Super Talent PC2-8000 DDR2 2GB Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6700 "Conroe"
Motherboard: Asus Striker Extreme 680i (unmodded)
Graphics Card: Sapphire ATI X1900XT 512mb
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply: PCP&C Silencer 850w
Operating System: Windows XP SP2



Settings

The latest wave of motherboard chipsets from Nvidia (680i) and ATI (RD600) have brought with them an interesting feature called memory 'unlinking'. This allows for the memory speed to be run independently of the CPU's front-side bus, and essentially allows us to benchmark memory at various speeds without changing any other system settings such as CPU speed. This feature has been used in the benchmarks below, and for this reason results in these tests cannot be compared with any results from previous OC3D reviews.

Stock Settings (500mhz / 5-5-5-15 / 2.2v)

CPUZ @ 500mhz CPUZ @ 500mhz

The first test involved ensuring that the memory could run stable at stock speeds. This may seem a bit of a strange test, but unfortunately some modules we've tested here at OC3D in the past have fallen over at this first hurdle.

I'm pleased to say that the Super Talent passed the stock testing with flying colours, managing to run at 5-5-5-15/DDR2-1000 with 2.2v on our Asus Striker Extreme test bed.

Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings (566 / 5-5-5-15 / 2.5v)

CPUZ @ 566mhz CPUZ @ 566mhz

Without sacrificing the memory latency I set out to find out the maximum frequency that these modules were capable of. By increasing the voltage to 2.4v I was able to push the modules up to 566mhz (DDR2-1132) - a reasonably respectable overclock of over 10% with only a 0.2v increase in voltage.

Lowest Timings @ Stock Frequency (500mhz / 4-4-4-12 / 2.4v)

CPUZ @ 4-4-4-12 CPUZ @ 4-4-4-12

It is well known that gamers prefer to run their memory at low latencies (rather than high frequencies) as this is an easily tweakable setting and provides decent benefits in most games.

After a little tweaking the modules managed impressive timings of 4-4-4-12 - a very respectable result for modules designed to run at more relaxed timings of 5-5-5-15.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-01-2007, 15:31:29

JN
"Super Talent may be relatively unheard of in the UK market but they are certainly no newcomers to the memory scene. Today I'll be looking at their high-end T1000UX25G modules to see how they fair in the fierce DDR2 market."

LinkyQuote

10-01-2007, 17:12:10

NickS
This is probably the first OC3D review I'm really saddened by.

XMS man, please if you have time retest these! GKX's should do 600MHz so easy!

Please make sure you were at

Twr - 6

Trrd - 5

Twtr - 3

The RAM should have done 600MHz 5-5-5-5-15 @ 2.5v.

At 1000MHz they should do

CAS - 4

TRCD - 4

TRP - 4

TRAS - 7 (Or Lower, try 6, 5 & 4.)

TRC - 12

TWR - 6

TRRD - 5

TWTR - 3



With 2.2-2.35v.

If the BIOS doesn't have the proper RAM settings available, you can get Memset.

Oh, and test with active cooling (of some sort). D9 pumps out a lot better results with a breeze.

GL man.Quote

10-01-2007, 18:00:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
This is probably the first OC3D review I'm really saddened by.

XMS man, please if you have time retest these! GKX's should do 600MHz so easy!

Please make sure you were at

Twr - 6

Trrd - 5

Twtr - 3

The RAM should have done 600MHz 5-5-5-5-15 @ 2.5v.

At 1000MHz they should do

CAS - 4

TRCD - 4

TRP - 4

TRAS - 7 (Or Lower, try 6, 5 & 4.)

TRC - 12

TWR - 6

TRRD - 5

TWTR - 3



With 2.2-2.35v.

If the BIOS doesn't have the proper RAM settings available, you can get Memset.

Oh, and test with active cooling (of some sort). D9 pumps out a lot better results with a breeze.

GL man.
Its not having it i'm afraid mate. It does very little over 566mhz with stability.

As for active cooling - it makes it a bit unfair on previously tested modules.Quote
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.