5-way High-End 1KW+ PSU Round-Up

Testing Procedure

Testing Procedure

Here at Overclock3D we take our PSU testing very seriously. For those of you who have read any of our previous PSU reviews, you will know that we employ our own custom made PSU load tester capable of drawing up to 1.3KW. While this certainly sounds more than perfect for testing the PSU's under the spotlight today, we wanted to go one step further and really get some solid results in both the Efficiency and Power Factor of these units - something we've only previously been able to calculate to a reasonable level of accuracy.

With all 5 PSU's in hand we set off down to the Enermax testing facilities in Milton Keynes where we had generously been given full access to their Chroma ATE 6310-E load tester. The plan was almost perfect....that was until we found out that Enermax's testing equipment wasn't geared up to test PSU's with the newer European style power sockets (Cooler Master & Be-Quiet). However, not wanting to let the day go to waste, we set out testing the remaining three units (Enermax, Silverstone, Corsair) in the hope that the other two could be tested elsewhere.
 
After ringing around a few contacts we struck gold. One of our friends over in Germany had access to a rather beefy Chroma ATE 6000 setup. We promptly shipped the remaining Be-Quiet and Cooler Master units over for testing with instructions on exactly what voltage, loads and ambient temperatures to test the units with so they could at least be fairly comparable to those obtained from Enermax's facilities.
 
Chroma ATE Enermax Load Tester
Left: Chroma ATE 6000 - Right: Chroma 6310-E

Each of the PSU's were tested at 50%, 75% and 100% load levels with voltage, efficiency and power factor readings being taken at each stage. Notes were also taken on the amount of noise that each unit produced but no exact noise measurements could be recorded due to the high ambient noise levels at both of the testing facilities.
 
The following charts show the exact load placed on each of the PSU's tested at the various load percentages:
 
Be-Quiet Load Specs
 
Cooler Master Load Specs
 
Corsair Load Specs
 
Enermax Load Specs
 
Silverstone Load Specs
 
Let's move on and see how each of the units faired in the results over on the next page...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-10-2008, 09:03:52

JN
"Looking for a new 1kw+ PSU? We test Be-Quiet, Corsair, Cooler Master, Enermax and Silverstone's latest and greatest units on the most sophisticated equipment."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135310950l.jpg

5-way High-End 1KW+ PSU Round-Up

03-10-2008, 09:19:16

llwyd
Great round-up review Jim. Shame about the Be-Quiet though, was really hoping for great things from them

03-10-2008, 09:34:14

WC Annihilus
Mmm... I got one of those CM UCP 1100W that I won at Nvision sitting in a box brand new. Really need to get around to selling it >.> Maybe linking this review will net some interest

03-10-2008, 09:34:27

gotmaxpower
The Corsair HX 1000W looks brilliant.

Nice review, enjoyed reading it.

03-10-2008, 11:14:34

Luigi
Ooh, that enermax looks nice!

03-10-2008, 11:22:35

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Ooh, that enermax looks nice!
Hope you mean the revised version

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112039157l.jpg

03-10-2008, 11:38:02

ionicle
they all look rather nice

but isnt 1k overkill for all but the highest of high end systems now?

03-10-2008, 11:39:05

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah :P

Its quite a design change, but does look pretty awesome.. Nice review

03-10-2008, 12:07:13

Diablo
I like the look of that revolution ^^. Only thing is, my PSU sits at the top of the case, so it would look a bit stupid to have the writing upside down. Is it t'other way up on the other side?

Nice review tho, but real shame about the be-quiet, at least there are some really good alternatives now.

03-10-2008, 13:46:25

Kerotan
Nice review. The link for the PCP&C TurboCool on the first page is broken tho, it takes u to the Silverstone Zeus 750W review. I don't think I will need one of these PSUs until 2000W is the standard for extreme high-end with the hardware I tend to use lol.

03-10-2008, 15:18:01

Rastalovich
Seriously good review. U just dont see these sort of tests done enough. Saw some old tests similar to this that came to the conclusion that power ratings were extremely exaggerated (the spelling thing says I spelt it right ??). That was b4 we had efficiency ratings and such standards. Reaching 1kw on a cold day in a lab once, no longer cuts it.

I'll post a few exceptions I have:

  • I wouldnt 'con' the Silverstone psu for being longer. If u have a smaller case with this psu - theres other wrongs being committed.

  • I'd like to massage into the graphs the +/- lines that the ATX standards perceive for the voltage levels. If a psu varies a fair bit, but remains within that +/- by a %, I think that's another criticism of the units.

  • If u dont have 4 way sli or 20 hdd and everything overclocked, including the usb line, I want a serious answer as to why u have a 1kw+ psu. Yet alone paid over £150 for it. £150 is a good mark up for Corsair. The Silverstone is massively priced.



Cut the price on the CoolerMaster one and it'd be awesome over-poweredness for the price. Corsair seems to be the banker tho.

Awesome.

04-10-2008, 15:25:24

FarFarAway
Fantastic review as usual Jimbo, some sexy PSU's there and just goes to show that OC3D REALLY tests stuff

04-10-2008, 18:33:46

inconspicuousj
fantastic comparative review, i was a little disappointed by the be quiet mind. wish you'd written this a month ago

04-10-2008, 18:39:02

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
they all look rather nice

but isnt 1k overkill for all but the highest of high end systems now?
Yea unless youre like me and are developing a peripheral toaster that runs off the PSU

04-10-2008, 19:00:02

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Yea unless youre like me and are developing a peripheral toaster that runs off the PSU
lol

"the USB toastomatic"

05-10-2008, 10:22:57

Luigi
haha, What sort of equipment is used to test psu's?

05-10-2008, 10:49:44

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
haha, What sort of equipment is used to test psu's?
If you actually read the review it tells you...

05-10-2008, 11:36:16

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
If you actually read the review it tells you...
ooh, I only looked at the end and the enermax revolution :S

05-10-2008, 16:13:33

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
lol

"the USB toastomatic"
How did you get hold of my secret latest invention plans? That was due to be unveiled next year...

07-10-2008, 16:34:37

°TheMadDutchDude°
Hah you guys crack me up some times.. seriously

Great review, not that I'll be in the market for a PSU like that for a long time but it is really worth knowing that kind of information. Nicely tested, shows (as stated before) OC3D really go to the inth degree to test and make their reviews as accurate as possible!

Thanks guys

08-10-2008, 05:21:56

Bubba
Nice...

Well powerfull PSU's needn't run on max to provide the juice needed and hence can run cooler... But ..

-Bubba
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.