Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Modular PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro 700wWith its single +12v rail, excellent modular cable system and a silicone gaskets to dampen vibrations, the Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w certainly looks like it has something for everyone, from overclockers to silent PC enthusiasts. However, as we've seen over on the previous page, the voltage stability of the unit is somewhat unusual, with both the +5v and +12v rails taking a roller-coaster ride depending on the distribution of load between them. While most of the time these voltages remained within ATX specifications and therefore shouldn't cause any issues, we can't help but wonder what kind of results a user would see with a configuration that exerts a very unbalanced load on the +5v and +12v rails (e.g a dual graphics card PC).
 
On a more positive note, the Silent Pro does exactly what it says on the tin. The combination of a 135mm fan along with excellent management of its speed depending on load and temperature makes the unit quieter than a mouse in slippers. For this reason alone, the Silent Pro 700w should certainly make its way onto the short list of those looking for a compact PSU to complement their HTPC or Silent PC build.
 
Expected to retail for around £94 over at stores such as Scan and Yoyotech, the Silent Pro 700w places itself right at the top scale for what we'd expect to pay for a unit of this wattage. Is it worth it? Well, if you're after an extremely silent, modular PSU then the answer is a definite YES. However, if you're after a PSU that will be predicable no matter what system config you throw at it, then probably no.
 
 
The Good
- Amazingly silent, even when pushed passed 700w load
- Silicon vibration dampeners shield the PC case from the PSU.
- Single +12v rail ensures that enthusiasts can make full use of every amp.
- Decent modular system with sexy looking cables.
- Rock solid +3.3v rail
- High level of efficiency under most load levels.
- Compact size suitable for small cases and some HTPC's.
 
The Mediocre
- Relies on balanced power consumption over the +5v and +12v rails for best results.
- Silicon gaskets on our sample unit had a tendency to fall off.
 
The Bad
- Nothing.
 
Overclock3D Silence Award
 
Thanks to Cooler Master for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forum.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-06-2008, 15:20:53

JN
"With a powerful single +12v rail and Silicone vibration dampening, can the Silent Pro be the best of both worlds?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214535437s.jpg

Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Review

13-06-2008, 15:43:30

Kerotan
Nice review mate- interesting idea with the gaskets- sure should reduce some noise, but if you're mounting a normal PSU in cases where it's at the bottom like a 900 there are rubber pads which do a pretty good job of dissipating excess vibration. I'm just hoping PSU requirements for the 4870 won't be over 520W tbh, don't fancy replacing my HX520 just yet.

13-06-2008, 17:16:27

MikeEnIke
Nice write-up and not a bad PSU especially like the silent aspect. Good work Jimbo

14-06-2008, 03:01:24

Rastalovich
Decent, modular and silent. Some excellent attributes.

(U know I`d love to be able to do a search of OC3D reviews, with the options of the awards given to each review. e.g. Silence award.. and all the silent awarded stuff comes up, likewize performance, value.. etc)

14-06-2008, 13:56:23

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Decent, modular and silent. Some excellent attributes.

(U know I`d love to be able to do a search of OC3D reviews, with the options of the awards given to each review. e.g. Silence award.. and all the silent awarded stuff comes up, likewize performance, value.. etc)
That's an awesome idea, we'll have to pass that around to Jim see if he feels like working

15-06-2008, 06:28:31

mrapoc
Like my suggestion here? lol

23-06-2008, 14:31:57

Nick R
And mine, albeit posted after this was posted, here: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=23280.

Looks like a pretty solid PSU.

25-02-2009, 10:55:49

yonef
Hello,

I've just considering to buy Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Modular PSU, I've read the review and noticed that the +12V Rail is running at almost 13V And droping to 12.3V. It wasn't mentionned in the review, but isn't it too HIGH!? I have a cheap psu wich doing 12.3V to 11.6V and I have s stability isues while gaming.

Can anyone confirm that this is HARMLESS to the hardware?

25-02-2009, 11:19:40

JN
Hi Yonef,

13v could indeed damage some fragile components that don't have their own power filterin. However something I probably should have mentioned in the review is that the 12.95v output was only seen at zero load - obviously something no PC will ever run at.

After completing the review Cooler Master did also inform me that they was making changes to the unit based on my findings and that retail models would not only have better voltage stability, but also a more firmly secured rubber gasket.

Hope that helps.

25-02-2009, 12:52:42

yonef
Thanks for the realy fast response, Jim.

So, when idleing my pc will cosume about 120W wich means that 12V rail will run at 12.7V, and on load should go to 12.3V wich is not so bad.

But you mean that the retailed units that are now in stores shoud differ from the one you tested? If so, how can I determine wich revision they gonna sell me?

I'm considering this one because I need realy quite PSU, and can't find anything else 650-700W range that quite.

25-02-2009, 16:38:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
Thanks for the realy fast response, Jim.

So, when idleing my pc will cosume about 120W wich means that 12V rail will run at 12.7V, and on load should go to 12.3V wich is not so bad.

But you mean that the retailed units that are now in stores shoud differ from the one you tested? If so, how can I determine wich revision they gonna sell me?

I'm considering this one because I need realy quite PSU, and can't find anything else 650-700W range that quite.
As far as I know, the version I tested never made it on to the shelves. All the issues were fixed before they went to retail.

I have seen reviews of the retail version from other respectable PSU testing websites and their results look much better than the ones I got.

I think the easiest way to tell between the version I received and the retail version is the use of glue in between the PSU and the vibration dampening gasket.

25-02-2009, 18:18:04

yonef
Yeah, I have found couple of other reviews wich they tested the retail version(the one with new gaskets) and the 12V rail seems OK, it did 12.1V to 12.4V across the full range of power output. Is this OK ?

So what is your opinion? should I go for this Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w?

I've found it for 82 wich is not so bad.

P.S. I'm just RMA-ing OCZ Stealth XStream 700W because it is hell noisy, I thing the fan spins on max rpm (I can hear it from outside the room ) And a low whistleing sound coming out when the PC is off.

26-02-2009, 05:15:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
Yeah, I have found couple of other reviews wich they tested the retail version(the one with new gaskets) and the 12V rail seems OK, it did 12.1V to 12.4V across the full range of power output. Is this OK ?

So what is your opinion? should I go for this Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w?

I've found it for 82 wich is not so bad.

P.S. I'm just RMA-ing OCZ Stealth XStream 700W because it is hell noisy, I thing the fan spins on max rpm (I can hear it from outside the room ) And a low whistleing sound coming out when the PC is off.
Are you looking specifically for modular/silent mate? Also what is your max budget? I think there are probably better PSU's out there for the price you are looking at.

26-02-2009, 05:45:25

yonef
I do not need to be modular, can go for non modular as well.

My budget is around 70-80, 600-700W range, and most important for me is to be quite. If it is possible to provide ~550W continiously, I'm not using that much right now but I want it to be future-proof.

If it helps, my specs:

AMD Phenom II 940 OC @ 3.6Ghz 1.45V

cooler: Zalman CNPS9700-NT

ATI Radeon 4870 OC @ 850/1100

2x HDD Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB

DVD-RW

2x LAN cards

27-02-2009, 09:32:16

yonef
any suggestions ?

27-02-2009, 10:14:38

Rastalovich

03-03-2009, 12:13:14

Ducky Spud
Good review Im after a modular PSU thats pretty quiet and that seems to look alright according to your review. Just need to save up a bit, dont really have a spare 90+ at the moment

10-03-2009, 17:04:41

Gerisz
Is it quieter than the Corsair HX620?

I would like to buy one of this, what are your opinions?

Have it's fan the clicking sound like in the youtube review?

I'm afraid of it!

Thanks!

10-03-2009, 17:21:00

Hatman
I have the 600watt modal and I can quite happily say that I cannot hear a thing from it : )

And thats running 4830xfire and 3.4quad.

11-03-2009, 07:14:12

Gerisz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
I have the 600watt modal and I can quite happily say that I cannot hear a thing from it : )

And thats running 4830xfire and 3.4quad.
I could buy the 700W in the same price like the 600W now. That's why I will chouse the bigger one!

Thanks for your answer!

I would like a 4830CF too, but with a Phenom II 940

11-03-2009, 08:02:18

HypoglossalXII
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
any suggestions ?
yonef, if you cannot wait for the revision of this PSU may I suggest the PC Power and Cooling SILENCER 700W PSU?

-HypoG

11-03-2009, 14:34:30

Gerisz
What kind of PSU would you buy in this price category?

Why get it 7.5point for performance?

Why get 9 point the 620HX? Why is it better?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.