Super Talent PC2-8000 DDR2 2GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

With the ability to reach speeds up to DDR2-1132 or latencies as low as 4-4-4-12 when pumped with 2.4v the Super Talent T1000UX2G5 kit is certainly no slouch. The use of Micron D9 IC's has also gone a long way to ensuring that these modules will be a popular choice for the overclocking community, and also a 'safe bet' when maximum compatibility is required.

As you will have seen in the pictures, the modules feature some hefty aluminium heatspreaders that do a good job of keeping the modules cool, but their looks may not be to everyone's taste.

The kit sells at SuperTalent's UK distributer at the price of £269.95 . This is a decent value considering similar speed kits from the likes of Corsair are around £400, and so the modules have attained a price score of 8.


Pro's
• Ability to run up to DDR2-1132 at stock timings.
• Capable of 4-4-4-12 timings at stock DDR2-1000 speeds.
• Competitive price in the UK

Con's
• Bland packaging *see update below*
• Heatspreader appearance brings mixed feelings.


Recommended Award

A big thanks to Super Talent for making this review possible.

Discuss this review in our forums.

Update on Packaging/Appearance

SuperTalent have got back to us about their packaging and the modules appearance. They have said that their primary goal is to get out good quality, fast and reliable products right now, but the modules will be updated in a few months time with gamers in mind. We'll keep you informed

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-01-2007, 15:31:29

JN
"Super Talent may be relatively unheard of in the UK market but they are certainly no newcomers to the memory scene. Today I'll be looking at their high-end T1000UX25G modules to see how they fair in the fierce DDR2 market."

Linky

10-01-2007, 17:12:10

NickS
This is probably the first OC3D review I'm really saddened by.

XMS man, please if you have time retest these! GKX's should do 600MHz so easy!

Please make sure you were at

Twr - 6

Trrd - 5

Twtr - 3

The RAM should have done 600MHz 5-5-5-5-15 @ 2.5v.

At 1000MHz they should do

CAS - 4

TRCD - 4

TRP - 4

TRAS - 7 (Or Lower, try 6, 5 & 4.)

TRC - 12

TWR - 6

TRRD - 5

TWTR - 3



With 2.2-2.35v.

If the BIOS doesn't have the proper RAM settings available, you can get Memset.

Oh, and test with active cooling (of some sort). D9 pumps out a lot better results with a breeze.

GL man.

10-01-2007, 18:00:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
This is probably the first OC3D review I'm really saddened by.

XMS man, please if you have time retest these! GKX's should do 600MHz so easy!

Please make sure you were at

Twr - 6

Trrd - 5

Twtr - 3

The RAM should have done 600MHz 5-5-5-5-15 @ 2.5v.

At 1000MHz they should do

CAS - 4

TRCD - 4

TRP - 4

TRAS - 7 (Or Lower, try 6, 5 & 4.)

TRC - 12

TWR - 6

TRRD - 5

TWTR - 3



With 2.2-2.35v.

If the BIOS doesn't have the proper RAM settings available, you can get Memset.

Oh, and test with active cooling (of some sort). D9 pumps out a lot better results with a breeze.

GL man.
Its not having it i'm afraid mate. It does very little over 566mhz with stability.

As for active cooling - it makes it a bit unfair on previously tested modules.

10-01-2007, 18:52:54

NickS
Wow really? That's some TERRIBLE GKX then. Jeez. Most D9GMH does better.

Nevertheless, great review Jim

10-01-2007, 19:01:44

NoL
Could we see a different approach?

Possibly set for 4/3/3/8 and then go for max mhz at 2.4v vs just a show of a rating?

10-01-2007, 19:04:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Wow really? That's some TERRIBLE GKX then. Jeez. Most D9GMH does better.

Nevertheless, great review Jim
Looking around, many of the other reviews of these kits haven't done even 566mhz

I just tried again, and its a total non-booter at even 580mhz The 680i chipset has many more options over the P965/975X so mebe i'll explore some of those tomorrow.

10-01-2007, 21:14:00

NoL
Um Nicks, GKX generally wants more than 2.4V thats why.

11-01-2007, 05:01:46

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NoL'
Could we see a different approach?

Possibly set for 4/3/3/8 and then go for max mhz at 2.4v vs just a show of a rating?
Unfortunately it wouldn't even go down to 4-3-3-12 @ 2.4v

11-01-2007, 05:39:30

GrimReaper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Unfortunately it wouldn't even go down to 4-3-3-12 @ 2.4v
Nice review Jim

looks like really badly bined GKX memory 4-4-4-12 at 2.4V

my memory does 1050 4-4-4-12 with 2.2V

cellshock GKX and GMH memory have 8 layer PCB this really helps them OC better and handle more voltages

11-01-2007, 23:25:32

NickS
8-Layer PCB is gimmicky IMO. If it was that good, other manufs would be all over it too.

@ NOL, I don't think GKX likes that much more voltage than GMH. All I know is, GMH is very sensitive to voltage and WILL degrade >2.3v.

11-01-2007, 23:29:57

NoL
8-Layer PCB isnt a gimmick, its been proven time in and time out to increase the tolerances and life span of the ram.

12-01-2007, 02:24:03

Pyr0
other manufacturers are starting to jump on the 8 layer pcbs for their highest kits like the ocz flexXLC mem and teamgroup pc2-9600 & pc2-8500 C4

as well as improving the voltage tolerance it also helps to decrease the ammount of noise, crosstalk and interference of signals allowing for more stable operation at higher speeds/voltages
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.