5-way High-End 1KW+ PSU Round-Up

Silverstone Zeus 1200w

Silverstone Zeus 1200w
 
The Silverstone Zeus range of PSU's is certainly one that we've had plenty of prior experience with here at Overclock3D. Having reviewed almost every one of their units ranging from 560w up to 1kw, the Zeus has never disappointed in the stability department mainly thanks to its server-class components. However, the Zeus series has been around for quite some time now and despite the output figures now being ramped up to 1200w, it's going to take more than rock solid voltages for this greek god to score any major points in today's tests.
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w Specs
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w Box front Silverstone Zeus 1200w Box Back
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w Box Open Silverstone Zeus 1200w Contents
 
Presented in a black double walled cardboard box, the Zeus 1200w follows the same packaging style as all of its predecessors. At the front of the box we can see that Silverstone have printed a feature list along with some reassuring stickers that state that the unit can be used to power triple-GPU configurations including NVIDIA's power hungry GTX280 series. Around the back is an image of the innards of the Zeus along with fairly detailed information about each component.
 
Disappointingly Silverstone have placed the Zeus loose inside the box. Unlike most of the other PSU's in this round-up that use some form of Styrofoam padding inside the box to prevent the PSU from moving around and protect it from damage, the Zeus is only protected by a collection of accessories and cables all wedged inside the box.
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w Top Silverstone Zeus 1200w Side
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200W Rear Silverstone Zeus 1200w Front
 
Measuring 215mm in length, the Zeus is actually the longest of all the PSU's in this test by around 10mm. This unfortunately isn't helped by the fully modular connector system which adds a further 30mm+ to the PSU's length making it only suitable for the most spacious of PC cases.
 
In terms of appearance, the Zeus is the most plain of the bunch with a matt black finish adorn with specification stickers on most sides. However, due to the use of an 80mm fan at the rear of the unit and a modular connector system at the front, Silverstone have been forced to add ventilation holes to the top and sides of the casing, giving the PSU a rather hardcore look.
 
 Silverstone Zeus 1200w Modular Silverstone Zeus 1200w ATX
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w PCI-E Silverstone Zeus 1200w Modular
 
Taking a closer look at the modular connector system we can see that Silverstone have opted for PCI-E style plugs for all of the PSU-side connections. This is a vast improvement on the Molex style plugs used for some of the connectors on the Strider series; and should provide trouble free operation.
 
As required by most Tri-SLI configurations, the Zeus is equipped with a total of six PCI-E connectors. Rather than placing these on six separate modular cables, Silverstone have adopted a cable-clutter saving idea of piggy-backing two of the plugs off existing cables to reduce the total cable count to four.
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w Inside Silverstone Zeus 1200w Exploded
 
Silverstone Zeus 1200w PCB Silverstone Zeus 1200w Filter
 
Just when we thought that the internal layout of the Corsair HX1000 unit would be as crazy as things could get, the Zeus comes and surprises us with a dual-PCB layout. As we can see from the images above, the Zeus is comprised of two fully loaded circuit boards separated by four large PC motherboard style spacers and a large black plastic sheet to prevent anything on either of the PCB's accidentally shorting.
 
This is by far the most jam packed layout out of any of the PSU's on test today (maybe ever), and despite Silverstone's attempts to keep things tidy by using zip ties on all of the cables, the 80mm fan installed in the unit is going to have a hard time keeping everything cool.
 
However, despite the lack of breathing space a quick look at the components used inside the unit reveals that Silverstone haven't cut any corners. Located on the upper-PCB are two primary 105c 450v Japanese capacitors along with a series of Infinion MOSFET's attached to a rather chunky aluminium heatsink. The lower half of the unit is fitted with a single full-bridge transformer, two large copper chokes and a pair of D/D modules with aluminium heatsinks for voltage regulation on the +3.3v and +5v rails.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-10-2008, 09:03:52

JN
"Looking for a new 1kw+ PSU? We test Be-Quiet, Corsair, Cooler Master, Enermax and Silverstone's latest and greatest units on the most sophisticated equipment."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135310950l.jpg

5-way High-End 1KW+ PSU Round-Up

03-10-2008, 09:19:16

llwyd
Great round-up review Jim. Shame about the Be-Quiet though, was really hoping for great things from them

03-10-2008, 09:34:14

WC Annihilus
Mmm... I got one of those CM UCP 1100W that I won at Nvision sitting in a box brand new. Really need to get around to selling it >.> Maybe linking this review will net some interest

03-10-2008, 09:34:27

gotmaxpower
The Corsair HX 1000W looks brilliant.

Nice review, enjoyed reading it.

03-10-2008, 11:14:34

Luigi
Ooh, that enermax looks nice!

03-10-2008, 11:22:35

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Ooh, that enermax looks nice!
Hope you mean the revised version

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112039157l.jpg

03-10-2008, 11:38:02

ionicle
they all look rather nice

but isnt 1k overkill for all but the highest of high end systems now?

03-10-2008, 11:39:05

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah :P

Its quite a design change, but does look pretty awesome.. Nice review

03-10-2008, 12:07:13

Diablo
I like the look of that revolution ^^. Only thing is, my PSU sits at the top of the case, so it would look a bit stupid to have the writing upside down. Is it t'other way up on the other side?

Nice review tho, but real shame about the be-quiet, at least there are some really good alternatives now.

03-10-2008, 13:46:25

Kerotan
Nice review. The link for the PCP&C TurboCool on the first page is broken tho, it takes u to the Silverstone Zeus 750W review. I don't think I will need one of these PSUs until 2000W is the standard for extreme high-end with the hardware I tend to use lol.

03-10-2008, 15:18:01

Rastalovich
Seriously good review. U just dont see these sort of tests done enough. Saw some old tests similar to this that came to the conclusion that power ratings were extremely exaggerated (the spelling thing says I spelt it right ??). That was b4 we had efficiency ratings and such standards. Reaching 1kw on a cold day in a lab once, no longer cuts it.

I'll post a few exceptions I have:

  • I wouldnt 'con' the Silverstone psu for being longer. If u have a smaller case with this psu - theres other wrongs being committed.

  • I'd like to massage into the graphs the +/- lines that the ATX standards perceive for the voltage levels. If a psu varies a fair bit, but remains within that +/- by a %, I think that's another criticism of the units.

  • If u dont have 4 way sli or 20 hdd and everything overclocked, including the usb line, I want a serious answer as to why u have a 1kw+ psu. Yet alone paid over £150 for it. £150 is a good mark up for Corsair. The Silverstone is massively priced.



Cut the price on the CoolerMaster one and it'd be awesome over-poweredness for the price. Corsair seems to be the banker tho.

Awesome.

04-10-2008, 15:25:24

FarFarAway
Fantastic review as usual Jimbo, some sexy PSU's there and just goes to show that OC3D REALLY tests stuff

04-10-2008, 18:33:46

inconspicuousj
fantastic comparative review, i was a little disappointed by the be quiet mind. wish you'd written this a month ago

04-10-2008, 18:39:02

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
they all look rather nice

but isnt 1k overkill for all but the highest of high end systems now?
Yea unless youre like me and are developing a peripheral toaster that runs off the PSU

04-10-2008, 19:00:02

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Yea unless youre like me and are developing a peripheral toaster that runs off the PSU
lol

"the USB toastomatic"

05-10-2008, 10:22:57

Luigi
haha, What sort of equipment is used to test psu's?

05-10-2008, 10:49:44

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
haha, What sort of equipment is used to test psu's?
If you actually read the review it tells you...

05-10-2008, 11:36:16

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
If you actually read the review it tells you...
ooh, I only looked at the end and the enermax revolution :S

05-10-2008, 16:13:33

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
lol

"the USB toastomatic"
How did you get hold of my secret latest invention plans? That was due to be unveiled next year...

07-10-2008, 16:34:37

°TheMadDutchDude°
Hah you guys crack me up some times.. seriously

Great review, not that I'll be in the market for a PSU like that for a long time but it is really worth knowing that kind of information. Nicely tested, shows (as stated before) OC3D really go to the inth degree to test and make their reviews as accurate as possible!

Thanks guys

08-10-2008, 05:21:56

Bubba
Nice...

Well powerfull PSU's needn't run on max to provide the juice needed and hence can run cooler... But ..

-Bubba
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.