Asus RT-N11 EZ Wireless Router

Installation

Installation

Setting up the Asus RT-N11 was a doddle. Simply plug the relevent cables in and press the EZ-Setup button along with the EZ setup tab on the screen and follow the on screen instructions :
 
setup1 setup 2
setup 4 setup 4
 
That is the easiest way to set the router up, but obviously there are much more detailed configurations available when you enter the router's address (default 192.168.1.1). Here are a few snaps of the router's configuration utility:
 
setup5
 
Nothing too special here, although an interesting feature is the ability to rotate the network keys, thereby increasing the level of security.
 
Wireless VIP Multi SSID

Perhaps the most distinguishing feature of the RT-N11 is its ability to set up separate SSID's and allocate bandwidth to each individual network (see VIP on previous page). I was surprised how easy this process was, and in no time at all I was able to set up a 2nd PC as a download PC with my 3rd PC as a gaming PC, each with its own network and bandwidth allocation. A fine idea from Asus and definitely the major selling point of the RT-N11.
 
setup 6 DHCP server
 
The WAN/LAN configuration and setup section is pretty much a standard affair, offering similar settings as most other routers in this class. One of the attractions of the RT-N11 is that it is so easy to set up, yet can be as complex as you require. A beginner shouldn't have too much to worry about, yet the router offers a massive array of settings to get the optimum performance/security from the router.
 
Port forwarding Firewall
 
Port forwarding was a cinch to set up, as was the firewall. While the firewall is nothing extraordinary, it is more than adequate and equal to other hardware firewalls in this sector, offering ample protection from the hackers out there.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-10-2008, 14:08:57

w3bbo
Touting multiple SSID capability along with the wireless N standard, the RT-N11 certainly seems to have what it takes to be a top router. Our latest review puts the Asus router to the test.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...174806102s.jpg

Check out the review here.

17-10-2008, 17:50:05

ionicle
damn good review, i must say

good job

definatly better than some of them out there

i think i'll stick with my draytec 2800 tho

17-10-2008, 17:57:04

w3bbo
Glad you liked it. Must say it was perhaps the most difficult review I've written yet as there is only so much you can say about a router to make it an interesting read lol.

20-10-2008, 06:54:22

cybermaniac
if it had 100/1000 ethernet, that review would have had me buying one right now.

It is rare to get such a fine review of routers, especially one so feature packed as this.

I'm currently struggling to find a router with gigabit ethernet, and (damn) will probs have to invest in a 100/1000 switch (stupid NAS).

20-10-2008, 12:43:29

-VK-
Cybermanic - Keep an eye out for the ASUS RT-N15...they should be arriving in retail fairly soon.

21-10-2008, 09:34:09

Rastalovich
Was just gonna echo what cyber said.

Am keeping an eye out for the Linksys n- `something` with gig switches in it, but it appeared in the states only to disappear just as quickly. >.<

Definately look out for what -VK- said, cos apart from that, the router looks great.

21-10-2008, 10:37:32

cybermaniac
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='-VK-'
Cybermanic - Keep an eye out for the ASUS RT-N15...they should be arriving in retail fairly soon.
as some of the more chavvier people around my area would say "that looks mint" or "thats lush".

so I would definatly consider that one. Especially if it is the same sort of quality as my 3com (if not better).

21-10-2008, 13:16:45

-VK-
Yeah the N-15 is lovely, not sure on a UK stockist just yet, but I know stock just landed in the UK today...should be available in retail / e-tail within the week I guess.

Hope that helps =)

Edit: Something nice about ASUS Rast? Cor...you feeling ok? :P:P:P

26-10-2008, 14:13:33

cybermaniac

27-10-2008, 09:21:54

Rastalovich
I`m so glad u bumped this, cos the one I`m after has turned up in the UK, http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000SOFU1C/ref=nosim/8659605-000-21

05-12-2008, 12:55:56

cybermaniac
sorry for dredging up the old thread, however does anyone know if the ASUS RT-N15 or any of its derivatives come in modem/router combinations?

as they only seem to do it for cable modems? :/

edit:

does any1 know if/when they will release the ASUS DSL-N15?

as the RT-N15 seems to be router only whist the DSL-N15 seems to be their modem/router counterpart.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.