Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier

Conclusion

Conclusion 
 
When I first setup the Veris Multimedia Station I wasn't terribly impressed, and was preparing myself for a fairly bad review. The initial configuration window you are greeted with, to setup the front panel screen, has a bewildering amount of options, and takes a bit of getting used to. The media software, however, took moments to find all my media and was a joy to use and  incredibly easy to navigate - even with a remote.
 
The front panel device itself is also very nice, with the build quality being very high. Although it would have been nice to see the whole front panel made from aluminium, the plastic used is incredibly sturdy and doesn't flex or creak. The aluminium knobs are a wise choice by Antec, and it makes using them a real delight. The LCD itself is also very good, and is incredibly clear and easy to read from all but the most extreme angles. 
 
If you are looking to build a media PC, but don't wish to buy a new case, then I would strongly recommend you take a look at the Veris Multimedia Station Premier. Priced at £70.49 it's much cheaper than buying a whole new HTPC case, but gives you the full remote functionality that such cases offer, as well as giving you a funky LCD with quick control buttons. I was hoping the LCD would be worth a look for enthusiasts, with the possibility of wider compatibility with applications such as Everest, but unfortunately that isn't there yet. However, that isn't the target market, and for a HTPC it doesn't get much better than this.
 
The Good
+ Control your PC remotely
+ Power on/off functionality
+ Displays the time even when the pc is off
+ Highly customisable software package
+ Solid build quality
+ Media software is incredibly easy to use
 
The Mediocre
* Not an all aluminium front panel
* LCD setup software has a scary amount of options, meaning it takes quite a while to grasp them all
 
The Bad
- Not compatible with outside applications such as Everest.   
 
  
 
Overclock3D would like to thank Antec for providing today's review sample. Discuss in our forums here.    
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2009, 16:59:29

Luigi
Looking to jazz up the front of your pc, or turn it into a HTPC? Maybe the Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier is for you.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...185903215s.jpg

Read the full review here.

30-06-2009, 17:13:34

Msm2
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.

30-06-2009, 17:15:31

zak4994
Nice review as usual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.
Not all Aluminium so be careful there.

30-06-2009, 17:19:44

Msm2
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.

30-06-2009, 17:21:18

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.

30-06-2009, 17:22:10

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.
Was what I was trying to say before.

30-06-2009, 17:31:58

Msm2
Antec300 case may look ok.

06-07-2009, 04:54:39

mayhem
been reading though this a couple of time now.

Ive come to the conclusion a 70 7" lcd touch screen is still a better option.

when you consider the fact that the lcd screen isnt compatible with any other software and to be honest is quite a old technology and why do you need it to tell you you have an email when there is plenty of free software that will do that any way.

All so consider what it is, its not really that good. You could chop that down to 1 bay and lose the knobs off it as really who in the modern day world is going to walk over to it and start pressing buttons and fiddling with knobs when they have a remote. If they removed that section and just left the LCD and IR receiver and dropped the price By 20 it would make it worth while.

Looks to big and clumsy in its present form.

06-07-2009, 05:23:48

Luigi
There is one you can get without the dials and buttons, which is also cheaper, however, I'm not sure how much cheaper.

I agree that perhaps people aren't going to walk over to their Case, but for 70 the Veris is still a cheaper alternative to replacing your current case with a HTPC case.

It's worth remembering it comes with a remote as well, which is where a normal 7" LCD can't compete.

06-07-2009, 05:30:14

mayhem
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.

06-07-2009, 05:35:58

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!

06-07-2009, 05:49:22

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!
Im no technology wizard lol. Just ignorant to people whom by pre bought things .. Need to consider that next i think.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.