The Mince Pie Roundup

Introduction

The Mince Pie Roundup

Introduction



Some claim that Mince Pies are somewhat marmite; I'll never understand this. Just when you thought a full christmas dinner with copious amounts of mulled wine had you sedated into an oblivion, a small fruity pastry with dashings of brandy sauce comes along and truly hits the spot. A perfect end to the annual festive dinner.

Not all of us have the time or will power to build our own mince pies. While many say that one could easily purchase and compile the relevant components with a greater scope for customisation for less, we saw fit to cater for the typical customer instead. So what exactly is available to the discerned prebuilt pie buyer?

This review will put three brands of mince pie to the test, from entry level through to all out taste-bud performance. Moreover, we will be putting two popular brandy sauces to the test with the intention of finding the best mince pie dessert solution.

Time for a table of products...

 Mince Pies
TESCO     
MR KIPLING       
M&S LUXURY ALL BUTTER
Pie Units 6 612
Size
Standard StandardMini
Contains Alcohol
No NoYes - Brandy, Port
Pastry Type
Conventional ConventionalAll Butter Short Crust
Calories / Pie
245 256110
Current Price
£1 £1.50
£2.99


What we have here are two similar (albeit branded vs non branded) mince pies pitched alongside the finest offerings from Marks & Spencer. Clearly the M&S product is more expensive but how much better can it be?

Lets find out.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-12-2010, 04:58:19

tinytomlogan
This Christmas, we are here to show you the finest Mince Pies of 2010.

Continue Reading

24-12-2010, 05:08:26

Junglerog
Haha good stuff. Merry Christmas!

24-12-2010, 05:17:12

Ghosthud1
Ohhhh Mann we have Mk pies. Have a good Xmas all

24-12-2010, 05:26:54

SnW
Are these software cookies ?

24-12-2010, 05:32:01

Alicarve
Now my favourite is the cooperative brandy puff mince pies that are baked in store

24-12-2010, 05:33:15

timothyh
Scruptious review! Merry Christmas to you all

24-12-2010, 06:09:48

Todd
Haha, nice one matey! So is the Tesco one like the GTX460 then?

24-12-2010, 06:43:54

s0x
Haha it made me laugh right on the index page of overclock3d.

Merry Christmas to you all!

@Todd, very much like HD6870.

24-12-2010, 06:54:35

Zeals
Any chance for a review on what SLI of these pies is like? Sometimes eating one at a time isn't enough

24-12-2010, 08:23:47

justjoe666
Haha love it, especially "Not all of us have the time or will power to build our own mince pies"

Just what I needed to get me into the Christmas spirit.

Merry Christmas to everyone

24-12-2010, 10:16:24

killablade
This made me hungry

24-12-2010, 10:47:50

Toxteth O'Grady
Lots of performance headroom to overcook these but temps can get a little high unless you have a good liquid cooling loop (brandy or clotted cream recommended). Needs a decent psu (pie supply unit) as well.

TOG

24-12-2010, 10:59:08

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxteth O'Grady View Post

Lots of performance headroom to overcook these but temps can get a little high unless you have a good liquid cooling loop (brandy or clotted cream recommended). Needs a decent psu (pie supply unit) as well.

TOG
Too many puns

24-12-2010, 12:17:33

Delusion77
LMAO! Awesome review!

24-12-2010, 16:15:07

Captain Caveman
LMAO...

What...no scones or truffles and I thought you guys were UK? Didnt you guys learn anything from Julia Childs. She cracked me up, always figured she was drunk on her shows Lol

Merry Christmas everyone

24-12-2010, 20:45:34

Tortuga
I liked the Dan Akyroyd SNL bit he used to do as Julia Childs ^^^. He would always injure himself but continue to cook, blood would be everywhere! Haha
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.