Enermax Galaxy 1000w Quad-SLI ATX PSU

Specifications

Specifications

The following information has been taken directly from Enermax's website:

• 1000 Watts
Continous power for the most extreme systems 900 Watts
900 Watts
12V combined power for the most extreme CPU’s and graphics
24/7 @ 50°C
Non-stop full power @ 50°C by design and components
2007 EPS12V Compliant
World's first PSU compliant with upcoming 2007 EPS12V design guide revision
World’s First Five 12V Rails
2007 EPS12V specification for next-generation systems
World’s Strongest +5Vsb Output of 6A
2007 EPS12V specification for next-generation systems and multiple USB devices.
Triple Quad + 24
Quad CPU
Quad Core
Quad Graphics
24 Drives Simultaneous!
80-85% Efficiency
@ 20-100% load for the lowest electricity bills
Modular Connectors
Maximum SATA or IDE/SCSI drives (21+3 of free choice)
Silent & Cool
By 13.5 & 8cm dual fans
Power Guard
4 alert modes on PSU status with reset button
Triple Transformer Technology
The utmost in stability & power
Dual Tier Minimum Load Design
Outstanding compatibility with upcoming multi-core processors
Dual Tier Combined Power
Total separation of CPU(s) from the rest of your system for maximum stability
RAM Power Cable
World's first PSU with a dedicated RAM power cable to support next generation 32-64GB RAM systems
Active PFC & Universal AC IN
Run your GALAXY from 90-264VAC with automatic adjustment and active power factor correction

Specs

Without a doubt the Galaxy has some features not found on any other power supplies at present. It would certainly seem that Enermax have taken a look at the requirements of the future PC and incorporated some of the features that are going to be needed to power the next generation computer systems.

As we can see on the sheet above, the Galaxy has a total of five +12v rails each rated at 17a. Initially I thought this was slightly worrying as future graphics cards are set to far in excess of 17a, however Enermax haver cleverly allowed the rails to 'combine forces' avoiding the issue.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2006, 08:23:32

JN
"Having already reviewed a couple of 1000w+ units on the market, it seemed necessary to get hold of one of Enermax's Quad-SLI beasts to put through its paces. Does the Galaxy deserve all the attention it's been getting recently, we find out."

Linkage

14-12-2006, 08:32:03

llwyd
nice review and a pretty hefty psu. i see you point about the pre-fixed cables making it half modular but what 1000W pc wouldn't use all those cables anyway lol

14-12-2006, 08:38:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
nice review and a pretty hefty psu. i see you point about the pre-fixed cables making it half modular but what 1000W pc wouldn't use all those cables anyway lol
Yeah exactly. It would have been near impossible to impliment a sturdy modular system with all of those cables and remain 100% modular.

14-12-2006, 08:53:07

Ham
That thing is huge....

14-12-2006, 10:02:39

FarFarAway
Looks nice but I'd still buy a PCP&C

14-12-2006, 10:52:38

underclocker
now thats a Power Supply!!!!

no no no get out of my head I've spent far too much already

Great review as always guys.

14-12-2006, 10:53:58

Dav0s
will that thing fit in a normal case lol

wheres NickS? somebody told me he liked enermax

14-12-2006, 11:00:02

Toxcity
It's impressive... But To big?

14-12-2006, 11:23:39

Rastalovich
1000w?! humph

*walks off in a huff*

14-12-2006, 13:52:04

TJS
Its nice having a 1KW PSU, amazingly enough hardware is coming out that can actually make use of its wattage. The size is kind of a downer, takes some finagling to get it into most cases, maybe a little Dremeling... but once its in, power problems become a thing of the past.

I had an Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, and after 3 months it popped, no rhyme or reason. Thankfully nothing else in my setup got damaged, bought a PC P&C 610W for my backup pc.

You can go cheap with some hardware, especially if reviews are favorable... but for a component that can destroy all your other hardware should something go wrong, I prefer to spend a bit more for piece of mind.

Also, I've read that modular is good, but not as good (yet) as non-modular(?) PSU's. Yes, the Galaxy is only half modular, and it is nice to be able to disconnect unused cables to keep clutter down in a case, but it's still modular. The upshot is that its less expensive than a PC P&C while still being a respectable brand name.

TJS

14-12-2006, 15:37:38

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav0s
will that thing fit in a normal case lol

wheres NickS? somebody told me he liked enermax
Hehe. I saw a review on that a while ago @ JonnyGURU's site.

-- XMS, did you apply 15a * 5 at one time for a total of 75a of 12v? I wanna see what it does

15-12-2006, 05:07:30

GrimReaper
dang thats one big fat psu

19-05-2009, 11:11:29

smiler99
I have one of these beasts in a Coolermaster Stacker (massive case) and had to adapt the case for it to fit.The 120mm fan on the top will now not fit and had to bend back the alli clips so psu would fit in.Think its about 3 inches longer than a regular psu.

Once in the case it has been a sweet psu,and it is half modular but i only need one of the modular leads.Theoretically you could easilly run 2 high end gaming pc's from this psu.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.