Antec Truepower Quattro 1000w ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Jokes aside, the Antec Truepower Quattro is one extremely good looking unit. Sure the go-faster stripes may not suit everyone tastes (or PC colour schemes), but it's certainly a fun and refreshing change from the drab black unit's that are available in abundance.
 
Moving on to the more important stuff, the voltage stability and efficiency of the Quattro is certainly among the best that we've seen. Managing to keep both the +5v and +12v rails above their ideal voltages and the +3.3v rail well within ATX's recommended specs of ±5% at an almost full load of 919w, the unit certainly won't have any problems powering a high-end Crossfire or SLI setup. Efficiency was also just as Antec advertised, with the unit managing around 85-86% throughout the testing.
 
Unfortunately the Quattro does have its flaws with the biggest being the total lack of modular connectors. While most ~1000w units we've tested recently provide the user with around ten plugs for attaching their modular cables, the Quattro only provides five - severely crippling the unit's ability to power multiple devices located in different areas of the users PC case.
 
The Antec Truepower Quattro 1000w can be purchased for around £125 over at Ebuyer.com, making it possibly one of the cheapest 1kw units available on the market at the moment.
 
 
The Good
• Excellent voltage stability at full load.
• High efficiency at medium to high load (85-86%).
• High quality sleeving on cables.
• Amazing price for a 1kw unit.
 
The Medicore
• Go-faster stripes! Good thing or bad thing, you decide!
• Noise levels may be unacceptable to some users under full load.
 
The Bad
• Severely lacking in modular connector plugs.
 
 
Overclock3D Recommended Award Overclock3D Value for Money Award
 
 
Thanks to Antec for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2008, 07:20:26

JN
"A PSU with go-faster stripes?? It looks like Antec may have just awoken the boy racer in me!"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...202721507s.jpg



Antec Quattro 1000w Review

31-01-2008, 07:26:37

Mr. Smith
Bolt on a garrett, dump valve, lets swap out the cams, rad, zorst etc and we'll get 2000w out of it

(Goes to read review)

Edit: rofl

Rumour has it that when Antec set about designing the Quattro, they enlisted help from a group of teenagers found performing hand-brake turns in their local supermarket car park on a Friday night!

31-01-2008, 07:57:28

nunzio
Its a Chav PSU!

Just needs the LCD Fan and some neon lights somewhere.

31-01-2008, 08:22:16

Ham
Looks pretty dam good tbh (performance wise...). 900odd watt it can keep its rails to spec and only 125.

31-01-2008, 13:51:13

markkleb
Silly me but if a PS says 1000watts it should put out 1000 watts in the real world.

31-01-2008, 13:54:13

FarFarAway
It probably will, that was just due to our load tester not being able to reach 1000w...yet

31-01-2008, 13:57:06

markkleb
oops, my bad.

31-01-2008, 14:42:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
oops, my bad.
Yeah, 919w is about as close as we can get to 1000w, after that the load tester hits about 1100w.

31-01-2008, 14:51:48

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah, 919w is about as close as we can get to 1000w, after that the load tester hits about 1100w.
I REALLY need to read the whole review before I go spouting off, lol...very nice review by the way

31-01-2008, 15:02:29

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
I REALLY need to read the whole review before I go spouting off, lol...very nice review by the way
You're forgiven...now come 'ere lets av a hug.

31-01-2008, 15:11:33

markkleb
:hands: I forgot about all the cool smilies..:rocker::haha:

01-02-2008, 16:10:17

AntecRep
Just wanted to note that the reason there's only 5 jacks on the back of the PSU for extra cables is because of all the stuff we have already hardwired into the unit. We prefer to avoid extra connectors in-between the power supply and sensitive parts like the motherboard, CPU, and graphics card.

Also, if your serial number shows that the psu was manufactured within the warranty period, then a receipt is not required.

Hope that's useful information.

01-02-2008, 16:14:28

markkleb
Thanks for the clairification. And welcome to OC3D

01-02-2008, 16:35:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AntecRep'
Just wanted to note that the reason there's only 5 jacks on the back of the PSU for extra cables is because of all the stuff we have already hardwired into the unit. We prefer to avoid extra connectors in-between the power supply and sensitive parts like the motherboard, CPU, and graphics card.

Also, if your serial number shows that the psu was manufactured within the warranty period, then a receipt is not required.

Hope that's useful information.
Hi Antec,

Thanks for joining the forum to clear up some of the points raised in the review.

Indeed the hard-wiring of the ATX, EPS-12v and PCi-E connectors is a very good idea as most/all of these cables will be used anyway. However, if you compare the Quattro with any of these units:

CM Real Power Pro 1kw

Enermax Infiniti 720w

Enermax Galaxy 1kw

Thermaltake ToughPower 1.5kw

They all feature hard wired ATX/PCI-E connectors (some even SATA/Molex) and all have between 8-10 modular plugs available for connectors.

Other than this shortcoming, the Quattro really is a very stable PSU and the price is outstanding.

01-02-2008, 16:59:27

Bungral
Quite impressed that the time is taken for someone to join the forum and try to explain things

Welcome to the forum.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.