Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Modular PSU

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction & Specifications
 
Cooler Master LogoAs most of the silent PC enthusiast crowd will tell you, total silence is one of those things which can never quite be achieved. Even after going to extraordinary lengths to isolate Hard Disks, Fans and other devices from rattling your fully sound-proofed case, there is always one device that simply cannot be silenced in the same way as the rest - the PSU. Many manufacturers have already realized this and have designed their Power Supplies to be as kind on the ears as possible. However, PSU designs that incorporate features such as water cooling or passive cooling all have their downfalls, either transferring heat to another location where it needs to be cooled, or simply not packing quite enough punch to power the modern PC.
 
For this reason, most PSU manufacturers seem to have steered clear of these flawed cooling methods, instead concentrating their efforts on fan-based cooling with the lowest possible noise output. Cooler Master is one of these companies, and with an already good lineup of relatively silent PSU's coupled with beastly power outputs (such as the Real Power Pro M1000 and M1200), they now have their sights firmly set on reducing PSU noise even further in the recently announced Silent Pro series.
 
Silent Pro 700w Specs ListFeature List

1. Modularized cable design to eliminate clutter and improve airflow inside the chassis

2. Two 6+2 pin PCI-e connectors are compatible with future graphic card upgradeability

3. Eco-design for energy and money saving by 80Plus design (>85% efficiency)
4. Single +12V rail provides more power for over-clocking users
5. Compliance with Intel standard ATX 12V V2.3
6. Green power design to meet energy star and blue angel and RoHS requirements
4. Super silent operation with intelligent 135mm fan speed control
6. Multiple protections provide full-scale protections for your components (OVP/OCP/OPP/OTP/SCP)
7. High Power Density (150*150*86 mm)
8. High reliability (MTBF > 100,000 hrs)
9. Copper + Aluminum heat sink design
10. Flat cable design for better cable arrangement
11. Japanese Made Capacitor
12. Silicon rubber Pad
 
 
 
 
As the specifications above show, Cooler Master has tackled the problem of noise inside Silent Pro 700w unit we're reviewing today in four main ways: a 135mm fan with intelligent speed control, Silicone rubber gaskets to prevent vibrations transferring to the PC enclosure, effective removal of heat from the PSU mosfets (using a combination of copper and aluminium in the heatsink construction), and an overall high level of efficiency of 85%+. A lot of these methods have been used on PSU's in the past, but this is the first time any of us here at OC3D have seen all of these methods combined into a single unit.
 
Silent Pro 700w Rail Specs
 
Cooler Master have also taken us by surprise by opting for a single +12v rail capable of delivering an impressive 50 amps. This is a big step away from the recently reviewed Real Power M700 and Real Power Pro M1000 units that featured four and six +12v rails respectively, with each being rated between 18-19amps.
 
While Single- vs Multi-rail has always been hot topic for debate among PSU gurus, the single-rail configuration has always been a favourite for overclockers who prefer to have all their power readily available on a single rail. This avoids situations where one +12v rail is under heavy load from power-hungry devices such as an SLI/Crossfire graphics card setup, while the remaining rails are barely being utilized.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-06-2008, 15:20:53

JN
"With a powerful single +12v rail and Silicone vibration dampening, can the Silent Pro be the best of both worlds?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214535437s.jpg

Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Review

13-06-2008, 15:43:30

Kerotan
Nice review mate- interesting idea with the gaskets- sure should reduce some noise, but if you're mounting a normal PSU in cases where it's at the bottom like a 900 there are rubber pads which do a pretty good job of dissipating excess vibration. I'm just hoping PSU requirements for the 4870 won't be over 520W tbh, don't fancy replacing my HX520 just yet.

13-06-2008, 17:16:27

MikeEnIke
Nice write-up and not a bad PSU especially like the silent aspect. Good work Jimbo

14-06-2008, 03:01:24

Rastalovich
Decent, modular and silent. Some excellent attributes.

(U know I`d love to be able to do a search of OC3D reviews, with the options of the awards given to each review. e.g. Silence award.. and all the silent awarded stuff comes up, likewize performance, value.. etc)

14-06-2008, 13:56:23

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Decent, modular and silent. Some excellent attributes.

(U know I`d love to be able to do a search of OC3D reviews, with the options of the awards given to each review. e.g. Silence award.. and all the silent awarded stuff comes up, likewize performance, value.. etc)
That's an awesome idea, we'll have to pass that around to Jim see if he feels like working

15-06-2008, 06:28:31

mrapoc
Like my suggestion here? lol

23-06-2008, 14:31:57

Nick R
And mine, albeit posted after this was posted, here: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=23280.

Looks like a pretty solid PSU.

25-02-2009, 10:55:49

yonef
Hello,

I've just considering to buy Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w Modular PSU, I've read the review and noticed that the +12V Rail is running at almost 13V And droping to 12.3V. It wasn't mentionned in the review, but isn't it too HIGH!? I have a cheap psu wich doing 12.3V to 11.6V and I have s stability isues while gaming.

Can anyone confirm that this is HARMLESS to the hardware?

25-02-2009, 11:19:40

JN
Hi Yonef,

13v could indeed damage some fragile components that don't have their own power filterin. However something I probably should have mentioned in the review is that the 12.95v output was only seen at zero load - obviously something no PC will ever run at.

After completing the review Cooler Master did also inform me that they was making changes to the unit based on my findings and that retail models would not only have better voltage stability, but also a more firmly secured rubber gasket.

Hope that helps.

25-02-2009, 12:52:42

yonef
Thanks for the realy fast response, Jim.

So, when idleing my pc will cosume about 120W wich means that 12V rail will run at 12.7V, and on load should go to 12.3V wich is not so bad.

But you mean that the retailed units that are now in stores shoud differ from the one you tested? If so, how can I determine wich revision they gonna sell me?

I'm considering this one because I need realy quite PSU, and can't find anything else 650-700W range that quite.

25-02-2009, 16:38:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
Thanks for the realy fast response, Jim.

So, when idleing my pc will cosume about 120W wich means that 12V rail will run at 12.7V, and on load should go to 12.3V wich is not so bad.

But you mean that the retailed units that are now in stores shoud differ from the one you tested? If so, how can I determine wich revision they gonna sell me?

I'm considering this one because I need realy quite PSU, and can't find anything else 650-700W range that quite.
As far as I know, the version I tested never made it on to the shelves. All the issues were fixed before they went to retail.

I have seen reviews of the retail version from other respectable PSU testing websites and their results look much better than the ones I got.

I think the easiest way to tell between the version I received and the retail version is the use of glue in between the PSU and the vibration dampening gasket.

25-02-2009, 18:18:04

yonef
Yeah, I have found couple of other reviews wich they tested the retail version(the one with new gaskets) and the 12V rail seems OK, it did 12.1V to 12.4V across the full range of power output. Is this OK ?

So what is your opinion? should I go for this Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w?

I've found it for 82 wich is not so bad.

P.S. I'm just RMA-ing OCZ Stealth XStream 700W because it is hell noisy, I thing the fan spins on max rpm (I can hear it from outside the room ) And a low whistleing sound coming out when the PC is off.

26-02-2009, 05:15:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
Yeah, I have found couple of other reviews wich they tested the retail version(the one with new gaskets) and the 12V rail seems OK, it did 12.1V to 12.4V across the full range of power output. Is this OK ?

So what is your opinion? should I go for this Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w?

I've found it for 82 wich is not so bad.

P.S. I'm just RMA-ing OCZ Stealth XStream 700W because it is hell noisy, I thing the fan spins on max rpm (I can hear it from outside the room ) And a low whistleing sound coming out when the PC is off.
Are you looking specifically for modular/silent mate? Also what is your max budget? I think there are probably better PSU's out there for the price you are looking at.

26-02-2009, 05:45:25

yonef
I do not need to be modular, can go for non modular as well.

My budget is around 70-80, 600-700W range, and most important for me is to be quite. If it is possible to provide ~550W continiously, I'm not using that much right now but I want it to be future-proof.

If it helps, my specs:

AMD Phenom II 940 OC @ 3.6Ghz 1.45V

cooler: Zalman CNPS9700-NT

ATI Radeon 4870 OC @ 850/1100

2x HDD Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB

DVD-RW

2x LAN cards

27-02-2009, 09:32:16

yonef
any suggestions ?

27-02-2009, 10:14:38

Rastalovich

03-03-2009, 12:13:14

Ducky Spud
Good review Im after a modular PSU thats pretty quiet and that seems to look alright according to your review. Just need to save up a bit, dont really have a spare 90+ at the moment

10-03-2009, 17:04:41

Gerisz
Is it quieter than the Corsair HX620?

I would like to buy one of this, what are your opinions?

Have it's fan the clicking sound like in the youtube review?

I'm afraid of it!

Thanks!

10-03-2009, 17:21:00

Hatman
I have the 600watt modal and I can quite happily say that I cannot hear a thing from it : )

And thats running 4830xfire and 3.4quad.

11-03-2009, 07:14:12

Gerisz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
I have the 600watt modal and I can quite happily say that I cannot hear a thing from it : )

And thats running 4830xfire and 3.4quad.
I could buy the 700W in the same price like the 600W now. That's why I will chouse the bigger one!

Thanks for your answer!

I would like a 4830CF too, but with a Phenom II 940

11-03-2009, 08:02:18

HypoglossalXII
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='yonef'
any suggestions ?
yonef, if you cannot wait for the revision of this PSU may I suggest the PC Power and Cooling SILENCER 700W PSU?

-HypoG

11-03-2009, 14:34:30

Gerisz
What kind of PSU would you buy in this price category?

Why get it 7.5point for performance?

Why get 9 point the 620HX? Why is it better?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.