Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier

Introduction

Introduction
 
Media Centre PC's have only really emerged in the last couple of years, and are now big business, with many companies producing a variety of media orientated products. Antec are one of the contenders in this new market, and today we will be looking at part of their Veris series; the Veris Multimedia Station Premier.
 
When building a Media PC most will buy a specific HTPC (Home Theatre Personal Computer) chassis, which will have all the bells and whistles,  and will therefore make integration with your living room simple. This is all fine, unless you already own a case which isn't quite so suitable for HTPC use.  For people in this pickle, Antec have come up with the Multimedia Station, which  offers a way of upgrading your current case to make it living room and remote control friendly. Here is a complete features list for the Multimedia Station:
 
  • IR receiver with LCD display to see system information, adjust the volume, check email status, and more
  • IR receiver mounts in external 5.25" drive bay
  • Sleek remote with incredible functionality, allowing user to play and manage media, change settings, and browse via the easy-to-use Thumb Pad Mouse controller
  • IMEDIAN software allows the playback of most media formats through internal codecs, full 1080p HD support, and a simple and convenient graphical interface
  • Support for CD/DVD, removable storage, network media, and digital/TV analog cards
  • Fully compatible with all versions of Windows XP and Vista 
The LCD is undoubtedly the eye catcher with this device, and should make your PC stand out from the crowd, adding a little bit of pizazz to the drive bays, which are often pretty dull. The compatibility with network media etc is welcome, as is the ability to work on XP or Vista. Looking on Antec's site it would seem the drivers also work with Windows 7, although they haven't been certified for use and as such there may be bugs present. The features don't give a lot away about the appearance of the device, so it's about time we had a look....  
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-06-2009, 16:59:29

Luigi
Looking to jazz up the front of your pc, or turn it into a HTPC? Maybe the Antec Veris Multimedia Station Premier is for you.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...185903215s.jpg

Read the full review here.

30-06-2009, 17:13:34

Msm2
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.

30-06-2009, 17:15:31

zak4994
Nice review as usual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A very good review,been looking at the Veris for a while. After reading this review I will be buying one in the near future.
Not all Aluminium so be careful there.

30-06-2009, 17:19:44

Msm2
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.

30-06-2009, 17:21:18

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
A real good look (in the flesh) at the front panel first.
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.

30-06-2009, 17:22:10

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
I have to say it doesn't look cheap, and looks good for plastic. However, if you have an alu case it just wont look as good.
Was what I was trying to say before.

30-06-2009, 17:31:58

Msm2
Antec300 case may look ok.

06-07-2009, 04:54:39

mayhem
been reading though this a couple of time now.

Ive come to the conclusion a 70 7" lcd touch screen is still a better option.

when you consider the fact that the lcd screen isnt compatible with any other software and to be honest is quite a old technology and why do you need it to tell you you have an email when there is plenty of free software that will do that any way.

All so consider what it is, its not really that good. You could chop that down to 1 bay and lose the knobs off it as really who in the modern day world is going to walk over to it and start pressing buttons and fiddling with knobs when they have a remote. If they removed that section and just left the LCD and IR receiver and dropped the price By 20 it would make it worth while.

Looks to big and clumsy in its present form.

06-07-2009, 05:23:48

Luigi
There is one you can get without the dials and buttons, which is also cheaper, however, I'm not sure how much cheaper.

I agree that perhaps people aren't going to walk over to their Case, but for 70 the Veris is still a cheaper alternative to replacing your current case with a HTPC case.

It's worth remembering it comes with a remote as well, which is where a normal 7" LCD can't compete.

06-07-2009, 05:30:14

mayhem
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.

06-07-2009, 05:35:58

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
to be honist i may disagree as i just check lillput's prices on a 7" tft touch screen and you can now get one for 60 then throw in a Windows remote 10 to 15 and you are sorted for 75.

again a much better option. the only downfall is that you will need to mod it. But that's the difference this is a pre bought option. I keep forgetting that.
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!

06-07-2009, 05:49:22

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Yeah, for people like you that certainly sounds like a good option to choose, however, not everyone is a techno wizard like you- shame on them!
Im no technology wizard lol. Just ignorant to people whom by pre bought things .. Need to consider that next i think.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.