Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 1000w Modular PSU

Test Results

Load & Efficiency Tests

To provide our readers with the most accurate results, Overclock3D uses a custom built PSU load tester on all reviews. This not only gives much more reliable results than the testing methods employed by other sites, but also allows for all current and future review results to be compared side-by-side.

Efficiency tests are performed by measuring the wattage consumed by the power supply at the mains (Mains Draw) against the power consumed by the OC3D power supply stress tester (PSU Load). These results may not be 100% accurate, but have proven to be extremely close to results obtained from professional equipment.

 0%50%100%
+3.3v Rail0w66w99w
+5.0v Rail0w50w100w
+12v Rail(s)0w360w720w
Total0w443w919w

Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 Load Tests

The M1000 manages extremely good voltage regulation even at a huge 919w load. All rails remained within their ideal values throughout the testing, and I'm certainly confident of Coolermasters claim that this unit can produce a peak output of 1200w.

Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 Efficiency Tests

Coolermaster claim an efficiency level of 85%+ on the M1000, however during our testing the maximum efficiency level results we could obtain was 83.11% at 443w load. This certainly isn't a bad result as many PSU's are still hovering around the 80% efficiency mark, but it would have been nice to see our results mirror Coolermasters quoted levels.


Temperature Testing

In our continuing efforts to make power supply reviews more thorough, rather than simply checking voltage stability, Overclock3D will now be recording the temerature of each PSU as it undergoes testing. Temperature recordings will be taken from the underside of the PSU's outer casing at 0%, 50% and 100% load levels using a laser infrared thermometer in an attempt to gauge how much heat is likely to radiate into the end-users case.

Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 Temp Testing

With a 10°c difference in casing temperature from idle to full load, the 135mm fan inside the M1000 certainly doesn't seem to have any problems keeping everything cool. This is quite a relief, as one of the potential problems I highlighted earlier in the review was the cramped interior of the unit.


Noise Level Measurements

Possibly the hardest part of any PSU review is summarising the level of noise given out by the unit. The threshold for what is considered 'noisy' varies from person to person and therefore what I may consider a quiet unit, another person may consider extremely loud. For this reason, all reviews from this point forward will be using a dBA meter to measure the level of noise output by the PSU.

All noise measurements are taken in a quiet room with the dBA meter located 30cm away from the exhaust fan on the unit at 0%, 50% and 100% load levels. The results shown below have had the ambient noise levels deducted from the results to give a better representation of how likely you are to hear the PSU in a normal environment.

Coolermaster Real Powe Pro M1000 Noise

At both 0% and 50% loads there was very little audiable change in PSU noise levels with our dBA meter only registering a 4dBA increase. Moving up to 100% load caused the 135mm fan in the M1000 to speed up significantly, resulting in a 9dBA rise in noise levels.

Being the first PSU on OC3D we've tested using this method, it's hard to comment on the performance compared to some of the previous 1kw units we've reviewed. However, I will say that from a personal standpoint I found the M1000 to be very quiet at low to medium loads, and perfectly acceptable for my tolerances at full load.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-10-2007, 06:08:24

JN
"Coolermaster aren't normally a name we'd associate with high-end PSU's...but all of that is about to change as we review their Real Power Pro 1kw unit."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212409106s.jpg

Coolermaster Real Power Pro M1000 Review

16-10-2007, 08:16:34

Bungral
Quality review

Liking the inclusing of temp recording.

Seems a top piece of kit.

16-10-2007, 08:39:10

WC Annihilus
Personally I would consider no back power switch as a "bad" rather than just "mediocre" cause it's really inconvenient, but meh. Solid review

21-10-2007, 22:54:10

Nagaru
A great review and a solid looking PSU. Just one question why was "Fairly cool operation for a 1000w unit." Listed under mediocre?

22-10-2007, 11:45:12

SuB
hmm i'll be in the market for a new psu soon i think... this has certainly caught my eye!

will have to go through the other PSU reviews though but i do like the look of this

good review

13-12-2007, 11:02:16

barginbin
Im looking for a 1000w PSU so this maybe one to consider although the TT(im goign to get flammed!!) Toughpower looks good and also comes with a 5 year warrenty.

13-12-2007, 11:23:39

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nagaru'
A great review and a solid looking PSU. Just one question why was "Fairly cool operation for a 1000w unit." Listed under mediocre?
Simply because 'fairly cool' means it's alright, OK, nothing out of the ordinary. Mediocre means... OK - Being of no special quality or type: average, common, commonplace etc... Suppose it (mediocre) does carry a bit of a negative connatation... Meh.

Had it been cool/very/exeptionally cool then 'The Good' had it been hot it would have been 'The Bad'.

Edit: imo

13-12-2007, 11:26:58

SBB
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barginbin'
Im looking for a 1000w PSU so this maybe one to consider although the TT(im goign to get flammed!!) Toughpower looks good and also comes with a 5 year warrenty.
TT toughpowers have seen good reviews whereever i've looked... plus it was used for that 3x 8800 Ultra rig posted in the news, so it's up to anything!

13-12-2007, 12:45:13

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SBB'
TT toughpowers have seen good reviews whereever i've looked... plus it was used for that 3x 8800 Ultra rig posted in the news, so it's up to anything!
Review of one coming this evening

13-12-2007, 15:10:21

ionicle
w00t!

so we get to find out if it sucks, and how much it sucks

13-12-2007, 15:17:04

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
w00t!

so we get to find out if it sucks, and how much it sucks
Its being proof read at the mo...not long now

13-12-2007, 17:03:02

barginbin
I look forward to this.

13-12-2007, 17:04:13

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barginbin'
I look forward to this.
Don't look forward, read it now

23-01-2011, 13:28:09

jcfsusmc
I seem to be the first owner of this PSU here. All of the reviewers comments are well founded. All I have are some clarifications for those looking for a 1000w PSU from a well known company.

1. Yes, Coolermaster is new at PSU's, but they sure found the right engineers to get them started in the right direction.

2. There are no plug in add ons. I sort of liked those, but found the old style of everything coming out of one big hole OK because I have a good case that easily stashes the extras out of sight.

3. IMHO, I will clasify the "coolness" as very good. For crying out loud, the bloody thing puts out 1200 peak, 1000 continous watts! Believe me, your cpu and gpu's will get ten times hotter than this PSU!

4. I have had this beauty for several weeks now. I give it an A-. I agree, with the reviewer that it should really have a hard shut off switch.

This PSU should be taken into serious consideration when looking for your next PSU requiring 1000w.

23-01-2011, 13:44:12

AMDFTW
dude dont revive threads that are 4 years old

23-01-2011, 15:37:07

LaurenceGough
Old thread.........

The much newer Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold PSUs are what I consider to be the best PSU series around.

23-01-2011, 17:10:09

Zeals
Really old thread, this is from the days when 83% was amazing >.<

23-01-2011, 17:45:23

Alicarve
I own one lol and had it for about 3 years now but yeah this is old lol
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.