The Mince Pie Roundup

A Closer Look

The Mince Pie Roundup

A Closer Look

Tesco Mince Pies

Depending on the current in-store offers, this pack of six will cost you anwhere between £1 and £1.50.

The Mince Pie Roundup     The Mince Pie Roundup

The mince pies themselves are large enough for the hungier than average bear. Our samples arrived without any damage although star shaped template used for the top of each pie seems to have malformed some of them; nothing like some politically correct pastries.

Mr Kipling Mince Pies

Known for their "exceedingly good cakes", we were intrigued to find out how Mr Kipling's mince pies faired against its generic store branded stable mate.

The Mince Pie Roundup    The Mince Pie Roundup

The pies themselves are very similarly sized with a near identical pastry. The story of imperfect samples continue with two of the six suffering from cracks/holes on the top. Aesthetically not so good, Mr Kipling.

M&S All Butter Mini Mince Pies

Finally we have the range topping guns from Marks & Spencers. Known for their focus on quality we had high expectations for these festive delights...

The Mince Pie Roundup    The Mince Pie Roundup

...and thus far we have not been disappointed. These mini mince pies arrived without so much as a single imperfection. The samples themselves looked considerably more appetising although their size definitely made them seem as though they lacked substance.

As we all know, Mince Pies aren't for staring but for eating. With this in mind, let the testing begin!


«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-12-2010, 04:58:19

tinytomlogan
This Christmas, we are here to show you the finest Mince Pies of 2010.

Continue Reading

24-12-2010, 05:08:26

Junglerog
Haha good stuff. Merry Christmas!

24-12-2010, 05:17:12

Ghosthud1
Ohhhh Mann we have Mk pies. Have a good Xmas all

24-12-2010, 05:26:54

SnW
Are these software cookies ?

24-12-2010, 05:32:01

Alicarve
Now my favourite is the cooperative brandy puff mince pies that are baked in store

24-12-2010, 05:33:15

timothyh
Scruptious review! Merry Christmas to you all

24-12-2010, 06:09:48

Todd
Haha, nice one matey! So is the Tesco one like the GTX460 then?

24-12-2010, 06:43:54

s0x
Haha it made me laugh right on the index page of overclock3d.

Merry Christmas to you all!

@Todd, very much like HD6870.

24-12-2010, 06:54:35

Zeals
Any chance for a review on what SLI of these pies is like? Sometimes eating one at a time isn't enough

24-12-2010, 08:23:47

justjoe666
Haha love it, especially "Not all of us have the time or will power to build our own mince pies"

Just what I needed to get me into the Christmas spirit.

Merry Christmas to everyone

24-12-2010, 10:16:24

killablade
This made me hungry

24-12-2010, 10:47:50

Toxteth O'Grady
Lots of performance headroom to overcook these but temps can get a little high unless you have a good liquid cooling loop (brandy or clotted cream recommended). Needs a decent psu (pie supply unit) as well.

TOG

24-12-2010, 10:59:08

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxteth O'Grady View Post

Lots of performance headroom to overcook these but temps can get a little high unless you have a good liquid cooling loop (brandy or clotted cream recommended). Needs a decent psu (pie supply unit) as well.

TOG
Too many puns

24-12-2010, 12:17:33

Delusion77
LMAO! Awesome review!

24-12-2010, 16:15:07

Captain Caveman
LMAO...

What...no scones or truffles and I thought you guys were UK? Didnt you guys learn anything from Julia Childs. She cracked me up, always figured she was drunk on her shows Lol

Merry Christmas everyone

24-12-2010, 20:45:34

Tortuga
I liked the Dan Akyroyd SNL bit he used to do as Julia Childs ^^^. He would always injure himself but continue to cook, blood would be everywhere! Haha
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.