Corsair TX850w ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

Corsair TX850WThe first words that spring to mind are WOW WOW WOW. The TX850 is really that good. During room temperature testing, the voltage stability was excellent with all rails staying extremely close to their ideal values. Even when placing the unit in some nasty crossloading situations, it just wouldn't flinch and continued to provide rock solid voltages on the most important rails. In an attempt to give the TX850 something to chew on, we loaded the unit all the way up to 920w, but it just gave the TX a chance to prove what a tough cookie it was and  happily carried on delivering perfectly acceptable voltages.

Sticking a PSU in our new 'hot box' warmed all the way up to 50°C is normally more than enough to make any unit cry, but yet again the TX850 pushed out numbers almost identical to the room temperature results, showing that the unit can happily deliver its full 850w load in even the hottest of environments. Efficiency was also close to being the best we've ever seen, with the TX managing over 89% efficiency at medium load levels and no lower than 86% under any other conditions.

Although it's kind of hard to comment on the noise output of the unit when you've got a 1600w load tester whirring away in the background and several high power Delta fans moving air around the hot box, the TX850 certainly seemed to be extremely quiet all the way up to a 700w load. Only when pushed past this point did the fan start to spin up to counteract the heat in our ambient load tests.

As we've come to expect from a Corsair spec'd unit, the TX850 is extremely well-built and uses some of the best internal components. There's very little to dislike about the unit visually either, with its rugged powdercoated finish and sleeved cables. If I was to nit-pick, I would like to have seen the sleeved mesh go all the way into the unit, instead of stopping a couple of millimetres short, but I guess you could argue that it puts form over functionality.

Available from Ebuyer for £111.64 the TX850 comes in at a competitive price point, and in my opinion at least - is worth every penny.


The Good
- Extremely stable rails even at full load @ 50c.
- Efficiency bordering on 90% at medium loads.
- Great looks.
- Plenty of cables & support for all hardware.
- Performed really well in our cross load tests.
- High quality internal components.

The Mediocre
- The -12v rail does get a bit high on a heavy cross load, but this is extremely unlikely to occur in a normal PC.
- Makes a bit of a racket at 850w load.
- Corsair need to make a modular version for all us neat freaks :)

The Bad
- Absolutely nothing.


Overclock3D Editors Choice

Thanks to Corsair for sending the TX850W in for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-02-2009, 04:25:34

JN
"Corsair's modular HX series have proven to be extremely popular with enthusiasts, but can it's hard-wired brother the TX win our hearts?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195206362s.jpg

Corsair TX850w ATX PSU

18-02-2009, 04:30:09

TonyG
Very nice, makes me want to buy one now.

18-02-2009, 04:32:16

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='TonyG'
Very nice, makes me want to buy one now.
If they did it in modular format I'd be using one in my new build no question

18-02-2009, 04:32:53

TonyG
Totally agree with you Jim.

18-02-2009, 04:33:06

premiumgfx
Nice review. Just like you, I think it needs to come in a modular version too.

18-02-2009, 06:27:27

Sleekit
I was gonna get the 1100W version but I settled for the Silverstone NV1000, maybe in my next build

Great review mate!

18-02-2009, 07:09:02

monkey7
Woahh 87% efficiency all the way Very nice unit and review.

I have buitl a rig with the TX750w in it and I can tell it isn't that hard to manage the cables, which were similar in amount. You just need to make sure you have a case with good cable management options (I had the CM centurion 590, not really great) and you have a lot of duct tape / tie wraps lying around. Oh and reserve an hour or two

18-02-2009, 07:25:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Woahh 87% efficiency all the way Very nice unit and review.
Yeah I certainly had a few eye rubbing moments while testing it. They should be slapping 80PLUS Silver Certification on it tbh. Only a couple of units i've ever seen can manage that.

18-02-2009, 08:36:56

kataras
no mention of "the box smells lovely so much that i might just wear it instead of perfume"

18-02-2009, 08:45:26

Kerotan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kataras'
no mention of "the box smells lovely so much that i might just wear it instead of perfume"
Haha was about to say, could of slotted in a cheeky line:

"Upon opening the box I was greeted by the usual intoxicating Corsair PSU smell, and decided to take a break from reviewing for a few minutes to relax."

18-02-2009, 08:46:18

onewingedangel
Corsair may well be the most consistent PSU manufacturer these days, so a good result is hardly surprising but nice to see.

18-02-2009, 08:57:28

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kerotan'
Haha was about to say, could of slotted in a cheeky line:

"Upon opening the box I was greeted by the usual intoxicating Corsair PSU smell, and decided to take a break from reviewing for a few minutes to relax."
HAHA I thought my post had gone unnoticed

Come to think about it...maybe I should re-test it with a gas mask on. That seductive smell, it's beautiful dark skin...oohohoo *tingles down spine*

*AHEM*

18-02-2009, 09:55:27

Robert
i got this one at home.

an awsome product, and you are all so right about the smell, its lovely

18-02-2009, 09:58:22

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Robert'
i got this one at home.

an awsome product, and you are all so right about the smell, its lovely
Yay i'm not totally weird

18-02-2009, 09:59:17

monkey7
Rethinking about this... I'd love to bash a corsair PSU and see you eating your pants ^^

I guess everyone who's ever unpacked a corsair agrees on the smell

18-02-2009, 10:01:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Rethinking about this... I'd love to bash a corsair PSU and see you eating your pants ^^
Something for the OC3D Live Video stream maybe?

18-02-2009, 10:02:39

monkey7
We'd certainly get a lot of viewers at that moment

18-02-2009, 12:57:59

Bungral
Ha ha Kataras, your sig is wicked... So true.

19-02-2009, 05:29:26

PV5150
Wow what an excellent performer, and I do agree on the need for a modular version
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.