Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Modular PSU

Internals & Cables

Internal Components
 
While the weight and size of a PSU can often give us a rough idea of how the unit is likely to perform, many manufacturers are now turning to newer and more efficient methods of manufacture, resulting in smaller and often lighter power supply units. However, by looking inside the Silent Pro we should be able to identify some of the components used and get a good feel for the overall build quality of the unit.
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Insides Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Insides
 
The insides of the Silent Pro are fairly tidy, with only a few stray wires leading to the modular backplane that haven't been grouped together. All components inside the unit are fairly low profile, giving the airflow produced by the 135mm fan plenty of room to  dissipate, resulting in less "hot-spots". As previously mentioned, the heatsinks used to cool the mosfets inside the unit use a combination of aluminium and copper. This hybrid approach gives maximum cooling performance as copper is known for its excellent heat transfer properties and aluminium for its superior heat dissipation.
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Caps Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Ferrite Coil
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Transformer Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Transformer
 
Two low-profile capacitors have been used inside the unit, which should offer cleaner voltages in comparison to the Real Power M700, which only featured a single capacitor. As we can see from the image top-left, the capacitors are rated to run at up to 85°C, but unfortunately we couldn't find any manufacturer markings to determine their origins.
 
Also pictured above are the two transformers used within the unit. In normal PSU configurations, the larger of the two transformers is used to power the +12v rails, while the smaller is often used for +3.3v and +5.0v rails.
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Fan Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Fan
 
The 135mm fan used inside the Silent Pro is manufactured by Yong Lin Tech and has a model number of DFS132512M. As we can see from the specifications below, the fan is able to push an impressive 82CFM through the PSU with a noise output of 37dB(A). Cooler Master undoubtedly chose such a powerful fan so that it could be run at lower speeds, thus producing an even better CFM-to-dB(A) ratio.
 
Make: Young Lin Tech
Model: DFS132512M
Rotation Speed: 2000RPM
Airflow: 82.41CFM
Noise: 37.98dB(A)
 
 
Cables & Connectors
 
The modular PSU has long been a subject for heated debate among PC enthusiasts. Many believe that adding extra plugs and connectors into the cabling system produces resistance, resulting in voltage drops and in some cases arcing. While others simply couldn't be without the greater tidiness and improved airflow that a modular PSU provides.
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Connectors Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Fixed Cable
 
The Silent Pro attempts to satisfy everybody by hardwiring the cables that are essential to the operation of every PC (ATX & EPS-12v) into the unit, while leaving the non-essential cables (PCI-E, Molex) as modular. Not only does this make sense in terms of functionality, but it also ensures that the motherboard receives the cleanest possible power.
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro Cables Cooler Master Silent Pro Cables
 
Cooler Master have made a departure from the sleeved cabling used by almost all other PSU manufacturers in favour of a moulded plastic, ribbon-style cable. Not only are these slimmer than the standard sleeved cable (especially when bundled together with a cable tie), but they are also extremely flexible and look very cool.
 
Now all Cooler Master need to do is provide them in a range of different colours for the case modders among us!
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro ATX Cooler Master Silent Pro EPS-12v
 
Cooler Master Silent Pro PCI-E Cooler Master Silent Pro PCI-E
 
Despite the Silent Pro being a new unit to the market, Cooler Master haven't forgotten about those of us who don't have the very latest cutting-edge (power-hungry) components. Support for both 20-Pin and 24-Pin ATX motherboards is included, along with an 8-Pin EPS-12v connector which can be split in half to support older 4-Pin P4-12v motherboards. Both PCI-E connectors are also native 8-Pin, but can be reduced down to the 6-Pin standard in the very same way.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-06-2008, 15:20:53

JN
"With a powerful single +12v rail and Silicone vibration dampening, can the Silent Pro be the best of both worlds?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214535437s.jpg

Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Review

13-06-2008, 15:43:30

Kerotan
Nice review mate- interesting idea with the gaskets- sure should reduce some noise, but if you're mounting a normal PSU in cases where it's at the bottom like a 900 there are rubber pads which do a pretty good job of dissipating excess vibration. I'm just hoping PSU requirements for the 4870 won't be over 520W tbh, don't fancy replacing my HX520 just yet.

13-06-2008, 17:16:27

MikeEnIke
Nice write-up and not a bad PSU especially like the silent aspect. Good work Jimbo

14-06-2008, 03:01:24

Rastalovich
Decent, modular and silent. Some excellent attributes.

(U know I`d love to be able to do a search of OC3D reviews, with the options of the awards given to each review. e.g. Silence award.. and all the silent awarded stuff comes up, likewize performance, value.. etc)

14-06-2008, 13:56:23

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Decent, modular and silent. Some excellent attributes.

(U know I`d love to be able to do a search of OC3D reviews, with the options of the awards given to each review. e.g. Silence award.. and all the silent awarded stuff comes up, likewize performance, value.. etc)
That's an awesome idea, we'll have to pass that around to Jim see if he feels like working

15-06-2008, 06:28:31

mrapoc
Like my suggestion here? lol

23-06-2008, 14:31:57

Nick R
And mine, albeit posted after this was posted, here: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=23280.

Looks like a pretty solid PSU.

25-02-2009, 10:55:49

yonef
Hello,

I've just considering to buy Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Modular PSU, I've read the review and noticed that the +12V Rail is running at almost 13V And droping to 12.3V. It wasn't mentionned in the review, but isn't it too HIGH!? I have a cheap psu wich doing 12.3V to 11.6V and I have s stability isues while gaming.

Can anyone confirm that this is HARMLESS to the hardware?

25-02-2009, 11:19:40

JN
Hi Yonef,

13v could indeed damage some fragile components that don't have their own power filterin. However something I probably should have mentioned in the review is that the 12.95v output was only seen at zero load - obviously something no PC will ever run at.

After completing the review Cooler Master did also inform me that they was making changes to the unit based on my findings and that retail models would not only have better voltage stability, but also a more firmly secured rubber gasket.

Hope that helps.

25-02-2009, 12:52:42

yonef
Thanks for the realy fast response, Jim.

So, when idleing my pc will cosume about 120W wich means that 12V rail will run at 12.7V, and on load should go to 12.3V wich is not so bad.

But you mean that the retailed units that are now in stores shoud differ from the one you tested? If so, how can I determine wich revision they gonna sell me?

I'm considering this one because I need realy quite PSU, and can't find anything else 650-700W range that quite.

25-02-2009, 16:38:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
Thanks for the realy fast response, Jim.

So, when idleing my pc will cosume about 120W wich means that 12V rail will run at 12.7V, and on load should go to 12.3V wich is not so bad.

But you mean that the retailed units that are now in stores shoud differ from the one you tested? If so, how can I determine wich revision they gonna sell me?

I'm considering this one because I need realy quite PSU, and can't find anything else 650-700W range that quite.
As far as I know, the version I tested never made it on to the shelves. All the issues were fixed before they went to retail.

I have seen reviews of the retail version from other respectable PSU testing websites and their results look much better than the ones I got.

I think the easiest way to tell between the version I received and the retail version is the use of glue in between the PSU and the vibration dampening gasket.

25-02-2009, 18:18:04

yonef
Yeah, I have found couple of other reviews wich they tested the retail version(the one with new gaskets) and the 12V rail seems OK, it did 12.1V to 12.4V across the full range of power output. Is this OK ?

So what is your opinion? should I go for this Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w?

I've found it for 82 wich is not so bad.

P.S. I'm just RMA-ing OCZ Stealth XStream 700W because it is hell noisy, I thing the fan spins on max rpm (I can hear it from outside the room ) And a low whistleing sound coming out when the PC is off.

26-02-2009, 05:15:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
Yeah, I have found couple of other reviews wich they tested the retail version(the one with new gaskets) and the 12V rail seems OK, it did 12.1V to 12.4V across the full range of power output. Is this OK ?

So what is your opinion? should I go for this Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w?

I've found it for 82 wich is not so bad.

P.S. I'm just RMA-ing OCZ Stealth XStream 700W because it is hell noisy, I thing the fan spins on max rpm (I can hear it from outside the room ) And a low whistleing sound coming out when the PC is off.
Are you looking specifically for modular/silent mate? Also what is your max budget? I think there are probably better PSU's out there for the price you are looking at.

26-02-2009, 05:45:25

yonef
I do not need to be modular, can go for non modular as well.

My budget is around 70-80, 600-700W range, and most important for me is to be quite. If it is possible to provide ~550W continiously, I'm not using that much right now but I want it to be future-proof.

If it helps, my specs:

AMD Phenom II 940 OC @ 3.6Ghz 1.45V

cooler: Zalman CNPS9700-NT

ATI Radeon 4870 OC @ 850/1100

2x HDD Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB

DVD-RW

2x LAN cards

27-02-2009, 09:32:16

yonef
any suggestions ?

27-02-2009, 10:14:38

Rastalovich

03-03-2009, 12:13:14

Ducky Spud
Good review Im after a modular PSU thats pretty quiet and that seems to look alright according to your review. Just need to save up a bit, dont really have a spare 90+ at the moment

10-03-2009, 17:04:41

Gerisz
Is it quieter than the Corsair HX620?

I would like to buy one of this, what are your opinions?

Have it's fan the clicking sound like in the youtube review?

I'm afraid of it!

Thanks!

10-03-2009, 17:21:00

Hatman
I have the 600watt modal and I can quite happily say that I cannot hear a thing from it : )

And thats running 4830xfire and 3.4quad.

11-03-2009, 07:14:12

Gerisz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
I have the 600watt modal and I can quite happily say that I cannot hear a thing from it : )

And thats running 4830xfire and 3.4quad.
I could buy the 700W in the same price like the 600W now. That's why I will chouse the bigger one!

Thanks for your answer!

I would like a 4830CF too, but with a Phenom II 940

11-03-2009, 08:02:18

HypoglossalXII
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
any suggestions ?
yonef, if you cannot wait for the revision of this PSU may I suggest the PC Power and Cooling SILENCER 700W PSU?

-HypoG

11-03-2009, 14:34:30

Gerisz
What kind of PSU would you buy in this price category?

Why get it 7.5point for performance?

Why get 9 point the 620HX? Why is it better?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.