Enermax Liberty ECO 500w ATX PSU

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction

EnermaxEnermax is one of those few companies in the PC scene that requires no introduction. With products such as the Galaxy 1000w and Infiniti range under their belts, Enermax has on several occasions made a profound impact on the PSU market and helped shape it into what it is today. A few months ago I was lucky enough to review a pre-release sample of their latest PSU - the Revolution 1050w. The unit didn't disappoint and walked away with OC3D's "Best in Class" award, proving itself to be a worthy successor to the now ageing Galaxy series.

However today Enermax have sent over a far more modest 500W PSU from their Liberty ECO range. The original Liberty range has been around for some time and in fact was one of the very first PSU's from Enermax to 'break the mould' with it's glossy metallic paintjob and modular connectors. OC3D first took a look at the original Liberty 620w back in 2006 and despite having a rather limited test setup at the time, it was clear that the Liberty was an extremely competent PSU that combined copious amounts of the three P's: Price, Performance and Presentation.

For the Liberty ECO, Enermax have turned their attention to improving the economic and ecological aspects of the original Liberty by increasing efficiency while also bringing many of the other features bang up to date. Below is the full feature list taken from Enermax's website:

• 80PLUS® efficency - 80-86% efficiency @ 20-100% load. Compliant with 80 PLUS® efficiency requirements.
Fit4Server -12Pin modular design for possibly upcoming new CPU's and graphics 10 and/or 12Pin connectors.
• Non-Stop @ 40°C - Non-Stop industrial class performance at 40°C/104°F ambient.
• DXX ready! - For PCI Express 2.0 / DXX next generation graphic cards with 6+2P (8P) PCI-E connectors.
• Intel ATX12V v 2.3 - ATX12V v2.3 support for latest Intel® Core 2 Duo™/Quad™/Extreme™/ i7™, and AMD™Athlon™ 64X2/X4 & Phenom™X3/X4 and SLI™ or CrossFireX™.
• EMC & Safety - Full-scale electromagnetic filtering protects your system against radiation interferences. (CE EMC EN61204 compliance)
• SpeedGuard - Advanced fuzzy logic 12cm fan speed control for optimal cooling and minimum noise. (Patented)
• AirGuard - Patented air-inlet with optimal aero-dynamical design reducing noisy air turbulences.
• SafeGuard - Industry-leading septuple protection circuitry with world's first dual UVP(AC & DC), OCP, OVP, OPP, OTP & SCP protects your system.
• Worldwide compatible - 100-240VAC in with automatic adjustment and active PFC for global usage.
• Compact size - Dimensions (W x H x D): 150mm x 85mm x 140mm
• Warranty - 3 years vendor warranty

Aside from the increased efficiency, Enermax have also kitted the Liberty ECO out with a long list of safety features which include the usual suspects such as Over Volt Protection and Over Current Protection. Interestingly Enermax's PowerGuard system doesn't make an appearance on the Liberty ECO; which is kind of a shame as PSU's with fancy LED's and buzzers always gives me something extra to talk about.

Also of interest in the specs list is the ATX v2.3 connectors which provides support for the latest hardware along with Enermax's certification that the Liberty EC can provide it's full output power at up to 40°C. This should make things a little interesting when we stick it inside our 50°C oven later on in the review!

Enermax Liberty EC 500W Rail Layout
DC Output +3.3V +5V +12V1 +12V2 +12V3 +12V4 +12V5 +12V6 -12V +5VSB
24A 24A 24A 24A - - - - 0.6A 3A
Max Power 130W 456W 7.2W 15W
500W

Things have been kept nice and simple in the rail layout department with two +12v rails capable of producing 24A each and a maximum combined output of 456W (38A). This gives the Liberty ECO plenty of grunt to deal with a single high-end graphics card or a pair of mid range cards configured in SLI/Crossfire. 

Similarly the +3.3v and +5v rails are also rated at 24A each, but this time with a maximum combined output of 130W. This is slightly lower than some other 500w PSU's we've tested recently (for example the OCZ ModXStream Pro 500w), but for the modern PC system having more power available on the +12v rails is far more favourable.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-03-2009, 18:42:28

JN
"Enermax have brought back an old favourite, only this time with increased efficiency and performance. Join us as we check out the Liberty EC 500w."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...204619204s.jpg

Enermax Liberty EC 500w ATX PSU

18-03-2009, 18:49:23

w3bbo
Nice review mate. 12v rail looks especially good.

18-03-2009, 18:50:04

zak4994
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.

18-03-2009, 18:53:35

monkey7
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around €60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/

19-03-2009, 03:04:23

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I don't necessarily see anything wrong with the packaging and appearance.
If you are referring the low-ish appearance score mate then thats due mostly to the lack of a modular cable, the cable sleeving and the use of gold (its a bit dated now...no seriously).

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Yay, another OC3D psu review

Odd though, looks like someone just forgot to include that fifth cable in the bundle. Maybe a packaging error? I bet Enermax could explain somehow.
That was my first impression, but on the side of the box it actually lists the number of modular cables included and for the 500w model there is only 4. The 650w (or 600w cant remember now) version is the only one to have the full 5 cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

The psu isn't listed on dutch stores either, so can't give a clue about that. If it's priced around 60-80 this should make a good psu for midrange gaming.
Yeah I agree. If they can nail the price then I would be tempted to give it Ed. Choice award. I think its just been released though, so may be a few weeks before we see some 'real' prices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'

Oh and two suggestions:

- Could you include a 'sound' s... nvm. Already remember the psu tester was too noisy to do so.

- Could you make the review immediately go to a page when you select it with the dropdown menu? I always get annoyed when the page doesn't load until I remember to click the 'go' button.

This must be the weirdest post I've made in quite some time :/
Ye noise from everything else makes it too hard to judge most of the time. I was thinking about measuring fan speed as a substitute, just so you could get an idea of how close it gets to running at full speed and at what load. Not sure if that would be of any use?

As for the Javascript redirect, ye I've been meaning to put that in. It was an overhang from the very first revision of the OC3D website that worked in every browser back to Netscape 4

19-03-2009, 03:14:31

monkey7
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.

19-03-2009, 04:28:32

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

Fan speed would sure need an indication, especially if you can tell how the fan itself is at full load by putting it at 12v without the load tester buzzing away. Inside layout of the psu influences sound though, so it would be just an indication.
Yeah. The only other thing that I could possibly do is find a USB sound meter (if such a thing exists) and run it inside the hot box (room temp tests are also conducted inside the box - just without the heater on).

The sound levels would obviously be elevated due to ambient noise, but if I could sound proof the hot box (to an extent) then I could at least produce some semi-accurate dbA readings for relative comparison?

19-03-2009, 05:47:25

Bungral
Excuse me??

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm hard one.

19-03-2009, 06:02:59

HypoglossalXII
I've been so spoilt by the larger numbers such as 700W, 1000W, and 1200W that I seem to look down or often just ignore 500W psu these days. Damn these capitalistic marketing schemes!

Enermax has always been pretty decent with their PSU's, but would it kill them to offer their PSU's via their expensive casings?

-HypoG

19-03-2009, 06:21:16

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Excuse me??
Hey, I'm not Jim Not everything has a filthy meaning

A sound meter would give at least an indication of the noise. Of course it takes a while before this indication has any meaning because the results have to be compared with other psu's tested with the same equipment.

Could be an idea to make a PHP page with a graph of the results. POST message with a psu ID (review no.) would highlight that particular PSU.

19-03-2009, 06:37:57

Rastalovich
These reviews are picking up attention : http://pchardwareblips.dailyradar.com/story/enermax_liberty_ec_500w_atx_psu/

I'll go out on a limb and guess a 70 or so price tag. Being as the wattage up from this in the states is something like $138, ish.

I'm glad to see all the lovely connections on the unit, it's performance is great, the price is probably gonna be a little over what I'd prefer - but hey it's got some quality behind it and it should be a solid investment.

19-03-2009, 07:10:08

monkey7
Very well, we need that attention, should make OC3D more of name

I've got to say google gets us the best publicity though. I got here by googling for reviews of specific components and oc3d regularly turned up on page 1.

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.