Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 1000w Modular PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

The Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 is an extremely well rounded unit that combines all the features we loved from Coolermaster's previous iGreen series including high efficiency, quiet operation and a sexy electroplated exterior along with a beefy 1000w of raw and stable power.

Coolermaster have also managed to avoid any potential issues in the modular connector design by using a combination of PCI-E and homebrew connector types, along with hard-wiring the most important cables (ATX and EPS-12v) to the unit for optimal stability.

Being 180mm in length, the M1000 will also fit a much wider range of cases than some of the other 1kw+ units on the market, and despite having a rather cramped interior, the temperature and load testing results show no sign of any problems.

With prices around £180 (at time of review) over at YoYoTech and Scan, the M1000 is extremely good value when compared to many of the other modular 1000w units in its class. It is also worth mentioning that Coolermaster also manufacture the Real Power Pro in lower wattage units starting at 520w and going up to 850w - for those of us who don't need a full 1kw of power.


The Good
• Extremely stable voltage regulation.
• Decent 83% efficiency.
• Sexy electroplated finish.
• Silent operation thanks to a 135mm fan.
• Extremely well packaged.
• Sturdy modular connector system.
• Competitive pricing.

The Mediocre
• Fairly cool operation for a 1000w unit.
• No power switch at the rear of the unit.

The Bad
• Nothing to report.


Editors Choice Award


Thanks to Coolermaster for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-10-2007, 06:08:24

JN
"Coolermaster aren't normally a name we'd associate with high-end PSU's...but all of that is about to change as we review their Real Power Pro 1kw unit."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212409106s.jpg

Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 Review

16-10-2007, 08:16:34

Bungral
Quality review

Liking the inclusing of temp recording.

Seems a top piece of kit.

16-10-2007, 08:39:10

WC Annihilus
Personally I would consider no back power switch as a "bad" rather than just "mediocre" cause it's really inconvenient, but meh. Solid review

21-10-2007, 22:54:10

Nagaru
A great review and a solid looking PSU. Just one question why was "Fairly cool operation for a 1000w unit." Listed under mediocre?

22-10-2007, 11:45:12

SuB
hmm i'll be in the market for a new psu soon i think... this has certainly caught my eye!

will have to go through the other PSU reviews though but i do like the look of this

good review

13-12-2007, 11:02:16

barginbin
Im looking for a 1000w PSU so this maybe one to consider although the TT(im goign to get flammed!!) Toughpower looks good and also comes with a 5 year warrenty.

13-12-2007, 11:23:39

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nagaru'
A great review and a solid looking PSU. Just one question why was "Fairly cool operation for a 1000w unit." Listed under mediocre?
Simply because 'fairly cool' means it's alright, OK, nothing out of the ordinary. Mediocre means... OK - Being of no special quality or type: average, common, commonplace etc... Suppose it (mediocre) does carry a bit of a negative connatation... Meh.

Had it been cool/very/exeptionally cool then 'The Good' had it been hot it would have been 'The Bad'.

Edit: imo

13-12-2007, 11:26:58

SBB
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barginbin'
Im looking for a 1000w PSU so this maybe one to consider although the TT(im goign to get flammed!!) Toughpower looks good and also comes with a 5 year warrenty.
TT toughpowers have seen good reviews whereever i've looked... plus it was used for that 3x 8800 Ultra rig posted in the news, so it's up to anything!

13-12-2007, 12:45:13

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SBB'
TT toughpowers have seen good reviews whereever i've looked... plus it was used for that 3x 8800 Ultra rig posted in the news, so it's up to anything!
Review of one coming this evening

13-12-2007, 15:10:21

ionicle
w00t!

so we get to find out if it sucks, and how much it sucks

13-12-2007, 15:17:04

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
w00t!

so we get to find out if it sucks, and how much it sucks
Its being proof read at the mo...not long now

13-12-2007, 17:03:02

barginbin
I look forward to this.

13-12-2007, 17:04:13

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barginbin'
I look forward to this.
Don't look forward, read it now

23-01-2011, 13:28:09

jcfsusmc
I seem to be the first owner of this PSU here. All of the reviewers comments are well founded. All I have are some clarifications for those looking for a 1000w PSU from a well known company.

1. Yes, Coolermaster is new at PSU's, but they sure found the right engineers to get them started in the right direction.

2. There are no plug in add ons. I sort of liked those, but found the old style of everything coming out of one big hole OK because I have a good case that easily stashes the extras out of sight.

3. IMHO, I will clasify the "coolness" as very good. For crying out loud, the bloody thing puts out 1200 peak, 1000 continous watts! Believe me, your cpu and gpu's will get ten times hotter than this PSU!

4. I have had this beauty for several weeks now. I give it an A-. I agree, with the reviewer that it should really have a hard shut off switch.

This PSU should be taken into serious consideration when looking for your next PSU requiring 1000w.

23-01-2011, 13:44:12

AMDFTW
dude dont revive threads that are 4 years old

23-01-2011, 15:37:07

LaurenceGough
Old thread.........

The much newer Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold PSUs are what I consider to be the best PSU series around.

23-01-2011, 17:10:09

Zeals
Really old thread, this is from the days when 83% was amazing >.<

23-01-2011, 17:45:23

Alicarve
I own one lol and had it for about 3 years now but yeah this is old lol
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.