Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier

Installation

Installation
 
Installing the Multimedia Station should have been easy: 'should' being the operative word. Unfortunately the chassis which currently houses my pc has small air intakes between each 5 1/2" drive bay, making it impossible to slide in the double height Multimedia station. This is something you will need to bear in mind before you buy - check to make sure you have a case with 5 1/2" bays directly next to eachother, with no gap in-between. 
 
The first stage of installation involves installing the 24pin pass through. This cable allows the Multimedia Station to draw off the PSU's 5v stand by power rail, in turn allowing it to display the time even when the pc is turned off. You need to install the pass through between your PSU and Motherboard, then run the group of three wires to the drive bay and put the plug into the socket located on the small PCB (Left Picture).
 
 Antec Multimedia Station ATX cable Antec Multimedia Station Back
 
The next step is to wire up the USB so that the Multimedia Station can communicate with your computer. There are two ways of doing this; you can either run the USB lead out the back of your case and into a standard USB port, or use the included adaptor to connect directly with a motherboard header. The power switch will also need to be wired into the device, which will allow you to boot your computer via the included remote. To do this you wire your case's current power switch into the Multimedia Station's PCB, then take the new power switch lead from the PCB to your motherboard - Voilà, hardware installation is complete.
 
Antec Multimedia Station USB adaptor Antec Multimedia Station Power SW  
 
Once the hardware side of the installation is out of the way, you will need to boot up your pc and begin the software installation. Installation is fairly quick, and after a restart you are ready to go. Before going into the media handling side of things, you will need to setup the display. This involves selecting which remote you will be using, what you want the display to show and setting up RSS feeds and Email accounts. All of this is fairly self explanatory, but can be a bit daunting with the wealth of options. Once you get to grips with what each button does though, it doesn't take long to setup. 
 
 iMon setup  
 
Before looking further at the media side of things, I thought I would take a look at what sort of system information the display can handle. I was expecting something similar to Logitech G15, displaying ram usage, maybe a temperature or two and CPU usage. I was wrong;  instead it just scrolls through your system specs, with things like "Windows Vista Home Premium" and "Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600". Not willing to give up, I fired up Everest as this worked incredibly well with my G15, but alas, it wasn't compatible with the display. For the enthusiasts out there, I'm sure someone will find a way of doing it, but until then, looking at detailed system information is off the cards. 
 
Here are some shots of the Multimedia Display showing various bits of information.
 
 Antec Multimedia Display System Information
Time - System Information
 
Antec Multimedia Station System Info Antec Multimedia Station Itunes Information
System Information - iTunes  
 
Having looked at the device up close, it's about time we had a look at the bundled software. Head on over to the next page where I take a look at the iMon software.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2009, 16:59:29

Luigi
Looking to jazz up the front of your pc, or turn it into a HTPC? Maybe the Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier is for you.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...185903215s.jpg

Read the full review here.

30-06-2009, 17:13:34

Msm2
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.

30-06-2009, 17:15:31

zak4994
Nice review as usual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.
Not all Aluminium so be careful there.

30-06-2009, 17:19:44

Msm2
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.

30-06-2009, 17:21:18

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.

30-06-2009, 17:22:10

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.
Was what I was trying to say before.

30-06-2009, 17:31:58

Msm2
Antec300 case may look ok.

06-07-2009, 04:54:39

mayhem
been reading though this a couple of time now.

Ive come to the conclusion a 70 7" lcd touch screen is still a better option.

when you consider the fact that the lcd screen isnt compatible with any other software and to be honest is quite a old technology and why do you need it to tell you you have an email when there is plenty of free software that will do that any way.

All so consider what it is, its not really that good. You could chop that down to 1 bay and lose the knobs off it as really who in the modern day world is going to walk over to it and start pressing buttons and fiddling with knobs when they have a remote. If they removed that section and just left the LCD and IR receiver and dropped the price By 20 it would make it worth while.

Looks to big and clumsy in its present form.

06-07-2009, 05:23:48

Luigi
There is one you can get without the dials and buttons, which is also cheaper, however, I'm not sure how much cheaper.

I agree that perhaps people aren't going to walk over to their Case, but for 70 the Veris is still a cheaper alternative to replacing your current case with a HTPC case.

It's worth remembering it comes with a remote as well, which is where a normal 7" LCD can't compete.

06-07-2009, 05:30:14

mayhem
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.

06-07-2009, 05:35:58

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!

06-07-2009, 05:49:22

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!
Im no technology wizard lol. Just ignorant to people whom by pre bought things .. Need to consider that next i think.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.