Super Talent PC2-8000 DDR2 2GB Kit

Introduction & Specs

Introduction

With its headquarters in San Jose, California, Super Talent have been designing and manufacturing memory modules of all shapes and sizes for over 20 years. This may come as a shock to some of us, as in the UK at least Super Talent is a relatively unheard of name.

The Super Talent product line is divided into two major categories: Flash memory and DDR/2 memory. Today I'll be taking a look at Super Talent's high-end overclocker orientated DDR2 memory modules with speeds rated at DDR2-1000 and timings of 5-5-5-15. But first let's take at what Super Talent say about themselves:

Engineered in Silicon Valley
Counting 20 years of Memory Industry experience, Super Talent relies on technical research and its commitment to product development to deliver leading edge memory products to the market. Remaining at the fore-front of today's fast paced evolution in technology, Super Talent holds multiple patents on DRAM and Flash module design as well as on manufacturing processes. Actually, Super Talent is ranked among the top memory solutions manufacturers in terms of total patents applied under memory device categories.

State-of-the-Art Manufacturing
Super Talent utilizes advanced technology and leading-edge components to produce high quality products with outstanding reliability. Our US based production facility stands as one of the largest and most advanced memory module factories in the USA.

Quality Assurance
Sold under the brand name SuperTalentTM, every memory product from the production line is subject to essential hardware and software testing standards for consistency and functionality. Our memory modules are rigorously qualified in Super Talent's compatibility labs, and are then tested and approved by many top motherboard manufacturers. Our intensive quality control and testing procedures are designed to ensure the highest possible product quality.

Service and Support
SuperTalent memory modules and USB drives are backed with excellent service and support, and a limited lifetime warranty.


Specifications

The following information has been taken directly from Super Talent's website:

Description
The T1000UX2G5 is a high performance 2GB kit of DDR2-1000 DIMMs that supports extreme clock speeds. It is ideal for Gamers, power users and overclockers, and is perfectly suited for the fastest new Intel and AMD platforms.

This kit has been tested and is guaranteed to operate at 1000MHz at 5-5-5-15 latencies at 2.2 volts. It has been tested as a matched pair of modules in a dual channel motherboard to ensure ultimate reliability, compatibility and performance.

These modules are clad in our custom blue cast aluminum high-efficiency (HE) heatspreaders for optimum thermal performance. Efficient cooling is essential to optimize speed and to preserve the life of the DIMMs.

Module Features
- 2x 240-pin DDR2 DIMMs
- Non-ECC, Unbuffered
- 2GB kit (2x 128Mx64)
- DDR2-1000, 5-5-5-15 latencies
- Dual rank
- Chip Architecture: 2x 16 chips, 64Mx8
- Cast aluminum high-efficiency (HE) heatspreader
- SPD*: DDR2-800, 5-5-5-15 latencies
- Made in USA
- Super Talent Lifetime Warranty

Test Specs
These modules are tested and guaranteed to operate at these specs.
- DDR2-1000 / PC2-8000
- 5-5-5-15 Latencies (CAS, tRCD, tRP, tRAS)
- Test Voltage: 2.2V
- Tested on Asus P5WD2
- Tested as a matched pair in a dual channel motherboard

Super Talent PC2-8000 Specs Super Talent PC2-8000 D9GKK

It's great to see that Super Talent modules are provided with a lifetime warranty, however they neglect to mention if this warranty covers the modules running at voltages higher than the rated 2.2v. As these modules are marketed at overclockers it would be good to see the warranty conditions clearly stated on the website.

The T1000UX2G5 modules are double sided and make use of D9GKX IC's manufactured by Micron. I've read mixed reports on how these IC's perform, but in general they should be better at achieving higher frequencies than the D9GMH used by many other manufacturers to achieve DDR2-1000.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-01-2007, 15:31:29

JN
"Super Talent may be relatively unheard of in the UK market but they are certainly no newcomers to the memory scene. Today I'll be looking at their high-end T1000UX25G modules to see how they fair in the fierce DDR2 market."

Linky

10-01-2007, 17:12:10

NickS
This is probably the first OC3D review I'm really saddened by.

XMS man, please if you have time retest these! GKX's should do 600MHz so easy!

Please make sure you were at

Twr - 6

Trrd - 5

Twtr - 3

The RAM should have done 600MHz 5-5-5-5-15 @ 2.5v.

At 1000MHz they should do

CAS - 4

TRCD - 4

TRP - 4

TRAS - 7 (Or Lower, try 6, 5 & 4.)

TRC - 12

TWR - 6

TRRD - 5

TWTR - 3



With 2.2-2.35v.

If the BIOS doesn't have the proper RAM settings available, you can get Memset.

Oh, and test with active cooling (of some sort). D9 pumps out a lot better results with a breeze.

GL man.

10-01-2007, 18:00:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
This is probably the first OC3D review I'm really saddened by.

XMS man, please if you have time retest these! GKX's should do 600MHz so easy!

Please make sure you were at

Twr - 6

Trrd - 5

Twtr - 3

The RAM should have done 600MHz 5-5-5-5-15 @ 2.5v.

At 1000MHz they should do

CAS - 4

TRCD - 4

TRP - 4

TRAS - 7 (Or Lower, try 6, 5 & 4.)

TRC - 12

TWR - 6

TRRD - 5

TWTR - 3



With 2.2-2.35v.

If the BIOS doesn't have the proper RAM settings available, you can get Memset.

Oh, and test with active cooling (of some sort). D9 pumps out a lot better results with a breeze.

GL man.
Its not having it i'm afraid mate. It does very little over 566mhz with stability.

As for active cooling - it makes it a bit unfair on previously tested modules.

10-01-2007, 18:52:54

NickS
Wow really? That's some TERRIBLE GKX then. Jeez. Most D9GMH does better.

Nevertheless, great review Jim

10-01-2007, 19:01:44

NoL
Could we see a different approach?

Possibly set for 4/3/3/8 and then go for max mhz at 2.4v vs just a show of a rating?

10-01-2007, 19:04:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Wow really? That's some TERRIBLE GKX then. Jeez. Most D9GMH does better.

Nevertheless, great review Jim
Looking around, many of the other reviews of these kits haven't done even 566mhz

I just tried again, and its a total non-booter at even 580mhz The 680i chipset has many more options over the P965/975X so mebe i'll explore some of those tomorrow.

10-01-2007, 21:14:00

NoL
Um Nicks, GKX generally wants more than 2.4V thats why.

11-01-2007, 05:01:46

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NoL'
Could we see a different approach?

Possibly set for 4/3/3/8 and then go for max mhz at 2.4v vs just a show of a rating?
Unfortunately it wouldn't even go down to 4-3-3-12 @ 2.4v

11-01-2007, 05:39:30

GrimReaper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Unfortunately it wouldn't even go down to 4-3-3-12 @ 2.4v
Nice review Jim

looks like really badly bined GKX memory 4-4-4-12 at 2.4V

my memory does 1050 4-4-4-12 with 2.2V

cellshock GKX and GMH memory have 8 layer PCB this really helps them OC better and handle more voltages

11-01-2007, 23:25:32

NickS
8-Layer PCB is gimmicky IMO. If it was that good, other manufs would be all over it too.

@ NOL, I don't think GKX likes that much more voltage than GMH. All I know is, GMH is very sensitive to voltage and WILL degrade >2.3v.

11-01-2007, 23:29:57

NoL
8-Layer PCB isnt a gimmick, its been proven time in and time out to increase the tolerances and life span of the ram.

12-01-2007, 02:24:03

Pyr0
other manufacturers are starting to jump on the 8 layer pcbs for their highest kits like the ocz flexXLC mem and teamgroup pc2-9600 & pc2-8500 C4

as well as improving the voltage tolerance it also helps to decrease the ammount of noise, crosstalk and interference of signals allowing for more stable operation at higher speeds/voltages
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.