Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

Test Setup and PC Mark Vantage

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

Test Setup

We've got the Samsung in our standard Sandy Bridge test setup that we use for all our dual-channel testing.

Samsung Green VLP 8GB
MSI P67A-GD65
Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4GHz
EVGA GTX570
Noctua NH-D14
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Windows 7 64 Bit

CPUz

Without a heat-spreader in place this really isn't designed to have 1.65v pushed through it, and that would be missing the point anyway. One of the downsides of the Sandy Bridge fixed BCLK is the next memory speed is a whopping 266MHz ahead and there are very few kits that can cope with that.

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

PC Mark Vantage

The major comparison for the Samsung Green is the Corsair Vengeance which runs at 1.35v, .15v less than we need to obtain 1600MHz from the VLP. However the results are pretty close throughout PC Mark Vantage.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-02-2012, 05:02:18

tinytomlogan


With their own RAM sticks Samsung have redefined what we consider Low Profile to be. Does the performance match up?

Continue Reading

06-02-2012, 05:19:54

Rastalovich
This vlp isn't so much of a redefinition.

We have, and still are, using some (approximately a 1000) sticks of Kingston at this height to ""upgrade"" computers as a ""refresh"".

This stuff has it's place and uses, and I'm very surprised about not being able to use less voltage.

06-02-2012, 07:59:55

badtaylorx
wow!!! they're sooooo cute!!!

06-02-2012, 13:15:45

-matt-
I have seen this ram (or similar one) overclock 2200-2500mhz and the timings reduced at 1600mhz.

12-02-2012, 18:47:39

MaXiMiZe
Nice review. These sticks do redefine what we think when it comes to low profile. It's a shame they don't perform better.

20-04-2012, 20:17:00

Black
I just got them, they are amazing.

1600 MHz C9 at 1.3v - I will try lower.

2133 MHz C10 at 1.45v

They not even warm at these settings.

24-05-2013, 06:38:14

eagle2508
I've just seen this review and I can't believe you didn't play around with the timings a little bit more.... It's amazing ram and even more amazing performance for the money. This review really doesn't do this RAM any justice.

I paid just 95.00 for the 16GB kit.

I'm running mine at 1866mhz but below are the confirmed stable timings. I've heard of people running these sticks at even lower timings though:

- 1600MHz (7-8-8-24 1N) @ 1.40v
- 1866MHz (9-9-9-27 1N) @ 1.40v
- 2000MHz (9-10-10-28 1N) @ 1.45v
- 2133MHz (10-10-10-28 1N) @ 1.45v
- 2400MHz (11-11-11-28 2N) @ 1.50v
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.