Enermax Galaxy 1000w Quad-SLI ATX PSU

Cables & Connectors

Cables & Connectors

Anybody that knows me from the Overclock3D Forums will know that I've got a 'soft spot' for two things - powerful PSU's and modular PSU's. The Galaxy certainly seems to fit into both of these categories, but lets take a closer look at the Galaxy's design before getting all excited!

Enermax Galaxy Cables Enermax Liberty Cables

To say that the Galaxy is a 'modular' power supply is a bit of a white lie - personally I'd prefer to call it 'Hybrid Modular'. This is because the unit actually has enough cables to run the average PC system already hard wired to the unit. The big bundle of cables in the picture above-left contains not only your usual ATX/EPS connectors but also PCI-E, Molex and SATA connectors too! Personally I feel a little cheated by this as the whole idea of a modular unit is to keep everything neat and tidy, but I can certainly see Enermax's reasonings behind needing to do it this way.

We can also see that Enermax have made the wise decision of using PCI-E style modular connectors on the Galaxy. These connectors have proven to be extremely sturdy (much more so than molex-based modular PSU's) and are also very compact in comparison with other modular connector designs.

Enermax Galaxy Cables

Enermax Galaxy Cables Enermax Galaxy Cables

The Galaxy comes with masses of modular cables and a canvas pouch to keep any unused ones in afterwards. All cables are professionally sleeved in gold and black mesh up to the first connector making a nice change from the usual plain black mesh sleeving found on other PSU's.

The main ATX cable is native 24-pin with no way of reducing it down to the older 20-pin standard. Users of 20-pin ATX motherboard will need to purchase an adapter separately in order to use the Galaxy. However, Enermax have provided two cables for EPS12v (8-pin) and P4-12v (4-pin) so that the Galaxy will still be able to support some slightly older motherboards.

Also included is a 3-pin fan cable which can be connected to one of your motherboard's fan headers to obtain a readout of the power supply fan RPM.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2006, 08:23:32

JN
"Having already reviewed a couple of 1000w+ units on the market, it seemed necessary to get hold of one of Enermax's Quad-SLI beasts to put through its paces. Does the Galaxy deserve all the attention it's been getting recently, we find out."

Linkage

14-12-2006, 08:32:03

llwyd
nice review and a pretty hefty psu. i see you point about the pre-fixed cables making it half modular but what 1000W pc wouldn't use all those cables anyway lol

14-12-2006, 08:38:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
nice review and a pretty hefty psu. i see you point about the pre-fixed cables making it half modular but what 1000W pc wouldn't use all those cables anyway lol
Yeah exactly. It would have been near impossible to impliment a sturdy modular system with all of those cables and remain 100% modular.

14-12-2006, 08:53:07

Ham
That thing is huge....

14-12-2006, 10:02:39

FarFarAway
Looks nice but I'd still buy a PCP&C

14-12-2006, 10:52:38

underclocker
now thats a Power Supply!!!!

no no no get out of my head I've spent far too much already

Great review as always guys.

14-12-2006, 10:53:58

Dav0s
will that thing fit in a normal case lol

wheres NickS? somebody told me he liked enermax

14-12-2006, 11:00:02

Toxcity
It's impressive... But To big?

14-12-2006, 11:23:39

Rastalovich
1000w?! humph

*walks off in a huff*

14-12-2006, 13:52:04

TJS
Its nice having a 1KW PSU, amazingly enough hardware is coming out that can actually make use of its wattage. The size is kind of a downer, takes some finagling to get it into most cases, maybe a little Dremeling... but once its in, power problems become a thing of the past.

I had an Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, and after 3 months it popped, no rhyme or reason. Thankfully nothing else in my setup got damaged, bought a PC P&C 610W for my backup pc.

You can go cheap with some hardware, especially if reviews are favorable... but for a component that can destroy all your other hardware should something go wrong, I prefer to spend a bit more for piece of mind.

Also, I've read that modular is good, but not as good (yet) as non-modular(?) PSU's. Yes, the Galaxy is only half modular, and it is nice to be able to disconnect unused cables to keep clutter down in a case, but it's still modular. The upshot is that its less expensive than a PC P&C while still being a respectable brand name.

TJS

14-12-2006, 15:37:38

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav0s
will that thing fit in a normal case lol

wheres NickS? somebody told me he liked enermax
Hehe. I saw a review on that a while ago @ JonnyGURU's site.

-- XMS, did you apply 15a * 5 at one time for a total of 75a of 12v? I wanna see what it does

15-12-2006, 05:07:30

GrimReaper
dang thats one big fat psu

19-05-2009, 11:11:29

smiler99
I have one of these beasts in a Coolermaster Stacker (massive case) and had to adapt the case for it to fit.The 120mm fan on the top will now not fit and had to bend back the alli clips so psu would fit in.Think its about 3 inches longer than a regular psu.

Once in the case it has been a sweet psu,and it is half modular but i only need one of the modular leads.Theoretically you could easilly run 2 high end gaming pc's from this psu.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.