ASUS U-75HA 750w ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

ASUS U-75HAAs ASUS' first entry into the PSU market we had high hopes that they was going to bring something new and unique to the table. After all, ASUS is a name that most enthusiasts will associate with high-end radically designed motherboards with extreme performance and more gadgets than you can shake a stick at. Unfortunately ASUS let us down.

While the U-75HA is certainly not a bad PSU by any means, it's hard to describe it as anything more than 'average' - a proverbial plain Jane of the PSU world. It almost feels like ASUS went shopping one day, picked a PSU from the shelf and decided to re-brand it as their own. There really is no 'ASUS' as we know it in the U-75HA, no sign that anybody has actually given any though to how the age-old PSU design used by so many manufacturers could be improved upon, and unfortunately as a result the U-75HA is likely to find it very hard to gain a foothold in an already saturated market.

However, while the U-75HA may not quite have lived up to our expectations it certainly doesn't mean that the power supply should be shunned by those of us who are looking for a no nonsense 750w unit that simply gets the job done. Load voltages were good all the way up to 75% and efficiency came within a whisker of 86% when under 429w load. Only when we pressed it to it's limits did the U-75HA show signs of strain with the +3.3v rail dropping to 3.1v and the +12v3/4 rails dipping 11.70v. While we couldn't get any official noise measurements for the unit due to the noise emitted from our SM-268+ load tester, the U-75HA remained cool throughout the tests and as a result only needed to increase the fan speed slightly.

At present there are no stores in the UK listing the U-75HA; making it impossible to work out where ASUS have positioned the U-75HA price-wise in the market. However, when this information becomes available to us the scoring chart below will be updated.

The Good
- Cool running even at 100% load.
- Up to 86% efficiency.

The Mediocre
- Reasonable stability up to 75% load.

The Bad
- 3.3v rail falls outside of ATX spec at 100% load.
- Nothing to separate the U-75HA from any other standard PSU on the market.



Thanks to ASUS for providing the U-75HA for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-01-2009, 14:24:03

JN
"ASUS made their entrance into the PSU market with the U-75HA. But has it got the goods to stand out from the rest of the crowd?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212703361s.jpg

ASUS U-75HA 750w ATX PSU

24-01-2009, 15:35:15

Diablo
So this fails at 100% load (outside the ATX standards which lets face it are pretty lax) on the 3.3V rail and the 12V is down a long way too. I wouldn't use it with my rig (even if it provided enough power, but you get the point). In my books, Asus should have put it at 700W or so to ensure it didn't go outside the ATX standards. In addition, its dissapointing to see a no name fan and 85C capacitors.

All in all a bit of a dissapointing product. I'm not sure it deserves the 7.5 performance really.

Still nicely presented and great review, nice to see temperature readings and finally have a look at the PSU tester.

24-01-2009, 15:50:55

VonBlade
Asus are an odd company. Their hardware is usually brilliant, their software less so. They've done well to build up a loyal fanbase but seem to be hoping to work on name value alone with this. Strange.

Great to see the new bit of kit put to good use. Power supplies are something people tend to overlook when buying hardcore hardware, even though it's the heart of the machine, so to get some serious numbers is fantastic!

VB

24-01-2009, 15:58:34

Diablo
It seems that this one would be one to avoid, just on the 3.3V line and 11.70V. The PSU is the thing that can cost the most if it goes wrong, so why skimp on it?

24-01-2009, 19:36:15

soapsupah
first when i saw this review i said to myself: "wow, asus making psu's now? must be pretty good" but after reading i take that back with all i could

like Diablo said, it should be 700W so it wount failt at 100% since it couldn't take the atx standards.

Also when i read DELTA i said: "god there's a delta as psu fan ", but it wasn't so i had to take back again (at least it was running cool even with that "unkown" fan), and im getting full of taking back everytime i read a phrase . So i stayed quiet and finished reading without saying anything (and it was hard, belive me .

after i readed it all, i can say that if it's not alot cheaper (half at minimum) of the price of a corsair 620, its not a good idea buying it, at least for me.

ops forgot (edit time)

great review Jim pretty objective, you told us about every thing in every spot of this psu, sadly it isnt an awesome one but thats asus fault lol.

24-01-2009, 21:21:04

Skiddywinks
Christ, you guys sure do plan on being the most thorough PSU reviewers ever, don't you!

Not that I am complaining of course; I really look forward to seeing some of the data/results!

25-01-2009, 04:21:09

FarFarAway
Fantastic review Jombo, shame that the PSU can't quite stand up to the pain

25-01-2009, 09:28:25

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Skiddywinks'
Christ, you guys sure do plan on being the most thorough PSU reviewers ever, don't you!

Not that I am complaining of course; I really look forward to seeing some of the data/results!
Jim's got the kit to put them to their claims.

U don't get these kind of reviews anywhere else afaik, and it is good to know that it may fail to hold a volt at 100% load. That is if u plan on running ur pc @ 727w+ for long periods. Chances are many wouldn't, even high spec'd sli/xfire rigs don't burst over 600w. To that extent, u'd buy it and have no complaints I'd expect.

If the price is a good one and u appreciate giving ur rig an overhead, u would probably do well with the U-75HA.

However, I don't see the price being a good one, and as the great review says, it's not exactly a unique psu.

Wonder who might make it for them, it looks pretty bland. A flashy ASUS logo splashed on it might add to sales just for the heck of it - maybe even a kinky fan feature or summit.

Great stuff.

25-01-2009, 09:53:02

Diablo
I'm a bit dissapointed, its no modular, so you have a rats nest in your pc and if you do have a high power system (mine for instance) you can easily eat up 750W no probs.

25-01-2009, 15:15:40

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys

TBH I was REALLY hoping that ASUS might use their Republic of Gamers brand on the PSU. Something sexy and modular in black + red/blue using well over-spec'd components etc...you know the deal.

I just cant see the idea behind entering the PSU market with something thats even more bland than a lot of the competition and doesn't even really have the stability to keep up with the big boys either.

26-01-2009, 04:15:06

-VK-
Nice review Jim.

I think what needs to be remembered, is that it's ASUS' first step into the PSU market...very few people get it right first time.

It might not be the best PSU, but it's certainly not a bad one...it'll be interesting to see what the next generation of PSU's is like.

-VK-

15-04-2011, 12:50:06

TheLaw
Umm....I'd like to make a correction. You say that CapXon is by no means a cheap brand, well...it is. CapXon is utter crap. It's used widely BECAUSE IT IS CHEAP. The only companies considered to be very good quality are: Nippon Chemi-Con, Nichicon, Rubycon, Panasonic (Matsushita), Sanyo, Elna, Mallory/ Cornell Dubilier.

Teapo is meh, and typically do alright in Power supplies. Samxon is pretty good, and it's either hit or miss. Most of the time they do very well. CapXon is crap though. They are close to Fuhjyyu.

For a list of bad capacitors, please refer to this: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=388

For a list of good capacitors, please refer to this: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=414
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.