Edimax Wireless nLITE High Gain USB Adaptor

Conclusions

Conclusions

The Edimax Wireless nLITE High Gain USB adaptor has quite surprised me to be honest. At the price point it is at, I didn't expect it to be so feature packed and give as good performance as it has. The styling of the adaptor is very Apple-esque, but that's not a criticism. I like the clean looks and honest build. Everything is there for a reason and there are no silly gimmicks. It's attractively packaged, and installation was very easy. As soon as the adaptor was installed, it picked up my network straight away without any fuss. Establishing a secure connection to the router with the WPS feature was just a case of pressing a button on the router and adaptor, this is something that I cannot praise highly enough, as some people struggle to secure their wireless networks and anything that makes the task easier is a definite bonus.

Although the Edimax adaptor touts 802.11n compliance, as the nLITE in the product name suggests, it's at the reduced rate of upto 150 Mbps, from the full rate of 300Mbps. Even so, as the test results have proven, it still massively outperforms 802.11g, and is a definite step up. Considering the price point, I don't see the fact that the adaptor does not give 300Mbps a problem in any way. The working range of the adaptor was good enough that I didn't suffer connection drop outs, both in 802.11g and 802.11n modes, anywhere within my property. I have personally used many wireless adaptors before and struggled to receive an acceptable signal strength from upstairs to down due to the house being so solidly built. The adaptor is currently available to buy from Novatech for £19.79


The Good
+
Features & software make this adaptor both simple to set up and use.
+ Styling - Simple and effective.
+ Hassle free wireless access - good data transfer rates & signal strength.
+ Very reasonably priced.

The Mediocre
* White may not be to everyones tastes, but thats a personal choice.
Not full speed 802.11n

The Bad
- Nothing to report

 

OC3D Value for Money AwardOC3D Editor's Choice 

Our thanks go to Edimax for providing us with this review sample. You can discuss this review within our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-03-2009, 18:15:34

TopSecret
The humble wireless network adaptor is often something that is overlooked by it's users. As long as it does it's job, then the user is happy. After all, there isn't much to distinguish one model and brand from the other. Or is there? With this question in mind, we will be taking a close look at the Edimax Wireless nLITE High Gain USB Adaptor.

Edimax Wireless nLITE High Gain USB Adaptor

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142846573s.jpg

23-03-2009, 18:35:59

zak4994
Ah look at those speeds.

And I thought Belkin was one of the best.

23-03-2009, 19:04:24

monkey7
20 pounds That's not bad at all for a high quality usb adapter, especially considering it's half speed .n too.

Will sure think about this when anyone asks for a wireless reciever

Edit: any chance of comparing it to a commonly used PCI(-e) adapter and see what the difference is?

23-03-2009, 19:05:08

nepas
looks a tasty little thing,BUT it would have been better if it had Linux support out of the box.Judging by the shots of the utility,its a Ralink chipset and most of those chipsets are supported by linux,if you go digging around at the Ralink site(which is not the best of sites in the world).

Any chance of asking Edimax if they plan to offer 'tux drivers??

24-03-2009, 07:54:21

Rastalovich
If it does current Macs, the chances are there are some drivers out there for Linux - just they aren't 'supported'. Be mostly down to the chipset used. If that isn't too obvious from the package, u can lookup the FCC number and look at captures of it taken apart. Once u have the chipset, u can find "a" linux driver that'll work.

I'm interested if that "woohoo" "high gain!" antena unscrews.

24-03-2009, 08:12:21

Bungral
Very nice lil adaptor that one..

Good review by the way too mate.

Quick thing though, did ya kinda miss a sentence off the end? No info on where to buy it for the 19.99 price.

Also the forum link at the bottom isn't a link

24-03-2009, 09:10:03

TopSecret
Rasta, no it doesn't unscrew.

Bungral, done and done Cheers mate.

24-03-2009, 16:22:26

K3T
the thing is can the antenna be replace by more powerful antenna ?

24-03-2009, 16:35:37

TopSecret
Well considering the working range of the existing antenna, why would you want to replace it? The one that is fitted works very well. When you buy any other USB wireless sticks, can their antennas be replaced? For less than 20 quid, you get half speed 11n and the antenna is perfectly able to work well. As I said in the review, I have tried many wireless adaptors, and I never suffered any connection drop outs with this one. I have tried both USB and PCI cards and I can honestly say this is one of the most attractive I have used, in terms of features, controlling software and performance.

25-03-2009, 06:06:59

FarFarAway
Excellent review and an impressive performer

Nice work Stu

25-03-2009, 08:32:23

K3T
thanks for the info will be getting one of them and awesome review thanks

25-03-2009, 08:35:23

TonyG
Like wise here getting one very soon

03-06-2009, 10:51:03

DerBatz
The Chipset is RT2870USB(RT2870/RT2770). Linux Drivers available from ralink.com's support page (Linux section) Hope this helps.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.