Enermax Galaxy 1000w Quad-SLI ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

Without a doubt the Enermax Galaxy is one awesome power supply. It's clear to see that a lot of R&D has gone into ensuring that the unit not only performs great with the current generation of computers, but is also fully equipped for the power hungry onslaught of computer hardware due any time in the near future.

Priced at £221 over at Specialtech, the Galaxy is also a great buy for a 1kw power supply - And judging by the weight and oversized components used inside the unit, no corners have been cut in the quality department to bring the price down either.

Managing an overall score of 97%, the Galaxy is certainly a contender for our "Best In Class" award for the 900w-1100w classification. Only once we've reviewed the rest of the 900w-1100w units on the market will this award be issued, so check back soon to see if the Galaxy bags the gold!


Pro's
• More cables and connectors than you can shake a stick at.
• Stable rails even at full load.
• Excellent efficiency.
• Fairly silent operation for a 1kw unit.
• High quality components.
• Well packaged.
• Unique black & gold cable sleeving.

Con's
• Longer than your average PSU - May not fit all cases.
• Unit is only really 50% modular.

OC3D Editors Choice


Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2006, 08:23:32

JN
"Having already reviewed a couple of 1000w+ units on the market, it seemed necessary to get hold of one of Enermax's Quad-SLI beasts to put through its paces. Does the Galaxy deserve all the attention it's been getting recently, we find out."

Linkage

14-12-2006, 08:32:03

llwyd
nice review and a pretty hefty psu. i see you point about the pre-fixed cables making it half modular but what 1000W pc wouldn't use all those cables anyway lol

14-12-2006, 08:38:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
nice review and a pretty hefty psu. i see you point about the pre-fixed cables making it half modular but what 1000W pc wouldn't use all those cables anyway lol
Yeah exactly. It would have been near impossible to impliment a sturdy modular system with all of those cables and remain 100% modular.

14-12-2006, 08:53:07

Ham
That thing is huge....

14-12-2006, 10:02:39

FarFarAway
Looks nice but I'd still buy a PCP&C

14-12-2006, 10:52:38

underclocker
now thats a Power Supply!!!!

no no no get out of my head I've spent far too much already

Great review as always guys.

14-12-2006, 10:53:58

Dav0s
will that thing fit in a normal case lol

wheres NickS? somebody told me he liked enermax

14-12-2006, 11:00:02

Toxcity
It's impressive... But To big?

14-12-2006, 11:23:39

Rastalovich
1000w?! humph

*walks off in a huff*

14-12-2006, 13:52:04

TJS
Its nice having a 1KW PSU, amazingly enough hardware is coming out that can actually make use of its wattage. The size is kind of a downer, takes some finagling to get it into most cases, maybe a little Dremeling... but once its in, power problems become a thing of the past.

I had an Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, and after 3 months it popped, no rhyme or reason. Thankfully nothing else in my setup got damaged, bought a PC P&C 610W for my backup pc.

You can go cheap with some hardware, especially if reviews are favorable... but for a component that can destroy all your other hardware should something go wrong, I prefer to spend a bit more for piece of mind.

Also, I've read that modular is good, but not as good (yet) as non-modular(?) PSU's. Yes, the Galaxy is only half modular, and it is nice to be able to disconnect unused cables to keep clutter down in a case, but it's still modular. The upshot is that its less expensive than a PC P&C while still being a respectable brand name.

TJS

14-12-2006, 15:37:38

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav0s
will that thing fit in a normal case lol

wheres NickS? somebody told me he liked enermax
Hehe. I saw a review on that a while ago @ JonnyGURU's site.

-- XMS, did you apply 15a * 5 at one time for a total of 75a of 12v? I wanna see what it does

15-12-2006, 05:07:30

GrimReaper
dang thats one big fat psu

19-05-2009, 11:11:29

smiler99
I have one of these beasts in a Coolermaster Stacker (massive case) and had to adapt the case for it to fit.The 120mm fan on the top will now not fit and had to bend back the alli clips so psu would fit in.Think its about 3 inches longer than a regular psu.

Once in the case it has been a sweet psu,and it is half modular but i only need one of the modular leads.Theoretically you could easilly run 2 high end gaming pc's from this psu.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.