ASUS U-75HA 750w ATX PSU

Introduction

Introduction

ASUSIndisputably one of the largest manufacturers in the PC enthusiast industry, ASUS is a name that almost everyone will recognise for their wide range of motherboards, graphics cards, CPU coolers and innovations such as the affordable EeePC netbook. However, while ASUS' exploration into new markets has never really come as much of a surprise to us here at Overclock3D, when we recently got wind that they were planning on releasing their own range of PSU's our jaws literally hit the floor.

But why the reaction? Well, over the past few years there has been an undeniable increase in companies that have absolutely no previous experience in the PSU market jumping on the bandwagon. This has resulted in the market being flooded with PSU's, most of which are made in the same factories and all are fighting for a place on retailers shelves. Of course this isn't necessarily bad for the consumer as more competition often results in price wars and many bargains to be had, but from the side of the manufacturer such competition in an extremely crowded market can be crippling.

Of course, maybe I'm jumping the gun here. After all both OCZ and Corsair went from little more than a memory manufacturers to being some of the most preferred PSU manufacturers (in the UK at least) overnight. It's totally possible that a large name such as ASUS could do exactly the same. So with an open mind, let's take a look at the specifications listed on ASUS' website:

U-75HA
Equipped with four +12V rails, the U-75HA provides enhanced stability. Additionally, the U-75HA is certified with the 80 PLUS specification for great energy efficiency.

Energy-efficient
Certified with 80 PLUS specification (up to 86% efficiency)
Active PFC delivers environmentally friendly power with a high power factor (PF) of up to 99%

Stability
Accurate power rating delivers its full rated power
ATX12V Ver. 2.3 compliant-real four 12V rails provide stable support for high-end graphic cards
Dedicated power circuitry: delivers reliable output to delicate components

Ventilation
13.5 cm ball-bearing fan with auto thermal acoustics noise control
Cable sleeve improves internal airflow within the system.
Hexagon venting holes for efficient heat dissipation

Expandability
Provides both 6-pin and 8-pin PCI-Express connectors for future upgrade to graphic cards
Rich expandability with 6 SATA, 6 peripherals, 2 FDD, 4 PCI-E and 1 EPS connectors
EPS connector provided for dual CPU usage

Safety
Certified with CUS, Nemko, CE, BSMI, TUV, FCC, C-TICK
Protection: OVP, SCP, OCP, NLO, OTP, UVP, OPP

Model No.

Input Range

Output Voltage

Total Output

Input Voltage Range

Input Frequency Range

 

+3.3V

+5V

+12V1

+12V2

+12V3

+12V4

-12V

+5VSB

U-75HA

100~240Vac

47~63Hz

Max. Load

30A

30A

18A

18A

18A

18A

0.6A

3.5A

750W

Max. Output

160W

648W

7.2W

17.5W

727.8W


ASUS Specs

Starting with the basics, the U-75HA is certified as an 80Plus efficiency unit with ASUS claiming levels as high as 86%. Under the new 80Plus rating system this effectively certifies the unit as an 80Plus Bronze PSU, with Silver certification just 2% out of its reach (providing the unit can deliver its 86% efficiency at 50% load).

As the specification table above shows, the U-75HA features four +12v rails rated at 18a each with a maximum load of 648w (54a). This realistically brings the maximum output of each rail down to 13.5a if each rail were to be equally loaded at the same time (as we will be doing during the testing). Interestingly the ASUS website calls these rails "real four 12V rails" which by our definition is highly unlikely as it would require four separate 12v transformers. More realistically the U-75HA has one 12v transformer that is 'virtually' split into four with over current protection kicking in at 18a on each of the' virtual' rails.

The other main rails: +3.3v and +5v  are both rated at 30a each with a maximum load across both rails of 160w. Although the technique for calculating the amperage output of each rail is not quite as simple as the +12v rails as there are two different voltages to contend with (+3.3v & +5v) , heavily loading the PSU in either direction still leaves a reasonable amount of power for the other rail.

Now let's move on to the unboxing of the U-75HA and its external appearance.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-01-2009, 14:24:03

JN
"ASUS made their entrance into the PSU market with the U-75HA. But has it got the goods to stand out from the rest of the crowd?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212703361s.jpg

ASUS U-75HA 750w ATX PSU

24-01-2009, 15:35:15

Diablo
So this fails at 100% load (outside the ATX standards which lets face it are pretty lax) on the 3.3V rail and the 12V is down a long way too. I wouldn't use it with my rig (even if it provided enough power, but you get the point). In my books, Asus should have put it at 700W or so to ensure it didn't go outside the ATX standards. In addition, its dissapointing to see a no name fan and 85C capacitors.

All in all a bit of a dissapointing product. I'm not sure it deserves the 7.5 performance really.

Still nicely presented and great review, nice to see temperature readings and finally have a look at the PSU tester.

24-01-2009, 15:50:55

VonBlade
Asus are an odd company. Their hardware is usually brilliant, their software less so. They've done well to build up a loyal fanbase but seem to be hoping to work on name value alone with this. Strange.

Great to see the new bit of kit put to good use. Power supplies are something people tend to overlook when buying hardcore hardware, even though it's the heart of the machine, so to get some serious numbers is fantastic!

VB

24-01-2009, 15:58:34

Diablo
It seems that this one would be one to avoid, just on the 3.3V line and 11.70V. The PSU is the thing that can cost the most if it goes wrong, so why skimp on it?

24-01-2009, 19:36:15

soapsupah
first when i saw this review i said to myself: "wow, asus making psu's now? must be pretty good" but after reading i take that back with all i could

like Diablo said, it should be 700W so it wount failt at 100% since it couldn't take the atx standards.

Also when i read DELTA i said: "god there's a delta as psu fan ", but it wasn't so i had to take back again (at least it was running cool even with that "unkown" fan), and im getting full of taking back everytime i read a phrase . So i stayed quiet and finished reading without saying anything (and it was hard, belive me .

after i readed it all, i can say that if it's not alot cheaper (half at minimum) of the price of a corsair 620, its not a good idea buying it, at least for me.

ops forgot (edit time)

great review Jim pretty objective, you told us about every thing in every spot of this psu, sadly it isnt an awesome one but thats asus fault lol.

24-01-2009, 21:21:04

Skiddywinks
Christ, you guys sure do plan on being the most thorough PSU reviewers ever, don't you!

Not that I am complaining of course; I really look forward to seeing some of the data/results!

25-01-2009, 04:21:09

FarFarAway
Fantastic review Jombo, shame that the PSU can't quite stand up to the pain

25-01-2009, 09:28:25

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Skiddywinks'
Christ, you guys sure do plan on being the most thorough PSU reviewers ever, don't you!

Not that I am complaining of course; I really look forward to seeing some of the data/results!
Jim's got the kit to put them to their claims.

U don't get these kind of reviews anywhere else afaik, and it is good to know that it may fail to hold a volt at 100% load. That is if u plan on running ur pc @ 727w+ for long periods. Chances are many wouldn't, even high spec'd sli/xfire rigs don't burst over 600w. To that extent, u'd buy it and have no complaints I'd expect.

If the price is a good one and u appreciate giving ur rig an overhead, u would probably do well with the U-75HA.

However, I don't see the price being a good one, and as the great review says, it's not exactly a unique psu.

Wonder who might make it for them, it looks pretty bland. A flashy ASUS logo splashed on it might add to sales just for the heck of it - maybe even a kinky fan feature or summit.

Great stuff.

25-01-2009, 09:53:02

Diablo
I'm a bit dissapointed, its no modular, so you have a rats nest in your pc and if you do have a high power system (mine for instance) you can easily eat up 750W no probs.

25-01-2009, 15:15:40

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys

TBH I was REALLY hoping that ASUS might use their Republic of Gamers brand on the PSU. Something sexy and modular in black + red/blue using well over-spec'd components etc...you know the deal.

I just cant see the idea behind entering the PSU market with something thats even more bland than a lot of the competition and doesn't even really have the stability to keep up with the big boys either.

26-01-2009, 04:15:06

-VK-
Nice review Jim.

I think what needs to be remembered, is that it's ASUS' first step into the PSU market...very few people get it right first time.

It might not be the best PSU, but it's certainly not a bad one...it'll be interesting to see what the next generation of PSU's is like.

-VK-

15-04-2011, 12:50:06

TheLaw
Umm....I'd like to make a correction. You say that CapXon is by no means a cheap brand, well...it is. CapXon is utter crap. It's used widely BECAUSE IT IS CHEAP. The only companies considered to be very good quality are: Nippon Chemi-Con, Nichicon, Rubycon, Panasonic (Matsushita), Sanyo, Elna, Mallory/ Cornell Dubilier.

Teapo is meh, and typically do alright in Power supplies. Samxon is pretty good, and it's either hit or miss. Most of the time they do very well. CapXon is crap though. They are close to Fuhjyyu.

For a list of bad capacitors, please refer to this: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=388

For a list of good capacitors, please refer to this: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=414
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.