the very first revision of the OC3D website that worked in every browser back to Netscape 4

19-03-2009, 03:14:31

monkey7
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.

19-03-2009, 04:28:32

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.
Yeah. The only other thing that I could possibly do is find a USB sound meter (if such a thing exists) and run it inside the hot box (room temp tests are also conducted inside the box - just without the heater on).

The sound levels would obviously be elevated due to ambient noise, but if I could sound proof the hot box (to an extent) then I could at least produce some semi-accurate dbA readings for relative comparison?

19-03-2009, 05:47:25

Bungral
Excuse me??

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

19-03-2009, 06:02:59

HypoglossalXII
I've been so spoilt by the larger numbers such as 700W, 1000W, and 1200W that I seem to look down or often just ignore 500W psu these days. Damn these capitalistic marketing schemes!

Enermax has always been pretty decent with their PSU's, but would it kill them to offer their PSU's via their expensive casings?

-HypoG

19-03-2009, 06:21:16

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Excuse me??
Hey, I'm not Jim Not everything has a filthy meaning

A sound meter would give at least an indication of the noise. Of course it takes a while before this indication has any meaning because the results have to be compared with other psu's tested with the same equipment.

Could be an idea to make a PHP page with a graph of the results. POST message with a psu ID (review no.) would highlight that particular PSU.

19-03-2009, 06:37:57

Rastalovich
These reviews are picking up attention : http://pchardwareblips.dailyradar.com/story/enermax_liberty_ec_500w_atx_psu/

I'll go out on a limb and guess a 70 or so price tag. Being as the wattage up from this in the states is something like $138, ish.

I'm glad to see all the lovely connections on the unit, it's performance is great, the price is probably gonna be a little over what I'd prefer - but hey it's got some quality behind it and it should be a solid investment.

19-03-2009, 07:10:08

monkey7
Very well, we need that attention, should make OC3D more of name

I've got to say google gets us the best publicity though. I got here by googling for reviews of specific components and oc3d regularly turned up on page 1.

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.