Corsair HX850 V2 Power Supply Review

Up Close & Cables

Corsair PSU new


Up Close & Cables

Other than the fan grill there really isnt much to tell the V1 and the V2 apart other than some subtle sticker design differences.

Corsair PSU new  Corsair PSU new

  
The braiding on the fixed cables isnt that bad but it's also not that great either, it feels like a standard braid though and we have seem much worse on power supplies even recently. The coloured wires beneath is what makes things look rather dated.

Corsair PSU new  Corsair PSU new

  
The modular cables come in the standard Corsair cable bag, if you have never owned a PSU that comes with one of these they really are handy for keeping all your cables together for that moment when you want to add something to your rig they are all in once place safe and it makes them much easier to find should under your bed look like the inside of a bin bag!


Corsair PSU new  Corsair PSU new

When we actually get a good up close look at the modular cables they look much cleaner than the fixed cables. The main reason is the wires used are actually black, even thought the braid is the same you can easily see how much cleaner and modern these look. The trouble is when in assembling the units in the factory its much easier to solder cables to the right place when they are colour coded, making them all black makes things much harder. There are many ways around this but would add assembly time and there for most cost.

Corsair PSU new  Corsair PSU new  

Corsair PSU new  Corsair PSU new  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2012, 09:32:43

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...034458108l.jpg

Corsair are back with a revamp on the HX850 PSU. Will it be a huge leap forward like the original? Its time to test and find out.

Continue Reading

02-08-2012, 02:46:44

Ulijin
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
we still have not found a use for the velvet bag once you have actually fitted your PSU....
1. Give it to your missus as a jewelery bag

2. Cut 3 holes in the back of it for your little dog / cat's legs and tail and fasten. Now you've got an instant diaper to stop the little bastard crapping all over your house

3. Use it to store the stock fans that arrived with all your PC components that you can't bring yourself to throw away.

4. Use it to store component instructions (I actually do use my one for this)

5. Use it to store random lists.... of which this really is one

02-08-2012, 07:01:08

wassupdoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulijin View Post
1. Give it to your missus as a jewelery bag

2. Cut 3 holes in the back of it for your little dog / cat's legs and tail and fasten. Now you've got an instant diaper to stop the little bastard crapping all over your house

3. Use it to store the stock fans that arrived with all your PC components that you can't bring yourself to throw away.

4. Use it to store component instructions (I actually do use my one for this)

5. Use it to store random lists.... of which this really is one

haha

02-08-2012, 11:39:46

airdeano
Tom's video and James' written has nailed it again, awesome job team OC3D!

other than the colored wires under the cable braid.. it's a Corsair PSU with strength, stamina,
and style.

gaining a pretty good collection of velour PSU bags and felt Crown Royal bags.. myself

airdeano

06-08-2012, 09:21:03

kilobravo
There`s some new competition,but Corsair is still up there.
Can hardly wait for the AX1200i review.

06-08-2012, 09:32:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilobravo View Post
There`s some new competition,but Corsair is still up there.
Can hardly wait for the AX1200i review.
Jim has been really ill recently so we will get it up as soon as he is well enough to test it dude

06-08-2012, 09:52:36

Mister B
This is such a sickener. I bought my HX 850 only two months ago. And then they revamp it :/

06-08-2012, 09:54:23

Josh Weston
Ah, it's always the way.
You do still have a great PSU though, so it's not the end of the world.
Also; welcome to the forums

06-08-2012, 09:56:21

Mister B
That is true I wonder how much reworking was actually put in to push it up to 80+ gold?

And thank you! I have been reading threads here for years so I said I might as well register

06-08-2012, 10:14:35

kilobravo
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Jim has been really ill recently so we will get it up as soon as he is well enough to test it dude
Hope its nothing to serious.
Best thoughts to Jim.

20-08-2012, 15:50:30

shadow
I hope Jim has a speedy recovery.

08-10-2012, 15:14:39

kejser11
Nice review, as always! When can we expect a testing of Corsairs first platinum-rated PSU, the AX 1200i? really eager to see it put through its paces!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.