ASUS U-75HA 750w ATX PSU

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance

When it comes to the packaging of products such as motherboards and graphics cards, ASUS are well known for their elaborately large boxes often printed with tasteful graphics and extravagant accessory bundles. However, for the U-75HA things are a little more down-to-earth with a rather average sized box that has no hidden flaps or windowed panels and a fairly basic, yet professional looking blue, green and white colour scheme.

ASUS Vento 750w Box ASUS Vento 750w Box

Unfortunately, ASUS seems to have taken things a little too far in the cost saving category, with the PSU being described in large white writing as "750w / 650w". Well what is it, 750w or 650w? It's not until you view the side of the box where ASUS have placed a small circular sticker over the 750w tickbox that you actually have any idea of what you might be purchasing.

ASUS Vento 750w Box Back
ASUS Vento 750w Box Side
 
Moving round to the back of the box we can see that ASUS have printed a specifications table similar to that seen on page one of our review. Also included are the specs of the 650w model which has slightly lower output across all of its rails in comparison to the 750w model. A general specification header also provides a short list of features common to both models.

ASUS Vento 750w Box Open ASUS Vento 750w Contents
 
To protect the PSU during shipping ASUS has sandwiched the U-75HA between two cardboard backed styrofoam inserts and placed it in a clear plastic bag. This, combined with the additional protection from the cable bundle and accessories box should ensure that the the unit reaches you in perfect condition even at the hands of a particularly rough courier. Also included in the box is a mains cable, bag of screws and some ASUS branded velcro strips.

ASUS Vento 750w Side View ASUS Vento 750w Rear View
 
Removing the unit from it's packaging we can see that ASUS have gone for a fairly standard design. The finish on the unit is a powdercoat paint in a slightly off-black colour that feels quite rugged. At the rear of the unit is a honeycomb mesh along with a rather large power switch that gives a really reassuring click compared to the tiny electronics project ones you see used by a lot of manufacturers. At the top - or bottom- of the unit (depending on what kind of PC case you have) is a large 135mm fan covered with a gold wire fan grill sporting the Vento logo. It is worth noting that the 650w model only features a 120mm fan and as such, will look slightly different to the 750w model.

ASUS Vento 750w Side View ASUS Vento 750w Rear View

Moving round to the side of the unit we come to the obligatory specification sticker. As per usual, this sticker provides a rail output table along with the usual warning about how you will meet your shocking demise should you open the PSU cover.  Aside from the sticker there really is very little else to talk about in all honesty. No vents, embossed ASUS logo's or other custom designs. Just a plain Jane black box.

Lets move on now and take a look inside the belly of the beast...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-01-2009, 14:24:03

JN
"ASUS made their entrance into the PSU market with the U-75HA. But has it got the goods to stand out from the rest of the crowd?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212703361s.jpg

ASUS U-75HA 750w ATX PSU

24-01-2009, 15:35:15

Diablo
So this fails at 100% load (outside the ATX standards which lets face it are pretty lax) on the 3.3V rail and the 12V is down a long way too. I wouldn't use it with my rig (even if it provided enough power, but you get the point). In my books, Asus should have put it at 700W or so to ensure it didn't go outside the ATX standards. In addition, its dissapointing to see a no name fan and 85C capacitors.

All in all a bit of a dissapointing product. I'm not sure it deserves the 7.5 performance really.

Still nicely presented and great review, nice to see temperature readings and finally have a look at the PSU tester.

24-01-2009, 15:50:55

VonBlade
Asus are an odd company. Their hardware is usually brilliant, their software less so. They've done well to build up a loyal fanbase but seem to be hoping to work on name value alone with this. Strange.

Great to see the new bit of kit put to good use. Power supplies are something people tend to overlook when buying hardcore hardware, even though it's the heart of the machine, so to get some serious numbers is fantastic!

VB

24-01-2009, 15:58:34

Diablo
It seems that this one would be one to avoid, just on the 3.3V line and 11.70V. The PSU is the thing that can cost the most if it goes wrong, so why skimp on it?

24-01-2009, 19:36:15

soapsupah
first when i saw this review i said to myself: "wow, asus making psu's now? must be pretty good" but after reading i take that back with all i could

like Diablo said, it should be 700W so it wount failt at 100% since it couldn't take the atx standards.

Also when i read DELTA i said: "god there's a delta as psu fan ", but it wasn't so i had to take back again (at least it was running cool even with that "unkown" fan), and im getting full of taking back everytime i read a phrase . So i stayed quiet and finished reading without saying anything (and it was hard, belive me .

after i readed it all, i can say that if it's not alot cheaper (half at minimum) of the price of a corsair 620, its not a good idea buying it, at least for me.

ops forgot (edit time)

great review Jim pretty objective, you told us about every thing in every spot of this psu, sadly it isnt an awesome one but thats asus fault lol.

24-01-2009, 21:21:04

Skiddywinks
Christ, you guys sure do plan on being the most thorough PSU reviewers ever, don't you!

Not that I am complaining of course; I really look forward to seeing some of the data/results!

25-01-2009, 04:21:09

FarFarAway
Fantastic review Jombo, shame that the PSU can't quite stand up to the pain

25-01-2009, 09:28:25

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Skiddywinks'
Christ, you guys sure do plan on being the most thorough PSU reviewers ever, don't you!

Not that I am complaining of course; I really look forward to seeing some of the data/results!
Jim's got the kit to put them to their claims.

U don't get these kind of reviews anywhere else afaik, and it is good to know that it may fail to hold a volt at 100% load. That is if u plan on running ur pc @ 727w+ for long periods. Chances are many wouldn't, even high spec'd sli/xfire rigs don't burst over 600w. To that extent, u'd buy it and have no complaints I'd expect.

If the price is a good one and u appreciate giving ur rig an overhead, u would probably do well with the U-75HA.

However, I don't see the price being a good one, and as the great review says, it's not exactly a unique psu.

Wonder who might make it for them, it looks pretty bland. A flashy ASUS logo splashed on it might add to sales just for the heck of it - maybe even a kinky fan feature or summit.

Great stuff.

25-01-2009, 09:53:02

Diablo
I'm a bit dissapointed, its no modular, so you have a rats nest in your pc and if you do have a high power system (mine for instance) you can easily eat up 750W no probs.

25-01-2009, 15:15:40

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys

TBH I was REALLY hoping that ASUS might use their Republic of Gamers brand on the PSU. Something sexy and modular in black + red/blue using well over-spec'd components etc...you know the deal.

I just cant see the idea behind entering the PSU market with something thats even more bland than a lot of the competition and doesn't even really have the stability to keep up with the big boys either.

26-01-2009, 04:15:06

-VK-
Nice review Jim.

I think what needs to be remembered, is that it's ASUS' first step into the PSU market...very few people get it right first time.

It might not be the best PSU, but it's certainly not a bad one...it'll be interesting to see what the next generation of PSU's is like.

-VK-

15-04-2011, 12:50:06

TheLaw
Umm....I'd like to make a correction. You say that CapXon is by no means a cheap brand, well...it is. CapXon is utter crap. It's used widely BECAUSE IT IS CHEAP. The only companies considered to be very good quality are: Nippon Chemi-Con, Nichicon, Rubycon, Panasonic (Matsushita), Sanyo, Elna, Mallory/ Cornell Dubilier.

Teapo is meh, and typically do alright in Power supplies. Samxon is pretty good, and it's either hit or miss. Most of the time they do very well. CapXon is crap though. They are close to Fuhjyyu.

For a list of bad capacitors, please refer to this: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=388

For a list of good capacitors, please refer to this: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=414
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.