Enermax Liberty ECO 500w ATX PSU

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance

There's no better way to say 'Eco' than by use of the colour green and therefore it's no surprise that Enermax have chosen this to be the primary colour of the packaging used on the Liberty ECO. The front of the box keeps things plain and simple with a two-tone colour scheme and a picture of the unit, while the back of the box carries most of the information including the power distribution chart and graph showing the efficiency of the unit through the various load levels.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Box Enermax Liberty EC 500w Box Back
 
The sides of the box are also packed out with information too, with printed diagrams detailing how many connectors are included with each of the Liberty ECO models (400w, 500w & 600w),  and a larger version of the power distribution chart for those who didn't happen to have their glasses handy to read the one on the rear of the box.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Box Side Enermax Liberty EC 500w Box Side
 
Taking a look inside we can see that Enermax has placed the Liberty ECO inside a bubblewrap bag to protect it from scratches and minor damage. This is what I'd consider to be the 'bare minimum' protection for a PSU in transit, but considering that the Liberty ECO is aimed more at the mid-range market any elaborate packaging such as large styrofoam blocks and velor drawstring bags would just unneccesarily bump up costs.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Box Open Enermax Liberty EC 500w Contents
 
As you'd expect for a 500w unit, the Liberty ECO is quite compact. Measuring in at 150x85x140mm there should be no issues fitting it in any smaller ATX cases and some HTPCs. The finish on the unit is a matte black powder coat with a rough textured surface. While this feels quite scratch resistant, it doesn't carry the same aesthetic appeal as the gloss black and metallic gold flake finish of the original Liberty Series.
 
Enermax Liberty EC 500w Top Enermax Liberty EC 500w Front
 
As a result of its compact size Enermax have been restricted to using a 120mm fan inside the unit. Had the unit have been a few mm longer Enermax could have pottentially shoe horned in a 135mm fan to help increase cooling performance much like on the Infiniti series. Of course, size isn't everything so we'll take a closer look at the make, model and specifications of the fan in a while.

One thing that certainly hasn't changed throughout the entire Enermax PSU range is the use of gold fan grills. This seems to be somewhat of a tradition for Enermax, and although the 'fake' yellow gold look is something that is often classed as 'tacky' in recent years, it does give the Liberty ECO a sense of uniqueness.

Enermax Liberty EC 500w Side Enermax Liberty EC 500w Fan
 
Of course, as the saying goes "beauty is skin deep" so let's move on to the next page where I whip out the screwdriver and attempt to get beneath the skin of this modest looking unit.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-03-2009, 18:42:28

JN
"Enermax have brought back an old favourite, only this time with increased efficiency and performance. Join us as we check out the Liberty EC 500w."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...204619204s.jpg

Enermax Liberty EC 500w ATX PSU

18-03-2009, 18:49:23

w3bbo
Nice review mate. 12v rail looks especially good.

18-03-2009, 18:50:04

zak4994
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.

18-03-2009, 18:53:35

monkey7
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around €60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/

19-03-2009, 03:04:23

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.
If you are referring the low-ish appearance score mate then thats due mostly to the lack of a modular cable, the cable sleeving and the use of gold (its a bit dated now...no seriously).

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.
That was my first impression, but on the side of the box it actually lists the number of modular cables included and for the 500w model there is only 4. The 650w (or 600w cant remember now) version is the only one to have the full 5 cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around 60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.
Yeah I agree. If they can nail the price then I would be tempted to give it Ed. Choice award. I think its just been released though, so may be a few weeks before we see some 'real' prices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/
Ye noise from everything else makes it too hard to judge most of the time. I was thinking about measuring fan speed as a substitute, just so you could get an idea of how close it gets to running at full speed and at what load. Not sure if that would be of any use?

As for the Javascript redirect, ye I've been meaning to put that in. It was an overhang from the very first revision of the OC3D website that worked in every browser back to Netscape 4

19-03-2009, 03:14:31

monkey7
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.

19-03-2009, 04:28:32

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.
Yeah. The only other thing that I could possibly do is find a USB sound meter (if such a thing exists) and run it inside the hot box (room temp tests are also conducted inside the box - just without the heater on).

The sound levels would obviously be elevated due to ambient noise, but if I could sound proof the hot box (to an extent) then I could at least produce some semi-accurate dbA readings for relative comparison?

19-03-2009, 05:47:25

Bungral
Excuse me??

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

19-03-2009, 06:02:59

HypoglossalXII
I've been so spoilt by the larger numbers such as 700W, 1000W, and 1200W that I seem to look down or often just ignore 500W psu these days. Damn these capitalistic marketing schemes!

Enermax has always been pretty decent with their PSU's, but would it kill them to offer their PSU's via their expensive casings?

-HypoG

19-03-2009, 06:21:16

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Excuse me??
Hey, I'm not Jim Not everything has a filthy meaning

A sound meter would give at least an indication of the noise. Of course it takes a while before this indication has any meaning because the results have to be compared with other psu's tested with the same equipment.

Could be an idea to make a PHP page with a graph of the results. POST message with a psu ID (review no.) would highlight that particular PSU.

19-03-2009, 06:37:57

Rastalovich
These reviews are picking up attention : http://pchardwareblips.dailyradar.com/story/enermax_liberty_ec_500w_atx_psu/

I'll go out on a limb and guess a 70 or so price tag. Being as the wattage up from this in the states is something like $138, ish.

I'm glad to see all the lovely connections on the unit, it's performance is great, the price is probably gonna be a little over what I'd prefer - but hey it's got some quality behind it and it should be a solid investment.

19-03-2009, 07:10:08

monkey7
Very well, we need that attention, should make OC3D more of name

I've got to say google gets us the best publicity though. I got here by googling for reviews of specific components and oc3d regularly turned up on page 1.

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.