OC3D Best of 2012 Awards

Intro and Audio

Best of 2012 

Introduction

We see a lot of hardware through the year here at OC3D, and it's good to look back at the products that we really loved. We know that not everyone has the cash to rush out that instant and buy a new piece of hardware, so this is also for those of you who want to know what the best product is in our opinion, without having to read all of our reviews. Although you should read them all anyway as they are lovingly crafted.

So without further ado, here at the bits of tech in the nine major categories that made a bigger impression than the Ridiculously Photogenic Guy in 2012. The bold hardware names lead to our original review if you wish a closer look at why they appeared in our end-of-year roundup.

Audio

SteelSeries Flux

We start with audio, just because it's alphabetical, but if there is one product that will live long in the memory as the highlight of 2012 it's the SteelSeries Flux. Staggering sound quality and volume, in a customisable, portable package. All for around £60 perfect.

 Best of 2012     

Microlab Solo 7C

For those of you who prefer your audio so the rest of the room can hear it, we heartily recommend the Microlab 7C speakers. They cover the major bases, if you'll pardon the pun, of awesome volume and thumping bass, wrapped up in a package that looks the business, some may find them a little big for their desk but from experience they look epic next to your huge flatscreen TV.

 Best of 2012     

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-01-2013, 11:31:46

tinytomlogan
It's that time of year again, when we look back at the products that left the most lasting impression.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...151807501l.jpg


Continue Reading

09-01-2013, 11:48:15

AverageNinja
Good list, though it suprises me the CM Storm Stryker isn't on there

09-01-2013, 11:53:26

Gurt11
Nice!

The Switch 810 does beat the Storm Stryker, out-of-the-box speaking ^^

09-01-2013, 11:55:07

tinytomlogan
Yeah the 810 is a better build and forget case, plus people would just comment that I only gave it the award because of Orca.

Side by side to just build a rig the 810 is better. I chose the Stryker for Orca because I could do more with it.

09-01-2013, 11:59:11

AverageNinja
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Yeah the 810 is a better build and forget case, plus people would just comment that I only gave it the award because of Orca.

Side by side to just build a rig the 810 is better. I chose the Stryker for Orca because I could do more with it.
Ah fair enough then

09-01-2013, 12:02:46

BesiX
I was surprised... I didn't see the Corsair K60 TTL Edition in the keyboard section

09-01-2013, 12:09:11

dragoonk
ooh, nice one this is. "We know that not everyone has the cash to rush out that instant and buy a new piece of hardware..." You got that right .

Good List anyway, thanks!

09-01-2013, 12:14:45

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoonk View Post
ooh, nice one this is. "We know that not everyone has the cash to rush out that instant and buy a new piece of hardware..."

Good List anyway, thanks!
Silicone lottery son.... come on now youve been here long enough now.

09-01-2013, 12:19:11

dragoonk
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Silicone lottery son.... come on now youve been here long enough now.
Baah, I know all about that... I thought the same at first. There was someone that told me a lot of them cards were really really bad overclockers for whatever reason. I still tend to stick with the silicon lottery theory.

09-01-2013, 12:21:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoonk View Post
Baah, I know all about that... I thought the same at first. There was someone that told me a lot of them cards were really really bad overclockers for whatever reason. I still tend to stick with the silicon lottery theory.
So you listen to just anyone over an experienced techno like me?

I dont need to tell you how silly that is now do I. Just go careful with the constant negativity you post fella, its not needed.

09-01-2013, 12:22:57

dalewakelin
I was just thinking the other day about you making this

09-01-2013, 12:28:10

Diffracted
Enjoyed it!

09-01-2013, 12:30:07

dragoonk
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
So you listen to just anyone over an experienced techno like me?

I dont need to tell you how silly that is now do I. Just go careful with the constant negativity you post fella, its not needed.
That's interesting, cause what I posted meant exactly the opposite, that was the main reason I came to ask so you would clarify, not to be treated arrogantly. I'm also puzzled by this negativity issue you mentioned about.

09-01-2013, 12:30:20

TAWN
What a list! It has been. A goooooood year.

09-01-2013, 12:59:40

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by BesiX View Post
I was surprised... I didn't see the Corsair K60 TTL Edition in the keyboard section
A serious oversight methinks

09-01-2013, 13:25:54

Ghosthud1
All AMD/ATI cards in the graphics awards, not sure if im surprised or not

microlab making the audio section makes me happy aswell, they're majorly underated.

10-01-2013, 07:45:29

SPS
Typo top of page 9 "2013 was the year of the mechanical keyboard. "

10-01-2013, 07:58:02

Spiderz
A review of reviews taking over 30 mins? Could only be a TTL video

Would say this is a good round up of the year and while surprised you put the switch 810 in over the storm stryker it is the better choice I believe.

10-01-2013, 08:06:57

Koolzy
Nice list of hardware. That HD7990 is something from another planet lool

10-01-2013, 08:52:13

noproblem
What about top 2012 PSUs? I know the AXi series would win but it might be interesting to know... Thanks!

10-01-2013, 09:45:24

Deejeta
Very fair list indeed.
Yay for the 810. By far the best present to myself in a long while.

10-01-2013, 15:03:31

razza202
very nice summary of the year lol but i cant help but feel annoyed that i cant have them all lol keep it up tom

11-01-2013, 07:22:12

Nogginthenog
Enjoyed that video, some nice advice mixed up in with it all too - the fact that for more or less everyone, the choice of memory should be down to aesthetics and budget at any given speed as they are all virtually indistinguishable in operation would be the pick of the bunch for me.

I would take the Cosmos over the Switch I think for cases, although if price was a factor then I'd agree with your choices.

My only other change would be a 690 over the 7990 , purely because of availability, you can buy them most places, not so much the amd card.

11-01-2013, 12:27:51

phatjak
Tom, how about the caselabs STH10? whats your opinion about that?
It's not in the list cause it belongs to another category?

11-01-2013, 16:13:30

WillSK
surprised you went for the quickfire TK; a compact keyboard for the keyboard (actually no i'm not as you gave it a cracking review). I recently bought my first mechanical keyboard the Steelseries 6GV2 thanks primarily to your review and am very happy with it and can't believe how much nicer it is to use a mechanical.

Really enjoyed looking through all these anyway. Cracking work as always Tom

12-01-2013, 08:01:08

Vlada011
CORSAIR Dominator Platinum really deserve Gold Award for Memory.
When I thought on awarded memory I imagine Dominator Platinum, open Memory section and ...GOLD AWARD!
And H100i GOLD CPU Cooler Award. Agree 100%.
Caselabs Merlin SM8 deserve Case GOLD Award if you ask me.

12-01-2013, 08:02:48

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by phatjak View Post
Tom, how about the caselabs STH10? whats your opinion about that?
It's not in the list cause it belongs to another category?
Its not in the list because its not a Best Of Winner.


#statingtheobvious

13-01-2013, 05:49:33

TAWN
I definately agree with alot of products on this list. Thumbs up

13-01-2013, 18:06:48

ceryndrion
If I could, I would change the Solo 7c's remote to something a little more sturdy, dratted thing never wants to work for me..

15-01-2013, 08:16:29

JiggaHertz
Does anyone know how dual H100i's would fare with a dual socket motherboard? Does corsairs software support two coolers in one PC?

15-01-2013, 09:09:33

dragoonk
I never heard about it being done, but you can try. Failing though is going to cost.

Heard it being done with H100's BTW

20-01-2013, 17:15:10

panosgb
H100i is good kit but I didn't see reviews of other aio systems in your site or channel! How come?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.