Asus RT-N11 EZ Wireless Router

Conclusion

Conclusion RT-N11

It is very hard to draw a conclusion on a router that I have little to compare it to. My own router is the popular Netgear DG834GT, which while being a great little router, is restricted with the wireless 'g' standard. The RT-N11 meanwhile uses the wireless N standard, so comparing the two side by side is a little unfair as it's like comparing apples to oranges. It was, however, interesting to see how wireless N compares to the g standard most routers use today. If you are in the market for an upgrade, I hope you find the comparisons useful.
 
So then, I am left with the features of the Asus RT-N11. The router setup utility was straightforward to use and can be easily navigated by both the novice and experienced networker alike. The one touch setup was just that, but experienced users may want to explore the router's settings more thoroughly. The firewall and wireless features are both extensive and again, easily configured with minimal knowledge required. The configurable 'VIP zones' are a great idea. I was surprised how easy they were to set up, considering I didn't read the PDF manual included on the CD to begin with. This is the obvious selling point of this router and one that will be a very welcome addition to a busy home or small office network.
 
There is however one major drawback to the Asus RT-N11 in that it is a standalone router. ADSL users would still require the use of a separate modem, which would then need to be wired to the RT-N11 for internet access. This will be off putting for some, as one of the reasons for going wireless is to rid some clutter from your work area. If, however, you have your router/modem hidden away in some central point in the house or office and you don't mind the use of a separate modem, then there is no doubting that this is a powerful piece of kit that will provide some fantastic networking capabilities for both the home or small office user.
 
The Good
- Stylish design.
- VIP Zones
- EZ Setup
- Great wireless range
 
The Mediocre
- No internal modem
- No hard copy manual
 
The Bad
- Nothing to report
 
 
Recommended 
 
Thanks to Asus who provided the RT-N11 for todays review. Discuss in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-10-2008, 14:08:57

w3bbo
Touting multiple SSID capability along with the wireless N standard, the RT-N11 certainly seems to have what it takes to be a top router. Our latest review puts the Asus router to the test.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...174806102s.jpg

Check out the review here.

17-10-2008, 17:50:05

ionicle
damn good review, i must say

good job

definatly better than some of them out there

i think i'll stick with my draytec 2800 tho

17-10-2008, 17:57:04

w3bbo
Glad you liked it. Must say it was perhaps the most difficult review I've written yet as there is only so much you can say about a router to make it an interesting read lol.

20-10-2008, 06:54:22

cybermaniac
if it had 100/1000 ethernet, that review would have had me buying one right now.

It is rare to get such a fine review of routers, especially one so feature packed as this.

I'm currently struggling to find a router with gigabit ethernet, and (damn) will probs have to invest in a 100/1000 switch (stupid NAS).

20-10-2008, 12:43:29

-VK-
Cybermanic - Keep an eye out for the ASUS RT-N15...they should be arriving in retail fairly soon.

21-10-2008, 09:34:09

Rastalovich
Was just gonna echo what cyber said.

Am keeping an eye out for the Linksys n- `something` with gig switches in it, but it appeared in the states only to disappear just as quickly. >.<

Definately look out for what -VK- said, cos apart from that, the router looks great.

21-10-2008, 10:37:32

cybermaniac
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='-VK-'
Cybermanic - Keep an eye out for the ASUS RT-N15...they should be arriving in retail fairly soon.
as some of the more chavvier people around my area would say "that looks mint" or "thats lush".

so I would definatly consider that one. Especially if it is the same sort of quality as my 3com (if not better).

21-10-2008, 13:16:45

-VK-
Yeah the N-15 is lovely, not sure on a UK stockist just yet, but I know stock just landed in the UK today...should be available in retail / e-tail within the week I guess.

Hope that helps =)

Edit: Something nice about ASUS Rast? Cor...you feeling ok? :P:P:P

26-10-2008, 14:13:33

cybermaniac

27-10-2008, 09:21:54

Rastalovich
I`m so glad u bumped this, cos the one I`m after has turned up in the UK, http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000SOFU1C/ref=nosim/8659605-000-21

05-12-2008, 12:55:56

cybermaniac
sorry for dredging up the old thread, however does anyone know if the ASUS RT-N15 or any of its derivatives come in modem/router combinations?

as they only seem to do it for cable modems? :/

edit:

does any1 know if/when they will release the ASUS DSL-N15?

as the RT-N15 seems to be router only whist the DSL-N15 seems to be their modem/router counterpart.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.