Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

Up Close

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

Up Close

With green being the watchword it's good to see the VLP comes in the most minimalist packaging possible. Not a single centimetre of excess packaging. Even the plastic is an amazingly snug fit.

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review     Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review  

By virtue of the lower profile 30nm chips and low speeds, the VLP Green doesn't come with a heat-spreader. However with a heat-spreader it wouldn't be as low as it is.

Although it doesn't show when it's sat against itself, the more eagle-eyed amongst you will have spotted the reduced latch room on the sides. But let's make it more obvious..

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review     Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review  

Yes. It's VERY low profile. Three sticks of this is equal in height to one Kingston T1. It's minuscule.

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-02-2012, 05:02:18

tinytomlogan


With their own RAM sticks Samsung have redefined what we consider Low Profile to be. Does the performance match up?

Continue Reading

06-02-2012, 05:19:54

Rastalovich
This vlp isn't so much of a redefinition.

We have, and still are, using some (approximately a 1000) sticks of Kingston at this height to ""upgrade"" computers as a ""refresh"".

This stuff has it's place and uses, and I'm very surprised about not being able to use less voltage.

06-02-2012, 07:59:55

badtaylorx
wow!!! they're sooooo cute!!!

06-02-2012, 13:15:45

-matt-
I have seen this ram (or similar one) overclock 2200-2500mhz and the timings reduced at 1600mhz.

12-02-2012, 18:47:39

MaXiMiZe
Nice review. These sticks do redefine what we think when it comes to low profile. It's a shame they don't perform better.

20-04-2012, 20:17:00

Black
I just got them, they are amazing.

1600 MHz C9 at 1.3v - I will try lower.

2133 MHz C10 at 1.45v

They not even warm at these settings.

24-05-2013, 06:38:14

eagle2508
I've just seen this review and I can't believe you didn't play around with the timings a little bit more.... It's amazing ram and even more amazing performance for the money. This review really doesn't do this RAM any justice.

I paid just 95.00 for the 16GB kit.

I'm running mine at 1866mhz but below are the confirmed stable timings. I've heard of people running these sticks at even lower timings though:

- 1600MHz (7-8-8-24 1N) @ 1.40v
- 1866MHz (9-9-9-27 1N) @ 1.40v
- 2000MHz (9-10-10-28 1N) @ 1.45v
- 2133MHz (10-10-10-28 1N) @ 1.45v
- 2400MHz (11-11-11-28 2N) @ 1.50v
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.