5-way High-End 1KW+ PSU Round-Up

Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w

Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w
 
First up under the spotlight (which we'll shine in alphabetical order just to be fair) is the Dark Power Pro 1200w. We first got introduced to the Dark Power series a short while ago when Be-Quiet asked us to take a look at their rather sexy, yet slightly expensive 650w model.
 
Be-Quiet 1200w Specs 
 
be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Box Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Box
 
Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Box Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro Box
 
The Dark Power Pro 1200w features exactly the same packaging design as its little brother, with a fairly minimalistic front complete with a flap that can be opened to reveal the PSU's 120mm fan area sitting behind a plastic window. Modular cables are spread out over three seperate compartments with a final fourth compartment for the mains cable, screws and cable ties.
 
Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Side Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w back
 
Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Top Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Front
 
Measuring in at 180mm long, the Dark Power Pro is not only the PSU with the highest output rating, but it's also one of the shortest. Coming complete with a highly reflective electroplated finish, gold plated fan grill and colour coded modular plugs, some may also say that it's one of the most visually appealing too.
 
Those of us with a keen eye will also notice that Be-Quiet have made a departure from the normal kettle lead style plug, in favour of the new European style. This is significantly larger than its predecessor and looks much more capable of handling the 1200w+ that this unit will be drawing from the mains during our testing.
 
Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Modular Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Cables
 
The modular connector system on the Dark Power features a total of 11 connectors (not including the four fan headers) with a combination of PCI-E and flat 5-Pin style plugs being used for an extremely robust connection. Additionally, each of the PCI-E style sockets is also colour coded to prevent any of the cables finding their way into the wrong sockets and potentially damaging your precious hardware.
 
Dark Power Pro 1200w Plugs Dark Power Pro 1200w PCI-E
 
Hard-wired into the unit are a total of two cables. Normally we'd expect these to be the 24-Pin ATX and EPS12v connectors, however Be-Quiet have decided to substitute the EPS12v connector with what they call a "PHYSX PCIe Card Connector". This may sound strange considering probably only 1% of all enthusiasts own a PHYSX card, but we're happy to report that this cable can be used as an ordinary 6-Pin PCI-E VGA cable without any issues.
 
Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Inside Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Inside
 
Getting under the hood of the Dark Power Pro we can see that the size of the casing has taken its toll on the inside of the unit with everything being quite cramped up. However, despite this, Be-Quiet have still managed to keep all cable routing quite tidy and overall airflow through the unit should be pretty good.
 
Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro 1200w Transformer Be-Quiet Dark Power Pro Transformer
 
Positioned middle-left of the unit is the primary transformer (yellow) responsible for powering each of the six +12v rails. This is accompanied by a smaller transformer over to the right, which will more than likely deal with the +3.3 and +5v rails along with any other requirements of the ATX spec. A single 320uF, 400v capacitor manufactured by CapXon with a max operating temperature of 85c can also be seen at the lower left of the unit.
 
It's quite surprising that such a small amount of components can generate a stable 1.2KW of power, but we'll certainly find out for sure when we get the Be-Quiet on the load tester.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-10-2008, 09:03:52

JN
"Looking for a new 1kw+ PSU? We test Be-Quiet, Corsair, Cooler Master, Enermax and Silverstone's latest and greatest units on the most sophisticated equipment."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135310950l.jpg

5-way High-End 1KW+ PSU Round-Up

03-10-2008, 09:19:16

llwyd
Great round-up review Jim. Shame about the Be-Quiet though, was really hoping for great things from them

03-10-2008, 09:34:14

WC Annihilus
Mmm... I got one of those CM UCP 1100W that I won at Nvision sitting in a box brand new. Really need to get around to selling it >.> Maybe linking this review will net some interest

03-10-2008, 09:34:27

gotmaxpower
The Corsair HX 1000W looks brilliant.

Nice review, enjoyed reading it.

03-10-2008, 11:14:34

Luigi
Ooh, that enermax looks nice!

03-10-2008, 11:22:35

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Ooh, that enermax looks nice!
Hope you mean the revised version

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112039157l.jpg

03-10-2008, 11:38:02

ionicle
they all look rather nice

but isnt 1k overkill for all but the highest of high end systems now?

03-10-2008, 11:39:05

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah :P

Its quite a design change, but does look pretty awesome.. Nice review

03-10-2008, 12:07:13

Diablo
I like the look of that revolution ^^. Only thing is, my PSU sits at the top of the case, so it would look a bit stupid to have the writing upside down. Is it t'other way up on the other side?

Nice review tho, but real shame about the be-quiet, at least there are some really good alternatives now.

03-10-2008, 13:46:25

Kerotan
Nice review. The link for the PCP&C TurboCool on the first page is broken tho, it takes u to the Silverstone Zeus 750W review. I don't think I will need one of these PSUs until 2000W is the standard for extreme high-end with the hardware I tend to use lol.

03-10-2008, 15:18:01

Rastalovich
Seriously good review. U just dont see these sort of tests done enough. Saw some old tests similar to this that came to the conclusion that power ratings were extremely exaggerated (the spelling thing says I spelt it right ??). That was b4 we had efficiency ratings and such standards. Reaching 1kw on a cold day in a lab once, no longer cuts it.

I'll post a few exceptions I have:

  • I wouldnt 'con' the Silverstone psu for being longer. If u have a smaller case with this psu - theres other wrongs being committed.

  • I'd like to massage into the graphs the +/- lines that the ATX standards perceive for the voltage levels. If a psu varies a fair bit, but remains within that +/- by a %, I think that's another criticism of the units.

  • If u dont have 4 way sli or 20 hdd and everything overclocked, including the usb line, I want a serious answer as to why u have a 1kw+ psu. Yet alone paid over £150 for it. £150 is a good mark up for Corsair. The Silverstone is massively priced.



Cut the price on the CoolerMaster one and it'd be awesome over-poweredness for the price. Corsair seems to be the banker tho.

Awesome.

04-10-2008, 15:25:24

FarFarAway
Fantastic review as usual Jimbo, some sexy PSU's there and just goes to show that OC3D REALLY tests stuff

04-10-2008, 18:33:46

inconspicuousj
fantastic comparative review, i was a little disappointed by the be quiet mind. wish you'd written this a month ago

04-10-2008, 18:39:02

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
they all look rather nice

but isnt 1k overkill for all but the highest of high end systems now?
Yea unless youre like me and are developing a peripheral toaster that runs off the PSU

04-10-2008, 19:00:02

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Yea unless youre like me and are developing a peripheral toaster that runs off the PSU
lol

"the USB toastomatic"

05-10-2008, 10:22:57

Luigi
haha, What sort of equipment is used to test psu's?

05-10-2008, 10:49:44

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
haha, What sort of equipment is used to test psu's?
If you actually read the review it tells you...

05-10-2008, 11:36:16

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
If you actually read the review it tells you...
ooh, I only looked at the end and the enermax revolution :S

05-10-2008, 16:13:33

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
lol

"the USB toastomatic"
How did you get hold of my secret latest invention plans? That was due to be unveiled next year...

07-10-2008, 16:34:37

°TheMadDutchDude°
Hah you guys crack me up some times.. seriously

Great review, not that I'll be in the market for a PSU like that for a long time but it is really worth knowing that kind of information. Nicely tested, shows (as stated before) OC3D really go to the inth degree to test and make their reviews as accurate as possible!

Thanks guys

08-10-2008, 05:21:56

Bubba
Nice...

Well powerfull PSU's needn't run on max to provide the juice needed and hence can run cooler... But ..

-Bubba
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.