Corsair TX850w ATX PSU

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance

Corsair have never been a company to cut corners where the packaging of PSU's is concerned, and as we can see from the images below, the TX series is certainly no exception. Packaged inside a double-walled cardboard box similar in design to that of the HX620, the TX850 is protected by two large styrofoam inserts that completely encompass the unit, protecting it on all sides from damage. Furthermore, Corsair have also gone to the trouble of placing the PSU in a plastic bag along with a black felt bag on top. I'll eat my pants if they've had so much as one unit returned 'damaged in transit'.

Corsair TX 850w Box Corsair TX 850w Box
 
Contained inside the box is all the usual bits you expect to receive with a new PSU (mains lead, screws, manual) along with a few little extras in the form of some cable ties and a Corsair sticker. The included screws are also painted black, which is certainly a nice change from the usual silver ones.

Corsair TX 850w Box Open Corsair TX 850w Contents
 
Removing the unit from its elaborate packaging, we are presented with the TX850 in all its glory. Corsair have stuck with the rugged powdercoat finish used on their HX series that feels quite resistant to scratching and almost like the unit is coated in some kind of rock polymer. Yellow and black stickers adorn all sides of unit, giving it a refreshing appearance that helps it stand out in a market filled with drab black boxes.

Corsair TX 850w Underneath Corsair TX 850w Top

Quite unique to the TX850 is the use of a 140mm fan that comes close to touching the edges of the casing and almost looks like Corsair had to use a shoehorn to get it into place. The advantage of such a large fan is primarily to reduce cooling dead spots inside the unit where a traditional 120mm fan cant quite reach, while also shifting more air at lower speeds/noise levels. Interestingly, the TX650 doesn't share the same fans as the 750w and 850w models, quite possibly due to its smaller dimensions and lower output.

Corsair TX 850w Back Corsair TX 850w Specs

Now let's move on to some of the more interesting stuff...the PSU internals...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-02-2009, 04:25:34

JN
"Corsair's modular HX series have proven to be extremely popular with enthusiasts, but can it's hard-wired brother the TX win our hearts?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195206362s.jpg

Corsair TX850w ATX PSU

18-02-2009, 04:30:09

TonyG
Very nice, makes me want to buy one now.

18-02-2009, 04:32:16

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='TonyG'
Very nice, makes me want to buy one now.
If they did it in modular format I'd be using one in my new build no question

18-02-2009, 04:32:53

TonyG
Totally agree with you Jim.

18-02-2009, 04:33:06

premiumgfx
Nice review. Just like you, I think it needs to come in a modular version too.

18-02-2009, 06:27:27

Sleekit
I was gonna get the 1100W version but I settled for the Silverstone NV1000, maybe in my next build

Great review mate!

18-02-2009, 07:09:02

monkey7
Woahh 87% efficiency all the way Very nice unit and review.

I have buitl a rig with the TX750w in it and I can tell it isn't that hard to manage the cables, which were similar in amount. You just need to make sure you have a case with good cable management options (I had the CM centurion 590, not really great) and you have a lot of duct tape / tie wraps lying around. Oh and reserve an hour or two

18-02-2009, 07:25:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Woahh 87% efficiency all the way Very nice unit and review.
Yeah I certainly had a few eye rubbing moments while testing it. They should be slapping 80PLUS Silver Certification on it tbh. Only a couple of units i've ever seen can manage that.

18-02-2009, 08:36:56

kataras
no mention of "the box smells lovely so much that i might just wear it instead of perfume"

18-02-2009, 08:45:26

Kerotan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kataras'
no mention of "the box smells lovely so much that i might just wear it instead of perfume"
Haha was about to say, could of slotted in a cheeky line:

"Upon opening the box I was greeted by the usual intoxicating Corsair PSU smell, and decided to take a break from reviewing for a few minutes to relax."

18-02-2009, 08:46:18

onewingedangel
Corsair may well be the most consistent PSU manufacturer these days, so a good result is hardly surprising but nice to see.

18-02-2009, 08:57:28

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kerotan'
Haha was about to say, could of slotted in a cheeky line:

"Upon opening the box I was greeted by the usual intoxicating Corsair PSU smell, and decided to take a break from reviewing for a few minutes to relax."
HAHA I thought my post had gone unnoticed

Come to think about it...maybe I should re-test it with a gas mask on. That seductive smell, it's beautiful dark skin...oohohoo *tingles down spine*

*AHEM*

18-02-2009, 09:55:27

Robert
i got this one at home.

an awsome product, and you are all so right about the smell, its lovely

18-02-2009, 09:58:22

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Robert'
i got this one at home.

an awsome product, and you are all so right about the smell, its lovely
Yay i'm not totally weird

18-02-2009, 09:59:17

monkey7
Rethinking about this... I'd love to bash a corsair PSU and see you eating your pants ^^

I guess everyone who's ever unpacked a corsair agrees on the smell

18-02-2009, 10:01:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Rethinking about this... I'd love to bash a corsair PSU and see you eating your pants ^^
Something for the OC3D Live Video stream maybe?

18-02-2009, 10:02:39

monkey7
We'd certainly get a lot of viewers at that moment

18-02-2009, 12:57:59

Bungral
Ha ha Kataras, your sig is wicked... So true.

19-02-2009, 05:29:26

PV5150
Wow what an excellent performer, and I do agree on the need for a modular version
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.