Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier

Software

Software
 
For anyone who has used iMon software before, the screen shots that follow will look pretty familiar. The iMedian HD package is used for browsing through files and playing media. It uses a simple navigation system, which only needs the 4 directional keys on your keyboard.  You can also scroll through the menus using the controls on the Multimedia Station or with the included remote. The software has a whole host of features, and covering all of them in detail would take a great deal of time indeed. So today I will be covering the basics, such as ease of use and navigation.
 
iMon Software
 
By selecting a field you are taken to the sub folders. Selecting can be done by either pressing enter/select, or by moving right. Once you have selected the field, all the sub folders which contain files under that field are brought up. In this case, a selection of photography folders were brought forward. The sub-menus are navigated in the same way as the main menus, and you can get back to the main menu by pressing 'esc' or going left. In essence, the iMedian software is just presenting Windows Explorer in a easy to use and manageable way.
 
iMon secondary Menu
 
A feature which I rather liked was the little dial located in the top left of the screen. It tells you how many sub-folders you have scrolled through (number in the centre), while the ring around the outside fills up the further you get through the folder, kind of like a progress bar. 
 
iMon scroller
 
As with all software, there is a variety of settings you can change to customise the appearance and layout of the software to suit you. The ability to adjust the font size could be very useful for those who forget to put their glasses on, especially if their screen/tv is at a distance. The software also caters for those with colour deficient vision, with the ability to change the background and text colour to your own specifications. You can also clearly see the navigational arrows which direct you around the menus.  
 
iMon Settings Menu     
 
At first I didn't really like the software, but the more I used it the more it grew on me. Providing you tell it where all your media is, it's quick to pick it up and organise it. Unfortunately it doesn't like songs purchased on iTunes, but providing you have them in hard copy it shouldn't be too much of a problem. The ability to customise the look,  quite extensively at that, is great, and makes the software suitable for just about anyone.   
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2009, 16:59:29

Luigi
Looking to jazz up the front of your pc, or turn it into a HTPC? Maybe the Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier is for you.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...185903215s.jpg

Read the full review here.

30-06-2009, 17:13:34

Msm2
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.

30-06-2009, 17:15:31

zak4994
Nice review as usual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.
Not all Aluminium so be careful there.

30-06-2009, 17:19:44

Msm2
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.

30-06-2009, 17:21:18

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.

30-06-2009, 17:22:10

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.
Was what I was trying to say before.

30-06-2009, 17:31:58

Msm2
Antec300 case may look ok.

06-07-2009, 04:54:39

mayhem
been reading though this a couple of time now.

Ive come to the conclusion a 70 7" lcd touch screen is still a better option.

when you consider the fact that the lcd screen isnt compatible with any other software and to be honest is quite a old technology and why do you need it to tell you you have an email when there is plenty of free software that will do that any way.

All so consider what it is, its not really that good. You could chop that down to 1 bay and lose the knobs off it as really who in the modern day world is going to walk over to it and start pressing buttons and fiddling with knobs when they have a remote. If they removed that section and just left the LCD and IR receiver and dropped the price By 20 it would make it worth while.

Looks to big and clumsy in its present form.

06-07-2009, 05:23:48

Luigi
There is one you can get without the dials and buttons, which is also cheaper, however, I'm not sure how much cheaper.

I agree that perhaps people aren't going to walk over to their Case, but for 70 the Veris is still a cheaper alternative to replacing your current case with a HTPC case.

It's worth remembering it comes with a remote as well, which is where a normal 7" LCD can't compete.

06-07-2009, 05:30:14

mayhem
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.

06-07-2009, 05:35:58

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!

06-07-2009, 05:49:22

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!
Im no technology wizard lol. Just ignorant to people whom by pre bought things .. Need to consider that next i think.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.