Asus RT-N11 EZ Wireless Router

Features

Features

Being an 'N' class router, the range of the wireless connectivity could potentially extend up to 70 metres away from the base unit, which is double that of 'G' class routers. 70 metres is in ideal conditions though, and to be quite honest I would be quite happy if the router was able to reach my loft study from its position downstairs. Obstacles such as doors, wireless phones, cavity insulation and microwaves all play their part in diminishing connectivity and in a 4-story house, every Mbit counts. Hopefully, with the RT-N11 utilising MIMO technology, this shouldn't be a problem.

 
EZ ConfigEZ Config

EZ Config allows users of the RT-N11 to easily setup protected networks with just a simple button-push. The WPS (WiFi Protected Setup) will do the rest for you, setting your firewall and wireless access automatically. This is also a very secure way of connecting to the router as it is manual and requires the button push to enable your pc to connect. This feature can be turned off in the router's configuration panel but it is a useful addition for those who are paranoid about outsiders connecting to the network despite the router's extensive security features.
 
 
EZ Management 

Remember I mentioned VIP zones previously? Well EZ management allows the RT-N11 to easily set up and configure up to 4 networks in 1. Trusted members of your network can enjoy their own WiFi security and bandwidth. Great for those of us who have youngsters wanting online gaming while the wife wants to catch up on the latest soap while you er...well do what ever you want to do without the rest of the family interrupting your bandwidth. Each VIP zone can be allocated bandwidth with various usage scenarios as well as supporting SNMP and multiple SSID, VLAN, WDS and WMM functions. In testing, this worked a treat as my game ping was unaffected while my 2nd PC was downloading windows updates. Obviously, your download bandwidth will be affected depending on how you split your allocation but this is a limit of your ISP, not the router.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-10-2008, 14:08:57

w3bbo
Touting multiple SSID capability along with the wireless N standard, the RT-N11 certainly seems to have what it takes to be a top router. Our latest review puts the Asus router to the test.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...174806102s.jpg

Check out the review here.

17-10-2008, 17:50:05

ionicle
damn good review, i must say

good job

definatly better than some of them out there

i think i'll stick with my draytec 2800 tho

17-10-2008, 17:57:04

w3bbo
Glad you liked it. Must say it was perhaps the most difficult review I've written yet as there is only so much you can say about a router to make it an interesting read lol.

20-10-2008, 06:54:22

cybermaniac
if it had 100/1000 ethernet, that review would have had me buying one right now.

It is rare to get such a fine review of routers, especially one so feature packed as this.

I'm currently struggling to find a router with gigabit ethernet, and (damn) will probs have to invest in a 100/1000 switch (stupid NAS).

20-10-2008, 12:43:29

-VK-
Cybermanic - Keep an eye out for the ASUS RT-N15...they should be arriving in retail fairly soon.

21-10-2008, 09:34:09

Rastalovich
Was just gonna echo what cyber said.

Am keeping an eye out for the Linksys n- `something` with gig switches in it, but it appeared in the states only to disappear just as quickly. >.<

Definately look out for what -VK- said, cos apart from that, the router looks great.

21-10-2008, 10:37:32

cybermaniac
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='-VK-'
Cybermanic - Keep an eye out for the ASUS RT-N15...they should be arriving in retail fairly soon.
as some of the more chavvier people around my area would say "that looks mint" or "thats lush".

so I would definatly consider that one. Especially if it is the same sort of quality as my 3com (if not better).

21-10-2008, 13:16:45

-VK-
Yeah the N-15 is lovely, not sure on a UK stockist just yet, but I know stock just landed in the UK today...should be available in retail / e-tail within the week I guess.

Hope that helps =)

Edit: Something nice about ASUS Rast? Cor...you feeling ok? :P:P:P

26-10-2008, 14:13:33

cybermaniac

27-10-2008, 09:21:54

Rastalovich
I`m so glad u bumped this, cos the one I`m after has turned up in the UK, http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000SOFU1C/ref=nosim/8659605-000-21

05-12-2008, 12:55:56

cybermaniac
sorry for dredging up the old thread, however does anyone know if the ASUS RT-N15 or any of its derivatives come in modem/router combinations?

as they only seem to do it for cable modems? :/

edit:

does any1 know if/when they will release the ASUS DSL-N15?

as the RT-N15 seems to be router only whist the DSL-N15 seems to be their modem/router counterpart.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.